Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary
The Annotated Lolita is incredibly helpful. One can read the un-annotated version and rightly think it a masterpiece, but these notes unlock, on every page, allusions and references that provide an entirely new layer of meaning which would be missed by even a very sophisticated reader. I'd read the book several times before and yet I found reading this version to be a...
Published on 5 Mar 2005 by pernicious_bob

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There was a typo on the spine!
The book was a very good one, one of my favourites but this particular copy had "Nabkov" instead of "Nabokov" on the spine! Very bad!
Published 10 months ago by Jananni


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 5 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
The Annotated Lolita is incredibly helpful. One can read the un-annotated version and rightly think it a masterpiece, but these notes unlock, on every page, allusions and references that provide an entirely new layer of meaning which would be missed by even a very sophisticated reader. I'd read the book several times before and yet I found reading this version to be a completely novel experience. Even on a more practical level, it's very helpful with translating Nabokov's frequent French phrases and mid-century cultural references. The only complaint I have is that one can become quite distracted flipping from the text of the novel to the notes in the back, but this is only because one wonders what joke or allusion one is missing and feels compelled to look it up. The notes are very easy to use, well-written, and immensely helpful. I highly recommend this book to anyone, whether they intend to read it for pleasure or for academic purposes. Years of research went into these notes, and you will miss a lot without them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing details, 17 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
This edition is well worth the extra price tag. If you loved the book, you'll love poring over this as the notes reveal a thousand things you didnt see the first or second time around. You'll admire Nabokov even more by the end. You'll have the trilingual gags explained to you and the final points of lepidoptery will be revealed. Well worth dipping in and out of... not just for students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book !!!, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
'Lolita. Light of my life. Fire of my loins. My sin. My soul.' Vladimir Nabokov became famous for 'Lolita' (1958), the story of a middle-aged man's passion for a young girl (based upon the poem 'Annabel Lee' by Edgar Allan Poe). Now this annotated edition of 'Lolita' offers a full insight into Nabokov's genius and takes you deep into the story behind the story ! From hidden references to novels such as 'Ulysses' (by James Joyce) or to obvious ones such as 'Annabel Lee' and Edgar Poe, this book will surprise you from the beginning to the end. A real must !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look beyond the story, 14 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
Don't mislead yourself, you are not reading a book about a young girl and an older man but you are reading a book about what writing is, about what literature is, about what it is to create meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
Brilliant book - the notes made it a more in depth read and I've started reading other books mentioned in the annotation- quick delivery - book in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will read again, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. Psychological and necessarily twisted, the reader too is taken on a compelling journey. It's all the more compelling because the book's reputation adds another layer of opprobrium to the characters and their actions making it feel all the more contemporary.

I have not seen the other editions but the notes do help you understand the era and some of the references.

There are nonetheless subtleties I will have missed and it was enjoyable to read so I know it is a book I will return to in some years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable Annotations, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
Alfred Apple adds annotations ambitiously, ascertains author's abundant allusions. Approach approved and approbated authorially. Author's ample achievements and accomplishments are admirable; autographic approach artfully acute and adroitly animated, alternately alluring and acerbic, always alliteratively appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There was a typo on the spine!, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Annotated Lolita (Paperback)
The book was a very good one, one of my favourites but this particular copy had "Nabkov" instead of "Nabokov" on the spine! Very bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Annotated Lolita
The Annotated Lolita by Alfred Appel (Paperback - 27 July 2000)
10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews