Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
This beautiful little vignette (only 124 pages long)kept me in thrall from beginning to end. Full of stunningly accurate observations, expressed in the most gorgeous prose, this short novel cannot fail to captivate. Although it begins with a disaster (the collapse of the bridge in question), and focuses on the lives of the five fatalities, somehow it manages not to be...
Published on 31 Jan. 2002 by Mrs. A. C. Whiteley

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not interesting enough
'The Bridge...' focuses on a disaster in 18th century Peru, in which a bridge over a ravine collapses sending five people to their deaths. The tragedy prompts a priest, Brother Juniper, who had himself narrowly avoided being caught up in the disaster, to question why those five had been chosen to die and others, including himself, survived. He sees it as a natural...
Published on 14 July 2004 by Depressaholic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 31 Jan. 2002
By 
Mrs. A. C. Whiteley "AllieW" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This beautiful little vignette (only 124 pages long)kept me in thrall from beginning to end. Full of stunningly accurate observations, expressed in the most gorgeous prose, this short novel cannot fail to captivate. Although it begins with a disaster (the collapse of the bridge in question), and focuses on the lives of the five fatalities, somehow it manages not to be overburdened by sorrow.
Each of the five, slightly eccentric, but heart-warming characters is exceedingly well drawn. Their biographies are apparently based on the writings of Brother Juniper who documented as much about them as possible in order to try and ascertain why this disaster befell them in particular. (This method was eventually to be his downfall as the conclusion of the novella indicates). Be that as it may, they are all united by virtue of the fact that none quite fit the norms of 18th century Peruvian society (although for differing reasons). And yet, there is a little of each of them in all of us. This book cannot come more highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic revisited..., 27 Dec. 2010
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Thornton Wilder is perhaps best known for his play, "Our Town," which is the staple of high school drama groups and this book, for which he won the Pulitzer Prize. I first read the book in high school, now more than 40 years ago and sadly chose it for its length - a short assignment! Some of the negative reviews of the book seem to be from these young, first time readers - I would have been among them on my first reading. Almost certainly you need some maturity (read: life experiences) to fully appreciate Wilder's wonderful, dense, evocative prose.

The year was 1714, the "Sun King," Louis XIV was still on the throne in France, and Peru was an established colony of Spain, when the bridge collapsed. One of the sub-themes of the book is the relationship of the colony with the mother country, Spain, and Peru's efforts to mature, in terms of the cultural and social life available. The central strength of the novel is Wilder's incisive portraits of four individuals: the physically ugly, lonely noveaux-riche, the Marquesa de Montemayor; Estaban, the sole survivor of twin orphans; and Uncle Pio, the wheeler-dealer who "trained" the actress Perichole. The first three fell to their deaths when the bridge collapsed, along with two others, Pepita, the assistant of the Marquesa, and Jaime, the son of Perichole. These two are not characterized in detail, and thus might be considered so much "collateral damage."

Examples of Wilder's succinct and meaningful prose are, in terms of the Archbishop: "A curious and eager soul was imprisoned in all this lard, but by dint of never refusing himself a pheasant or a goose or his daily procession of Roman wines, he was his own bitter jailer." Has schadenfreude ever been better defined that the reaction of the population to the knowledge that the glamorous actress Perichole had become disfigured by smallpox: "...henceforth any attention paid to her must spring from a pity full of condescension and faintly perfumed with satisfaction at so complete a reversal."?

The overall framework of the novel is the search for meaning in this accident, faithfully pursued by a Brother Juniper who investigated each of the characters and their connections with their relations and friends. For his efforts, the Catholic Church burned him at the stake for "heresy" since his conclusion was that it was "God's will" that they were chosen to be called "home." Wilder's own conclusion is equally unsatisfying: "There is a land of the living, and a land of the dead, and the bridge is love, the only survival, the only meaning."

It was humbling to realize that Wilder wrote this book, with its intense character sketches when he was still under 30. The weakness, despite the Pulitzer, was the overall framework and his facile, trite conclusions as to meaning, in a universe devoid of same, despite our best efforts. Overall, a much better book to read in one's 60's than when one is 16.

(Note: Review first published at Amazon, USA, on September 25, 2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A curious little book......, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I found this a curious little book. In 1714 a rickety wooden bridge spanning a gorge on the route from Cuzco to Lima collapsed killing five people. This tragic event was witnessed by a monk, Brother Juniper, who decides to investigate the lives of the five and see if there was a reason that God chose them to be killed at that moment.

The next three chapters are devoted to explaining the lives of the five (three in great detail, two remain much more shadowy). There is no obvious reason that they have been "chosen" for sacrifice - except perhaps that they are all fall somewhat outside the patterns of behaviour for the times?

The book is filled with interesting snippets: "There was something in Lima wrapped up in yards of violet satin from which protruded a great dropsical head and two fat pearly hands; and that was its archbishop." And he also tells us: "Like all the rich he could not bring himself to believe that the poor could really suffer."

Much of the language Wilder uses seemed very archaic. Perhaps this was deliberate to tune in with the early 18th century but it seemed odd when one considers The Bridge of San Luis Rey was written in the same decade as The Great Gatsby, The Sun Also Rises and The Painted Veil.

I enjoyed reading this book but I did find the final reasoning a bit trite - cod psychology about the power of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and poignant, 19 Jun. 2011
By 
P. Griffin "Griff" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The Bridge of San Luis Rey is a delightful series of vignettes charting the doomed lives of five people in Peru. Wilder reaches dizzying heights of superlative telling in this book. His characters are lessons on how to write. His tragic backgrounds do not tear jerk nor offer crass emotional hooks, he designs as a master craftsman, easing each figure into the narrative with heart, warmth and skill.

Such colourful people inhabit these pages. The brilliance of Wilder's writing shines from every page. This is how writing should be done.

Get this book, read it and immerse yourself in the rich tapestry of Peruvian life that Wilder offers here. Tragic, heartfelt and ultimately doomed, yet uplifting for all that. Worth more than five stars, see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So beautiful - but flawed edition, 20 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a beautifully written masterpiece (but most know that) - however the kindle text is flawed by misprints that wouldn't be permissable in a printed book and especially of such a carefully drawn novel like this... it's disappointing because this is the first Kindle text I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The conundrum of fate or chance, 15 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I have returned to this novel many times; there is something so classic in its examination of an accident - is it chance, fate or God's will? It is no surprise to discover that the author's father was a Calvinist, and that his son felt the need to question his father's lens on life. The story is simple: a Peruvian bridge collapses in 1714, and five people are unlucky enough to be hurled to their death. A pure-hearted Franciscan friar, Brother Juniper, is a witness to the disaster. He is so troubled by these random deaths that he tries to investigate why God would allow these five to die. Of course, his investigation throws up several very different lives, with their usual mix of flaws, but what shines through is the centrality of love to all of them. Hence the novel's famous lines, oft-quoted, "There is a land of the living and a land of the dead and the bridge is love, the only survival, the only meaning." This is a novel to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Curious, tender and haunting, 9 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
In between books I planned to read, I picked up a copy of this in a second hand booksellers in Tokyo, without having heard of it and without a great deal of expectation. When I finished reading it the other day I felt that I had stumbled upon a little treasure of a book.

The premise is fascinating - was there any reason, divine or otherwise, for the death of a group of five strangers who happened to be crossing a bridge when it suddenly collapsed in 18th century Peru. The structure is interesting, with five chapters devoted to the entertaining life stories of each of the victims, and at the end a touching conclusion about their deaths, and the nature of death itself. Thornton Wilder's prose is pleasantly masculine (without being macho), but embroidered with fine descriptions of character and place.

The final paragraph, in which a wise old nun contemplates on the significance of the accident is among the tenderest and most moving pieces of writing one could hope for. All in all, a curious, haunting little gem of a book that is widely known in America but appears to have been overlooked in Britain. The whole book can be devoured in the space of two or three hours - and you will find them three hours well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
R. H. Yule "Bob Yule" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is quite modern in its structure and style, in the sense that there is no single plot. It is an exploration of the individual lives of five people in eighteenth century Peru, who die together when a bridge collapses. A priest attempts to find some sense of religious purpose and meaning in the tragedy, but though he is the starting point of the narrative, he fades completely from the action until the final pages.

The power of the book lies in the compassion and insight with which Wilder illuminates the lives, passions, faults and virtues of the characters. He makes no attempt to judge them, only to bring them to life on the page. He writes with a simple, direct elegance that makes reading a positive pleasure.

Many modern writers attempt this kind of multi-stranded, character-based approach to the novel, but in my opinion they often lack an emotional involvement with their characters and burden themselves with an opaque, elaborate prose style. The result can be rather dry and forbidding.

I found this book to be a glorious exception. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 2 Feb. 2012
By 
Mrs. V. Thomson (Lennoxtown, East Dunbartonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This short book is different from most in that the subjects discussed are not unusual or different but the idea that fate decided that they would all be at the same place at the same time is an interesting viewpoint. The notion that the lives the people lived led them to this point where they were all together and died due to a bridge that collapsed and that there was some meaning to it is open to philosophical debate. The five characters are described in detail and the lives they were leading and the preceding events that lead up to the crossing of the bridge are explained but you are left to decide for yourself whether there was any significance to their deaths. Was it simply being at the wrong place at the wrong time or was it payback for previous bad decisions they made? An interesting way of looking at the events - that actions in life can change fate - 'you reap what you sow' - an enjoyable book which I am glad I read - it made me think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting..., 11 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I first heard about this book when it was reviewed on BBC Radio 4 as I Alfa-Romeo-ed my way home from work.. the reviewers rhapsodised over it.
Its a tiny book, and I read it at a sitting in about one and a half hours, and haven't been able to get it out of my head since. Sad, beautiful and haunting, and yet also hopeful and (dreadful phrase) heart-warming. Although about as different in every way as it is possible to be, it somehow reminded me of J G Farrell at his best.
Wilder is a wordsmith of rare ability, building extraordinary edifices with words, although his perhaps over-mannered style might grate with some.
Suffice to say, I loved it, and have kept going back to re-read parts. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Penguin Modern Classics) by Thornton Wilder (Paperback - 27 July 2000)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews