Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth a read
Story of the Eye is not so much an erotic text, as an exploration on what it is that drives every human- desire. Desire to live, breath eat, make love, our lives revolve around it, and if there was no desire we would not be alive.It is a mistake to have Batailles novella down as an erotic fiction- it is so much more than that. He exorcises his demons through eroticism at...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by nicedream5398

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bored Me To Death
I did not get it. Bored me to death.

I know it has an intellectual commentary by Susan Sontag, et al. And is published by Penguin classics. But I just did not get it.

If this had been handed to me in plain wraps I would have thought the author a thirteen-year-old boy; it has that isn't sex shocking mentality. Perhaps it was enough to excite back in...
Published on 21 April 2011 by Helen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story of the Eye (Paperback)
Batille's "Story of the Eye" is a brilliantly distrubing tale of a twisted coming of age.
a quick read, and a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
It was ok,passed the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 4 Nov. 2006
By 
Room for a View - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I was led to this work by my interest in the history of the Surrealist movement, particularly, the exploration of pornographic literature and how its manifestations has influenced Art in the 20th century. Needless to say the content of this book and others (Sade's late 18th century works provide the basis for any significant discussion) provides an uncomfortable analysis into the brutalisation of sexual behaviour, criminality and dark subconscious desires. For me Bataille deforms the emotional and physical forces of sexual pleasure into a fictionalised account of Freudian dimensions that monstrously perverts the `normal' view of sex held by most enlightened members of educated societies. In doing so the tale's protagonists appear to inhabit a dreamscape of metaphorical imagery (predominately the shape and texture of the eye), performing sexual acts that are aesthetically antithetical and which cannot be accepted (by me at least) as rational or sexually stimulating. Indeed I feel that Bataille is deliberately challenging the reader's imagination to such an extent that the poetry of the narrative itself becomes a means of transgression that can only exist in the unconscious mind albeit recognisable in dreams. Furthermore the sexual perversions and surreal fetishes of these characters should be seen as a form of madness of anarchic proportions that dismisses recognisable moral constructs and leads to despair and death. As Art this is in my view an important work and should not be ignored by those interested in the complexity of human thought and the power of imagination. I would recommend reading Sontag's excellent essay prior to the tales. Unfortunately I found Roland Barthes' article demanding because of my very limited understanding of linguistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Interesting....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange novel, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Recommended to me but I did not rate this novel very much, so disappointed and very short. Not as good as I thought it would be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and disgusting about naive sexuality, 4 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
George Bataille's novel describes, in its good parts, the naive and cruel nature of sexuality. In its less well composed parts, it's an orgie of disgust. If it hadn't been for the utterly precise and fine choice of words, you might have mistaken parts of the book for some teenage scribbling only produced to shock. The book has its fascinating, readworthy chapters, but the composition is less fullended than in, for instance, "The Story of O" by Pauline Reage. If you haven't read that one, I'd urge you leave Bataille and buy Reage first.. (or, of course, buying both is also a good option!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over rated and dangerous., 16 July 2014
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Where do you start. First its style of language does not read well, but in my ignorance I'll attribute that to it being a translation. It comes over at first as being a sick fantasy, then you hope it it could be transgressive literature, then you realise it is just a very badly written or translated sick fantasy. Don't worry though, because its a dream or something, written by an intellectually superior philospher type and us little people don't understand it. In short the sick product of a sick mind. I'd sooner read pulp that doesn't claim to be anything special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously lacking in something., 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story of the Eye (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading other reviews, and have to say that it is really one of the worst books I have ever read. It wasn't the sexual content that I thought was bad, but the whole story and the style of writing. I was wondering while reading it, if it had lost something in the translation- some of the phrases used were just ridiculous, and whole chunks of information seemd to be missed out. I definitely would not recommend this book to anyone. It didn't excite, or even disgust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Your hard-earned money doesn't deserve to be spent on this, 19 May 2003
By 
This review is from: The Story of the Eye (Paperback)
'Story of the Eye' is, summarily, wholly disappointing, more so when read under the mantle of "greatest erotic masterpiece of the century". This is an especially ludicrous claim given the book's modest length, and the absurdly disjointed plot which Bataille lazily attempts to cram into it. The characters are shallow and forgettable, seemingly ill-disguised personifications of Bataille's own childish and under-developed fantasies.
The book reads like a hasty and excited first draft, with proportionally huge passages coming across as sparse, drivelling babble. The erotica, while undoubtedly imaginative and original for its time (at least in terms of being published), is cold, uncaptivating and largely rather boring. What little of it that shows potential is either completely smothered in immaturity by the tone of the writing, or left horribly isolated by the sloppy plot, leaving genuinely erotic moments few and far between.
If you plan to buy this book as a lover of literature, you are likely to take nothing more from it than profound embarrassment and a lesson in how not to write fiction, erotic or otherwise. If you plan to buy it as a lover of erotica, you'll be left disappointed, cold and ultimately confused as to why it has drawn such critical acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics)
Story of the Eye: By Lord Auch (Penguin Modern Classics) by Georges Bataille (Paperback - 26 April 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews