Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2007
This edition is well worth the extra price tag. If you loved the book, you'll love poring over this as the notes reveal a thousand things you didnt see the first or second time around. You'll admire Nabokov even more by the end. You'll have the trilingual gags explained to you and the final points of lepidoptery will be revealed. Well worth dipping in and out of... not just for students.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2005
The Annotated Lolita is incredibly helpful. One can read the un-annotated version and rightly think it a masterpiece, but these notes unlock, on every page, allusions and references that provide an entirely new layer of meaning which would be missed by even a very sophisticated reader. I'd read the book several times before and yet I found reading this version to be a completely novel experience. Even on a more practical level, it's very helpful with translating Nabokov's frequent French phrases and mid-century cultural references. The only complaint I have is that one can become quite distracted flipping from the text of the novel to the notes in the back, but this is only because one wonders what joke or allusion one is missing and feels compelled to look it up. The notes are very easy to use, well-written, and immensely helpful. I highly recommend this book to anyone, whether they intend to read it for pleasure or for academic purposes. Years of research went into these notes, and you will miss a lot without them.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I'd tried on several occasions to read 'Lolita' before, but gave up because the language was too complex and the references too obscure. This edition solved many of those problems and was particularly useful on Kindle. The annotations section of the book was almost as long as the book itself, so was more than thorough for the laypersons needs, translating the French and explaining obscure literary references. On Kindle, all the links to the references are highlighted, so you just need to tap them to be taken directly to the reference section, meaning no awkward flicking back and forth. The book itself is so beautifully written that the controversial subject matter should not put the reader off and whilst some may be offended purely by the topic, the book is more relevant for its poetic charm and writing style than the plot itself.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2000
'Lolita. Light of my life. Fire of my loins. My sin. My soul.' Vladimir Nabokov became famous for 'Lolita' (1958), the story of a middle-aged man's passion for a young girl (based upon the poem 'Annabel Lee' by Edgar Allan Poe). Now this annotated edition of 'Lolita' offers a full insight into Nabokov's genius and takes you deep into the story behind the story ! From hidden references to novels such as 'Ulysses' (by James Joyce) or to obvious ones such as 'Annabel Lee' and Edgar Poe, this book will surprise you from the beginning to the end. A real must !!!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Essential if you want to fully comprehend all of Nabokov's literary and language references and allusions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
For any lover of Nabokov, the annotated Lolita is a brilliant incite into the authors mind, how he arrived at the decisions he did, what inspired him to write the story, and the notes and speculations which appeared as pen met paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Brilliant book - the notes made it a more in depth read and I've started reading other books mentioned in the annotation- quick delivery - book in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
Don't mislead yourself, you are not reading a book about a young girl and an older man but you are reading a book about what writing is, about what literature is, about what it is to create meaning.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
The most under-rated book of the 20th century. Super deluxe perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
I enjoyed this book. Psychological and necessarily twisted, the reader too is taken on a compelling journey. It's all the more compelling because the book's reputation adds another layer of opprobrium to the characters and their actions making it feel all the more contemporary.

I have not seen the other editions but the notes do help you understand the era and some of the references.

There are nonetheless subtleties I will have missed and it was enjoyable to read so I know it is a book I will return to in some years time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.