Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steinbeck's best work
I have read practically everything by Steinbeck, and this is my favourite.
The story of the brothers who move from the security of New England to the wild west, compares the organised and sanitised religion of the east, with the pagan and traditional religions of the natural world.
As is usual with Steinbeck, there is no conclusion as to which religion is...
Published on 22 Nov. 2002 by William Finch

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A highwayscribery Book Report
Purple and brown, dusty wine shot through with wheat-colored sun.

John Steinbeck's, "To a God Unknown," is both love letter and a Dear John to his native Northern California countryside.

The author lingers often and long on the Salinas Valley landscape, now a land of milk 'n honey, moist, juicy, dashed with clover; now a dry and crusty graveyard...
Published on 18 Dec. 2010 by Stephen Siciliano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steinbeck's best work, 22 Nov. 2002
By 
William Finch (Redhill, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I have read practically everything by Steinbeck, and this is my favourite.
The story of the brothers who move from the security of New England to the wild west, compares the organised and sanitised religion of the east, with the pagan and traditional religions of the natural world.
As is usual with Steinbeck, there is no conclusion as to which religion is better, morally superior etc. The reader is left to make up there own mind - and if you are left wondering, then I guess that Steinbeck must have done a good job !
This is one of the author's early novels, and once you have read it, you will think about all of the others in a different light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To A God Unknown, 17 Jun. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
`To A God Unknown' is the tale of a ranching family in California and how they try to survive in good years and bad on the ranch. The head of the family starts to worship an oak tree on his land that embodies the spirit of his dead father and develops a deep connectedness to the land and nature, much to the chagrin of his Christian brother. This has themes of the rhythms of nature, as well as pagan superstition and the internal struggles of one man as he struggles with traditional religion and his feelings of the purity of nature. Having read much Steinbeck before I was eager to start this book and soak myself in his beautiful prose and whilst that still held true, I did find this slightly hard to get into initially; you could tell this was one of his early books and he was finding his voice. After about thirty pages though I was enthralled and revelled in his writing until the resonant and moving conclusion. Steinbeck has the ability to reach to your very core and make you feel the passions, sadnesses and tribulations of the characters along with them and whilst in less experienced hands you may have trouble believing in and engaging with some of the ideas presented here, with Steinbecks deft touch you not only believe them but you also live and breathe them. This is a worthy addition to your Steinbeck collection and as I have stated on other reviews for his work, I have yet to read a bad Steinbeck book and this is truly no exception. This has a depth and power that will stay with you long after you have finished reading.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly laboured early effort..., 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. J. Roper "Augustus" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Having read most of Steinbeck's stuff, I have to say I didn't think this comparatively early work was anywhere near his best.

Most of the characters are two-dimensional and seem to symbolise ideas or attitudes of one kind or another, rather than being the subtle and contradictory human beings of his later works. I include the central character in this statement and have to say I found him oddly distant and unsympathetic throughout. Also a lot of the dialogue is irritatingly portentous and contrived (especially in the courtship passages) - in contrast to the terse naturalism of speech in many of his works. Not very much action, either, and some of the plot lines are not resolved in any kind of satisfactory way. Finally, the central theme here is paganism and nature-worship and the presentation of this becomes rather silly and far-fetched at times, and increasingly dominates towards the end.

I think what Steinbeck has attempted in this book he did much more successfully in East of Eden a few years on. Still four stars because I did enjoy it and would give nothing less to the greatest of American writers. I think he was still perfecting his art with this one, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John at his best, 20 Jan. 2013
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I have read a lot of Steinbeck recently, and, although all his works are beautifully written, the language in To A God Unknown is just gorgeous. It is his most poetic work, with the characters themselves partaking in the language, and the visual description is awesome. Obviously, it's a great story line and characters, but the language really sets it apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Steinbeck, 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is pure Steinbeck, full of beauty and also darkness. To me the message was more about superstition and ritual rather than what many would consider religion. Joseph creats his Eden and then labours to keep everything on track despite the looming spectre of the "dry years". You realise that deep in his heart there is always the belief that he will lose everything, emphasised by the almost casual acceptance of his wifes death. The book evokes to me one of Wordsworths most memorable lines "From the heights of our exultations in our dejections do we sink so low". Do we enjoy the good times for what they are or, to the expense of our enjoyment, do we worry that they will finish and do everything that we can to ensure that they remain?
It is understandable that this book took more time to write than his longer novels. The messages in this book can be read in so many ways. You are left with the impression that as Steinbeck writes and the story develops then the web of possibilities and questions magnify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 6 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is a very dark and thought provoking novel. Four very different brothers take their families and move to farm very lush land, which has a history of droubt. When the dry times come and the land and cattle begin to perish, the family falls apart. Very deep and often quite creepy, this is not a book to read when you need cheering up as there is much death and despare involved. It is compelling reading and, as always, the charactors are brilliantly depicted. Not recomended for vegetarians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I am the rain', 23 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. Drabble "hello-operator" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I've been a fan of Steinbeck for a long time, since GCSE Of Mice and Men really. But this book took me totally by surprise given how soft and comfortable reading Steinbeck can be. Some scenes will always stick in my mind, with so many visual images unique to this work - without giving spoilers: Joseph dry humping his new land, death on the rock, the most carnal sex scene I've read in years and 'I am the rain,' doubtlessly an inspiration to Ian Brown.

The only criticism is the lack of depth in the characters, who Steinbeck uses as a conduit for ideas rather than as intrinsically noteworthy.

Nonetheless it's one of the most eerily beautiful books I've read as well as one of the most challenging to my world view, in particular concerning man's realtionship with the earth that we all inhabit. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is my absolute favourite Steinbeck book. It is haunting and beautifully written. I highly recommend reading this, whether you are a Steinbeck fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars short stories, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Hardcover)
A story about man v nature and the use of metaphors runs through this.So much of the story describes nature in all it's glory and I feel it's about man trying to tame the wilderness.There is a set of characters and they are strong in the storyline but It took me a while to grasp the fact it wasn't set in the year of it's release but alot further back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flowery Steinbeck....., 25 July 2011
By 
This review is from: To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
The book is a beautifully descriptive story of a family settled in California (like most of his novels). However, the writing in this book lacks some of the flintiness of his other novels and loses some sharpness as a consequence. The usual portentious feeling of many of Steinbeck's novels is there but is somewhat overegged with frequent references to stormclouds and the like. A good read but not of the same calibre of so many of his other books - read it when you're running out of Steinbecks.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics)
To a God Unknown (Penguin Classics) by John Steinbeck (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2000)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews