Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicately Violent
It is no wonder that after the publication of this novel people assumed Jean Rhys had committed suicide. It is a dark, introverted, soul-searching novel. It's brilliance lies in the compassion with which Sasha is treated. This is a woman who is unquestionably at the end of her tether. Life occurs almost unconsciously to her. She drinks non-stop and thinks of fashion...
Published on 14 Nov 2002 by Eric Anderson

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very evocative but disappointing
The book seemed to me to capture very well the mood swings of an alcoholic woman in difficult and impoverished circumstances in the period setting - but from a bohemian point of view. There's the problem of how to read such a book without it depressing you (I had the same problem with Malcolm Lowry's "Under the Volcano"). The bohemian setting redeemed it a little. But my...
Published 21 months ago by Lesley Lodge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Morning, Midnight, 20 July 2007
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A bleak, compelling novel, detailing the despair of someone who has been battered and bruised by life. A strong element of how someone's problems can prevent them from ever taking an opportunity for happiness or emotional connection with another human being.

Recommended read from an author who has in my opinion written far better than Wide Sargasso Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
For me this book combines the highest integrity of the modernist enterprise with the pervasive pessimism of emergent postmodernism. Rhys's character is first and foremost a suffering human being; although a byproduct of the enormous changes in society for women in the 1920s and 1930s, this woman's dissolution and isolation is a literary triumph. With no feminist agenda and without aspiring to the obscure or difficult experimentation of other modernists, Rhys portrays the decline of a person no longer equipped to deal with the intrusion of society into their disintegrating personal life. Are the vultures really gathering, or is this just her perception of life? How honest a portrayal of the social outcast - the destitute, the alcoholic, the fallen woman, the ageing woman, the victim. Has anyone written like this, before Rhys or since?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original and the best, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Original and best what? You might well ask. And why five stars, for a novel that doesn't even have a plot, and barely makes a story? Because I loved this book, and therefore can't give it less than top marks. It doesn't need a plot, it's about a sad life, that's all. The writing is superb, beautifully lyrical, poetic almost.

What it feels like, in style, and to some extent in content too, is chick lit, but chick lit of exceptional quality, which is what I mean by `original and best', though I'm not even a fan of chick lit, normally (not being a chick).
But the narrative use of first-person in the present tense, and the subject matter; the single-woman viewpoint and the sex and the drinking, the Parisian cafés and the cheap hotels, all combine to give it that chick-lit feel. But this was written in the 1930s, half a century before the genre was identified, which perhaps explains why it didn't catch on in the author's time (she had more success two decades later, for her Wide Sargasso Sea).

This short novel isn't as explicit as modern chick lit, not surprisingly, and the humour is darker, more subtle, the message deeper. Perhaps I'm wrong to even make the comparison, but that's how it seems to me. Either way, this is a terrific novel of the kind that gets right into the author's head, and we are left in no doubt that there's a strong element of the autobiographical here, because nobody could write so convincingly about the sadness of life if they hadn't experienced these things, the loneliness and the rejections, the drinking, the vulnerability of the single woman who survives on her wits and attracts the wrong kind of man, and who is too intelligent to deceive herself. This is great writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paris in the Thirty's, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I loved the work of Jean Rhys as I know it will always be different yet true to life. Don't expect any happy endings but you will get a great snap shot into the life of a certain class of women struggling with the meaning of like and love in Paris in the 1930's. This author has now become a subject of academic study and the value of her work re- evaluated in the context of her time and her contribution to the 20th army of women writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Rhys classic, 2 Dec 2014
By 
Antony Johnson (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Clear and lucid prose and a surprise because I only really knew Wide SS before discovering this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Item just as described and fast delivery. Can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very evocative but disappointing, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The book seemed to me to capture very well the mood swings of an alcoholic woman in difficult and impoverished circumstances in the period setting - but from a bohemian point of view. There's the problem of how to read such a book without it depressing you (I had the same problem with Malcolm Lowry's "Under the Volcano"). The bohemian setting redeemed it a little. But my main problem with this book is that falls so far short of her marvellous "Wide Sargasso Sea". It's simply not the same quality of writing.Because it is Written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics)
Good Morning, Midnight (Penguin Modern Classics) by Jean Rhys (Paperback - 3 Aug 2000)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews