Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful view, before the storm
Anyone who has witnessed this greatest of fights and knows something of the build-up to this epic encounter will revel in this book. I found Mailers style as hard as Foremans head in the first few chapters, but stick at it, the rewards are there as the tension grows. Mailers description of the mood of each camp is the real gem, gradually building up to a titanic...
Published on 14 Aug 1999

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much narcissism!
This book documents a rightly revered moment in boxing history. Mailer's blow-by-blow account of the fight itself is exhilarating and works as a great companion piece for all eight rounds of the original TV footage. But the showdown between Ali and Foreman doesn't arrive until the very end of the narrative. Almost everything up to that point is a protracted, high-brow...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Rusty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful view, before the storm, 14 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Anyone who has witnessed this greatest of fights and knows something of the build-up to this epic encounter will revel in this book. I found Mailers style as hard as Foremans head in the first few chapters, but stick at it, the rewards are there as the tension grows. Mailers description of the mood of each camp is the real gem, gradually building up to a titanic conclusion. Im not really a boxing fan, but I am fasinated by the whole Rumble in the Jungle saga. Read it before watching the fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A superb snapshot of a particular time and place; this is written in typical Norman Mailer style -allowing the reader amazing insight at times and a very personal, distanced view at others. Ali comes across as the great figure his reputation implies -even Mailer is humbly respectful in his presence. I would suggest reading David Remnick's equally impressive 'King of the world' first, as Remnick's book charts the 'back story' of how the heavyweight belt passed from Floyd Patterson to Sonny Liston and finally Ali. Then finish by watching the Oscar-winning documentary 'When we were Kings' -which of course, features Norman Mailer himself (Ideally, get the DVD, which features the entire Rumble In The Jungle fight as a bonus).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great non-fiction, 14 Mar 2002
By 
R. McDermott (leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
One of the greatest sportsmen of our world, and this was possibly one of the greatest moments of his sporting career. This book is not just about a fight but about Africa, the nature of men, race and racism and superhuman achievement.
Mailer is completely honest throughout the book, and sometimes what he says, particularly about race, can be a little shocking. But the author is being honest with us about what he thinks, and his thoughts are interesting and thought-provoking.
The image of Ali, bouncing off the ropes for the first 6 rounds despite promising the world he was going to dance is vividly painted. The description of Foreman's training on the heavy bag, which he hit so hard he left dent in it, is close to mind when in the later chapters ali is absorbing those same punches.
The book also deals with the author's own celebrity, and makes this a very personal account of a great moment.
I left this book with one overpowering feeling - i wish i had been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much narcissism!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Rusty (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This book documents a rightly revered moment in boxing history. Mailer's blow-by-blow account of the fight itself is exhilarating and works as a great companion piece for all eight rounds of the original TV footage. But the showdown between Ali and Foreman doesn't arrive until the very end of the narrative. Almost everything up to that point is a protracted, high-brow love letter from Mailer to himself.

I found this hard to forgive. The question needs to be asked: who was Mailer writing this for? The genuine boxing fans? If so, he alienates them totally with vast literary pretentions. Was he aiming it at middle-class America, hoping to shed some civilised light on what many denounce as a barbaric sport? He fails on that count by expecting prior boxing knowledge from his audience. Was he simply writing it for his journalist cronies, who he name-checks assiduously (George Plimpton, Hunter Thompson, etc) during their all-expenses-paid jolly in Kinshasa's casinos, restaurants and bars?

Or was he just writing it for himself? There's a mammoth amount of ego on display. Speaking about his own exploits in the third person, putting himself in the shoes of Joseph Conrad, inferring that he had a personal part to play in Ali's good luck and success... it's an ugly style of writing - conceited, pompous and vain.

Maybe he felt he had to match the giant egos of two Heavyweight Champions. Personally, I think it was the wrong approach to his subject. There's far too much Norman Mailer crowding for attention on these pages... like he's standing in the seat in front of you, spoiling your view of the fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collision of egos inside and outside the ring, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Timothy De Ferrars (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The Fight is a vivid account of the 1974 world heavyweight boxing match in Zaire, billed as The Rumble in the Jungle, between George Foreman and Mohammad Ali. Mailer writes about Africa with more than a nod to Joseph Conrad, and writes about boxing with all the sweep and authority that Hemingway showed on bullfighting, but this book is about more than boxing. Mailer, a white Jew from New York, confronts his prejudices about blacks and about Africa, and while this seems less than remarkable now, it is easy to forget that mild racism was not only normal then among English-speaking whites, but was in fact the received wisdom of the time. This book was therefore a work of some courage and risk for a writer of Norman Mailer's stature.

The use of the third person to describe the author is strange at first, and it seems possible that Mailer's ego might overshadow even the monstrous ego of Ali. But what emerges is more sensitive than that. Ali is portrayed as an aging prodigy tortured by doubt and surrounded by a retinue of oddballs, and Mailer succeeds in first isolating and then overcoming his buried prejudice and superstition.

This is a powerful and at times moving book, and I would recommend it to all, including those who are uninterested or even repelled by the sport of boxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The liasion of two kings., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The master of words takes on the greatest athlete of all times. An utterly subjective view on the regaining of the hevyweight crown by the submissive that the US had spew out. Missed The Fight (in Kinhasa 1974)? You can get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Norman has a great way of writing a story and this book was a wonderful insight it the life story of the greatest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great journalism., 11 Oct 2010
By 
Paul Harris (Llantrisant, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Great journalism by Mailer on one of the greatest sporting contests of all time. A must for fans of quality reportage, sports writing or boxing history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Although Mailer's 3rd person treatment of himself is clearly the product of an explosive and gluttonous ego, it does, in parts, allow him to also speak about himself with more honesty and insight than the fragile nature of self-opinion often allows.

So although many reviewers are giving him a hard time for this it should be remembered that any type of writing which challenges the norm and provides a novel way of storytelling must have some inherent value. Even if you don't particularly warm to it - although personally I found it interesting and unobtrusive - then at least it will have provided a break from the 'traditional' way of narration.

As this was essentially a sports book I didn't want to devote to much time to the more philosophical sections which are interspersed throughout the story. Because of my lack of effort I can't fairly criticize these sections; I found them to be vague and unengaging but quite possibly with a bit more concentration their value would have been revealed.

Philosophy aside the book was skillfully crafted with some unique and intelligent use of language. Although this was my first Mailer book, his idiosyncracies reminded me of Amis (Martin) in their salience compared to many authors. Mailer give some great insights into boxing life which are only available to someone who enjoyed such proximity to the two fighters; however the book also seems to spend a little too long in building up to the fight. In the three days it took to read the book, two were spent reaching October 30th, whilst only one was spent consuming the actual fight. The prelude was not unenjoyable but certainly more inconsistent that the final third was.

Having watched footage of the fight itself, I was struck by how Mailer managed to expand and excite the action where to an eye naive to boxing like mine couldn't tease such appreciation from it, at certain points I found the prose more interesting than the footage! I also noticed that Mailer seemed to struggle to suppress a slight bias for Ali in his fight descriptions. It is a boon of the internet that it is easy to follow the fight whilst reading about it.

Anyway; to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work to start with, but perservere, 11 April 2010
By 
Dennis King "sport sinned" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
You need to concentrate a bit, but well worth it. Hard work to start with, but it is well worth it in the end. The observations during the fight itself are fantastic. One of the best boxing books ever written. Absolute must read for sports fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Fight (Penguin Modern Classics) by Norman Mailer (Paperback - 27 July 2000)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews