Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Captivating, Complex Female Character
Anais Nin superbly creates a captivating, complex female character – Sabina – divided between her will to live multiple lives, and escape the routine of an ordinary existence; and her sense of guilt, personified by the Lie Detector, which follows her virtually everywhere. Her promiscuous search of love culminates in an emotional break down which revels her...
Published on 22 May 2002 by Bommarito

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eve and her many Adams
A woman who loves her husband but has a need to sleep with other men feels guilty about these infidelities and does her best to keep them from him. In this way she feels herself split into different personalities and different people and discovers things about herself though this sexual odyssey.

If you've read my summary and felt "so what?" then you'll have...
Published on 3 July 2011 by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Captivating, Complex Female Character, 22 May 2002
By 
Bommarito (msida, Malta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Anais Nin superbly creates a captivating, complex female character – Sabina – divided between her will to live multiple lives, and escape the routine of an ordinary existence; and her sense of guilt, personified by the Lie Detector, which follows her virtually everywhere. Her promiscuous search of love culminates in an emotional break down which revels her fragile nature and her naiveness in trying to escape reality by constructing her perfect, idyllic love dimension, out of multiple superficial love relationships.
The story line is not meant to be followed in a chronological order. There is an element of repetition that, though has been criticized, in my opinion works in favor of the concept on which evolves the whole story and Sabina’s psychology. There is also a poetic component that enriches the narrative, although it is not as keenly developed as in other works of Anais Nin, such as in Under A Glass Bell.
A Spy In The House Of Love can be a perfect introduction to Anais Nin and her writings, but it can be also appreciated as a distinct fiction story. This book, although relatively short, manages perfectly to develop Sabina’s complicated character and her psychology, absorbing completely the reader in its dimension. Therefore, I vividly recommend this book to all readers in search of a short fiction story but still capable of captivating the reader through the complexity of its main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spy in the House of Love, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Blue Yates (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
On first reading this book I was immediately struck by its depth of characterisation and originality. Formally in the mode of 'By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept' it is a novella written in beautiful abstract prose. Where as much of Nin's work is concerned with reportage of sexual adventure, this book depicts her emotional response to a number of relationships. Her rich use of imagery and dense language make 'A Spy in the House of Love' a memorable and inspirational book that goes some way to transporting the reader back to the streets and hotels of post-war New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eve and her many Adams, 3 July 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A woman who loves her husband but has a need to sleep with other men feels guilty about these infidelities and does her best to keep them from him. In this way she feels herself split into different personalities and different people and discovers things about herself though this sexual odyssey.

If you've read my summary and felt "so what?" then you'll have been like me while reading it, thinking that the book has lost it's impact in 21st century Western culture because in the 50s and in the eyes of many people today, marriage and fidelity are things everyone should want and have and that the kind of sexual exploration and adventure seen in the book are things to be ashamed of. Not anymore though! Men and women frequently live lives where they are no longer tied down by conventional sexual mores and live differently (and happily) the lives they want to.

That said, I'm sure the book caused something of a stir when it was first published. The book also addresses the lack of feeling Sabina (the main character) has when she is in these extramarital affairs (hence the title) so it isn't totally risqué, there are morals presented.

While the book is little over 100 pages long, the writing style is at times laborious as Anais Nin likes to use a lot of metaphors, similes and descriptive words in her work, making a single moment stretch beyond it's use. Her characters, while varied, often fail to come to life and despite being told that they're exciting, vibrant people, I never felt this in Nin's writing. Her style leans toward the abstract which is more suited to concepts than people. The dialogue often felt too much like she wanted to make a point and so it goes from being artful to being unrealistic and turned the characters into ciphers.

The book tackles extra-marital affairs well even if the writing is at times tedious to read and the characters a bit colourless. I enjoyed parts of it and eventually finished it but overall felt it could have been better than it was. Not a great read but short. Of all the writers of this time - 40s and 50s - I wouldn't say Anais Nin is or was one of the essential authors to read and "A Spy in the House of Love" is quite a weak novella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A short book that took a long time to read, 28 Jun 2013
By 
IAN BAILEY "Eebs" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read a lot, and easily get through a substantial volume of pages in a few days. But this story I found only mildly interesting, and I'm struggling to find motivation to actually completely finish it. Perhaps it is because I don't care enough about the main character and found her "dramas" a bit dull, and her histrionic behaviour rather irritating. I suppose this was a revolutionary book for its time, but now women experience other dilemmas of rather opposite nature... namely, how to find a steady relationship in a sea of choices. Peaceful domesticity looks today less like a trap to run away from into night bars in red glittering dresses and "stare angrily at dawn" when it's time to go home. It is quite beautifully written, though, and for that reason I might give Nin another try in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The prose in this is captivating and compelling. The storyline can wander and become confused but I found myself drawn to the protagonist and her fragile existance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars didnt enjoy this book at all,hard work to read, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never really got going,had to force myself to finish it.Not my cup of tea at all.Not for me ,quite boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This is my favourite book ever - though it's not an easy read it isn't very thick either so I guess these 2 factors compensate for one another. The story is about a woman who wanders from one love affair to another and although the writer is distictly feminine in her outlook, she doesn't get bogged down with making the action too "womany" which I feel is the failing of many female writers. The language is brilliantly poetic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics)
A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics) by Anais Nin (Paperback - 30 Aug 2001)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews