Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a very clear point
'An Inspector Calls' is a really interesting play that makes a very specific point and makes it very clearly. It definitely gives you something to think about as it shows how all the characters are linked and how peoples' actions affect others. You do get caught up in the play and the end is almost breathtaking. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read...
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by Basma

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For the student of J.B. Priestley
Rather heavy for modern readers. very well written of course but a dated mode of expression.
Published 3 months ago by manley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a very clear point, 3 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
'An Inspector Calls' is a really interesting play that makes a very specific point and makes it very clearly. It definitely gives you something to think about as it shows how all the characters are linked and how peoples' actions affect others. You do get caught up in the play and the end is almost breathtaking. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something intelligent, yet easy to understand.

The other plays in the book don't have the same effect as this play, unfortuneately. Only 'Time and the Conways' has a resembling effect that 'An Inspector Calls' has. Nevertheless... the book is worth getting for that one play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, good play., 4 April 2014
By 
G. E. Daykin "Elizabeth Hayward" (Nr Ely, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent service...well packaged and delivered promptly. The book was as expected ... Crisp and new. The play, as always, clever with a final twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspector Calls - J.B. Priestley, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
J.B. Priestley needs no introduction - he was known for his volumes of written work from the 1930's, if not before. An Inspector Calls is just as relevant today as when it was first produced as a play in 1946. Showing how many well-to-do and powerful people thrive on keeping the poor and vulnerable down - even to the point of death.

This particular edition contains four plays: Time and the Conways. I have Been Here Before. An Inspector Calls.
The Linden Tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Work of art.

Great work from one of the masters of British Writing. An Inspector Calls is still true today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highlights socio-economic and political issues in an entertaining play, 14 July 2013
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I first read this play when I was 14. I didn't understand all the socio-economic and political issues until I was 19. It was during this period that I became a confirmed socialist (or rather left leaning in my politics).

When I first read the play - I remember a few classmates being confused that one family encountered the same girl, which went beyond coincidence. This is NOT the case - that's just a twist - if you had believed that then you'll not be able to sympathise with Eva Smith's plight (society prefers strong characters even if they are victims suffering the utmost misfortune).

The play intends to illustrates the inequality between the classes - how dangerous this inequitable situation is if there are no safeguards. Eva is just a random chick - imagine if things were going against you because you "dallied" with a powerful/wealthy family/ corporate/ entity - well if there are no laws protecting you - you are screwed.

Prior to Clement Atlee's government, there was no Welfare State. Poor working class women who became pregnant, were abandoned. Women were also too frightened to report incidents of rape if committed by a member of the "respectable" class.

There was no NHS, hence healthcare was the luxury of the privileged classes (child mortality rates were atrocious prior to the NHS).

The play conveys the vulnerability of women such as Eva. We see how Sheila (a middleclass wealthy girl) uses her wealth to intimidate a shopkeeper into sacking Eva over a whim. This action demonstrates the lack of employment laws and the necessity to enforce these laws.

Synopsis: The play is a three-act drama, which takes place on a single night in 1912, focusing on the prosperous middle-class Birling family, who live in a comfortable home in Brumley, "an industrial city in the north Midlands".The family is visited by a man calling himself Inspector Goole, who questions the family about the suicide of a young working-class woman, Eva Smith (also known as Daisy Renton). The family are interrogated and revealed to have been responsible for the young woman's exploitation, abandonment and social ruin, effectively leading to her death. Long considered part of the repertory of classic "drawing room" theatre, the play has also been hailed as a scathing critique of the hypocrisies of Victorian/Edwardian English society and as an expression of Priestley's Socialist political principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I downloaded it for my sons girlfriends homework she found it very good and helpful, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This wasn't for me ,I downloaded it for my sons girlfriends homework she found it very good and helpful x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For the student of J.B. Priestley, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Rather heavy for modern readers. very well written of course but a dated mode of expression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It has all the text and is easy to read, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Bought this for a play reading group. It has all the text and is easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend to all, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
lovely and cheap item . thank you for a fast service . Recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
By 
H. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
what a fantastic play. can't wait to perform it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics)
An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) by J. B. Priestley (Paperback - 29 Mar 2001)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews