Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book.
This is a really good book. From working the railroad, to being a fire watcher, to Kerouac's mourning of the lost gentleman hobo culture of the US. This is Jack at his most self indulgent in parts, and most poetic in others. This is one of the lesser known novels but dosn't deserve to be. Pick this one up.
Published on 25 April 2001 by Tsun

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mere sample of his greater works
I read "Lonesome Traveler" straight after reading "On The Road". Of course it would be foolish to expect every book to be of equal merit but, I must tell you, this book isn't as good as it's famous brother. I felt some parts were extremely cumbersome- self-indulgent even. However, Kerouac is undoubtedly a talented writer, so many of the tales are...
Published on 22 Sep 2000 by Iain A Donaldson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book., 25 April 2001
This is a really good book. From working the railroad, to being a fire watcher, to Kerouac's mourning of the lost gentleman hobo culture of the US. This is Jack at his most self indulgent in parts, and most poetic in others. This is one of the lesser known novels but dosn't deserve to be. Pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great Kerouac Sampler, 18 Sep 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lonesome Traveller (Paperback)
Though it has been a while since I have read this book, I found it distressing that there were no reviews of it in this area.
I know very many of you love Kerouac's works and styles, so I hope that this book will be given it's due attention. Its contents are five short stories or sketches that move around the central theme of travel. A sketch about the "railroad earth" written in spontaneous style is quite riveting, and here you will have a chance to read what seems to be an early sketch of the fire tower section from "Dharma Bums".
I hope these suggestions will have you picking up a copy of this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mere sample of his greater works, 22 Sep 2000
This review is from: Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read "Lonesome Traveler" straight after reading "On The Road". Of course it would be foolish to expect every book to be of equal merit but, I must tell you, this book isn't as good as it's famous brother. I felt some parts were extremely cumbersome- self-indulgent even. However, Kerouac is undoubtedly a talented writer, so many of the tales are superb. I especially recommend the mountain-top chapter which seems to tie in with another quality Kerouac work "Dharma Bums". In conclusion then, if you didn't enjoy "On the Road", don't read this. If you did however, and are willing to put up with a little trying reading, this book may just be your cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spontaneous prose, spontaneous living, 17 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lonesome Traveller (Paperback)
Jack's not for everyone but reading Lonesome Traveler I was teleported right into his shoes-- if you're familiar with Kerouac you know this is his style. His "I" is the one you're with but this "I" is really experiencing every moment-- the minor details of being a train brakeman for instance-- doesn't sound glamorous but it breathes life. It's a bit claustrophobic and frusturasting with his page long sentences but if you forget all the rules of writing and literature you'll surf through a day with him and it's real even if his stories aren't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Kerouac – Lonesome Traveler | Review, 10 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Lonesome Traveler is a fascinating collection of short stories from the typewriter of beat visionary Jack Kerouac, who’s well-known for his spontaneous prose and his unique writing style. Lonesome Traveler contains more of the same, only this time it’s drawn mostly from his notebooks and diaries.

In fact, this is a rare example of a book in which he uses the real names of his associates, rather than their pseudonyms – perhaps it’s because he focuses on his travels, and there’s little here that could incriminate them in a court of law. Nevertheless, it’s very much worth a read.

You’ll find out about his trips on ships, his strolls through New York, a visit to England and even the time he spent fire-watching on Desolation Peak in Washington State. Each book that he released just got better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frenetic memoirs, 26 Mar 2013
This review is from: Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Kerouac's brilliance with language is given more freedom without the constraints of trying to produce a novel. More hectic than On The Road and with more personality too. This is a must for any fan of On The Road or kerouac at all. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book to take out on the road, 9 April 2000
By A Customer
This book has been dismissed by many as overly sentimental and trie, but for me it still has power. Kerouac's description of Mexico in particular is very evocative, as is his account of being a firespotter in the USA. Warm and moving, it's just the right size to fit in my rucksack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant descriptive writing, 22 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Start with the chapter describing Kerouac's summer spent on a Canadian mountaintop firewatching. Utterly brilliant descriptive writing. The pieces in this book are far more coherent than in "On the Road" or "Dharma Bums", much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Traveler (Kindle Edition)
Classic Kerouac. Not quite On the road but worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics)
Lonesome Traveler (Penguin Modern Classics) by Jack Kerouac (Paperback - 3 Aug 2000)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews