Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waugh
I thought about this book and Waugh's other comic African novel, "Scoop," after reading Michela Wrong's "Looking for Mr. Kurtz." While most of the news arising from sub-Saharan Africa today is tragic, behind these stories are tales that would be comic if not for their horrible endings. In "Black Mischief," Waugh tells the tale of a mythical...
Published on 9 July 2001 by Stuart M. Wilder

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SIMILAR SCENARIO TO SCOOP
I found Black Mischief an enjoyable read.It is nice to read politically incorrect statements about Africa and Africans without causing offence or being offensive. Waugh writes about a time that is now just a dim memory in history, but the morals of what was happening in Africa then still hold true to-day-corrupt emperors[dictators]unscrupulous assistants, the white man...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by bibliophile


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waugh, 9 July 2001
By 
Stuart M. Wilder (Doylestown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I thought about this book and Waugh's other comic African novel, "Scoop," after reading Michela Wrong's "Looking for Mr. Kurtz." While most of the news arising from sub-Saharan Africa today is tragic, behind these stories are tales that would be comic if not for their horrible endings. In "Black Mischief," Waugh tells the tale of a mythical African king whose English university education instills in him the desire to hammer the values and ethics of his nation into Western molds. He seeks the aid of a university classmate, Basil Seal, but Seal, upon his arrival, finds himself in the middle of a civil war. While the characters and dialogue seem drawn from a cartoon, and upon a superficial reading, racist, they ultimately ring true, and even at times compassionate, especially when measured against events in central Africa in the past ten years. Do not read this book though for a lesson in political science. It's a grand romp, and a sure page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spoof on 'civilised colonialism' and 'native barbarity', 22 April 2002
This review is from: Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Waugh transfers his deadly wit and insight from the vacuuous parties of the youthful London society to the African Jungle with disastrous and hugely amusing results. Waugh manages to parody the eccentricities of the English, the French and tribal Africans in a magnificient muddle that makes the wild jungle look tame. Be prepared for Waugh's trademark combination of pathos and hilarity; this book makes you rock with laughter before you fully realise the horrific situations that a typically unmerciful Waugh is making you laugh at. A fantastic insight into our very worst fears of colonial consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Mischief, 1 Sep 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Although this is not my favourite novel by Waugh, it is undoubtedly an outrageously un-politically correct tale, set in an imagined African state. Waugh wrote the novel after a winter spent in East and Central Africa, which also resulted in a non-fiction work Remote People (Penguin Modern Classics). The imaginary state of Azania may be remote, but new Emperor, Seth, has been Oxford educated and is desperate to bring modernity to his confused population. "I am the New Age. I am the Future" he declares, as his troops are locked in a decisive battle with the usurper Seyid.

Do not imagine for one moment that Evelyn Waugh has written this in an attempt to show that Europeans are, in some way, superior to Africa or that they should be involved in running a country they have no understanding of. Indeed, it is certainly the Europeans on which his sharpest satire is aimed. At the capital Debra Dowa, the diplomatic powers are utterly ridiculous. The English 'Envoy Extraordinary' is more concerned with growing asparagus and playing in the bathtub than any official papers; while attache the Hon William Bland has forgotten the outcome of the battle between hearing the news and climbing the stairs. The French are involved in attempting to discover what the English are up to; imagining all sorts of plots and ciphers which don't exist, and corruption and incompetence are everywhere When Basil Seal, always "in revolutions and murders and things" decides he is bored with London, he uses a vague aquaintance with Seth to become his right hand man. This book is absolutely outrageous, very funny and shows why Evelyn Waugh is still one of the greatest writers this country has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry on Azania, 14 July 2009
By 
K. J. Woods (johnstone) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
On the back of this is a quote from the times literary supplement describing it as outrageously funny, but despite this it is in parts actually humorous, it also includes at various points, a revolution, some camels, people living in a car, a con artist, chain letters, cannibalism and Gilbert and Sullivan. Imagine Carry On meets diet Palahniuk and you might be close to this "classic" novel. Ideal for those who think Waugh is all upper class boredom and fannying about in stately homes. If you have some time to kill pick this up you won't be disappointed, well unless you think James Patterson is the greatest writer ever in which case why exactly are you reading this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Waugh's prose is exquisite, it has the timing and rhythm of a fine comedian; the story is outrageously politically incorrect, but totally even handed in its cynicism and social judgement it is, in fact, a classic. I have read it several times over the years and it is fresh each time I start again. I have it in soft back, hard back, and now conveniently on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SIMILAR SCENARIO TO SCOOP, 3 Feb 2010
I found Black Mischief an enjoyable read.It is nice to read politically incorrect statements about Africa and Africans without causing offence or being offensive. Waugh writes about a time that is now just a dim memory in history, but the morals of what was happening in Africa then still hold true to-day-corrupt emperors[dictators]unscrupulous assistants, the white man knows best how to rule the country, english traditions transposed to a different climate,and cultural environment
I do not think that this is Evelyn Waugh's best novel, but it certainly fits well into the genre of 1930's writing and the theme that Waugh selects for many of his novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Evelyn Waugh at his best, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm afraid I just didn't get on with this book. Waugh tells the story of British ex-patriates living in a fictitious African country through snippets of dialogue, which are witty enough in themselves, but which became increasingly tedious and disconcerting as the book progressed. If only he'd written it the same way as he'd written Decline and Fall with a meaningful, clear narrative, it would have been so much better. My other problem with the book was repetition of technique - something ghastly happens and someone British dismisses the incident with a typical British understatement. After a while, one groans rather than laughs.

As one would expect, the dialogue is acutely observed and very funny at times, but most modern readers may well want more than that to sustain interest. If you're new to Evelyn Waugh, try one of his other books as a starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest opening chapter in fiction, 7 Dec 2007
By 
Niall MacKay (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Waugh is wickedly, mercilessly amoral; the horror in his books is the blank hollow indifference to his characters' fates. The opening chapter twists and turns, each new reversal having its own power to shock. If you're willing to have your bubble of political correctness pricked, read the opening; if you're willing to have it shredded utterly, finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Penguin Modern Classics edition: ropey, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One reason for buying "classics" editions (Penguin Classics, Oxford World Classics) is the belief that the text has been properly checked against a reliable edition. I bought what claims to be the Kindle version of a Penguin Modern Classics edition, but the text is full of obvious inaccuracies. What I guess should be "listlessness" becomes "lisdessness"; "not" becomes "riot". There are full stops missing all over the place. This leaves me unsure elsewhere: is the "old negro" mentioned at one point "scared" or "scarred"? Penguin should be able to do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 23 Dec 2013
By 
E. Jones (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Our old copy of this book fell to pieces so this is a replacement. It is outrageously funny about all human foibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics)
Black Mischief (Penguin Modern Classics) by Evelyn Waugh (Paperback - 29 Jun 2000)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews