Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a play not a novel
Many of the more luke-warm reviewers of this powerful play clearly haven't been to see a good production. I don't think it's about boredom, rather about how men cope, without going mad, with the impossible horror of having seen thousands of their comrades die hideously in battle often in prolonged agony, of knowing that they themselves are likely to die soon, of hearing...
Published on 26 July 2011 by B. Gray

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Journey's end
I Paid for this book on my kindle but I did not get the complete book please can you send me a complete book

Janis Farmer
Published 13 months ago by Mrs. Janis Farmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder original, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Dr. M. Scott (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is the blueprint for the Blackadder series, an a realistic anti-war play. From my experience of recent conflicts, I found some of the themes seem as fresh today as then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Doing this book for GCSE's...it came promptly and within the estimated delivery in perfect condition! I love this book...so sad yet so addictive!!! Definitely recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these books!, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It provided me different views different enterpretations and overall it as a great product to have been one of the first plays that I read about the first world war!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bloody brilliant, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This playscript is possibly one of the most striking depictions of war i am ever likely to read, its less than 100 pages long but so full of brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable short story (play), 26 Oct. 2014
By 
I. Charity (Stowmarket, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good. I thought it was probably true to life. Khgfihgc hhighways khgfukgv b hhfkhgckhg. Giving hhow hkgvkhb khgc n khgc hkgvkhb khgc,he khgc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
this book is really interesting and opened my eyes to things that I thought would never mean anything to me it needs to be read more than once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aces High, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I have read this book several times ... it is written as a short play ... the book the film "Aces High" was based on ... a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Journey's end, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. Janis Farmer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Paid for this book on my kindle but I did not get the complete book please can you send me a complete book

Janis Farmer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey's End - A portrait of war, 5 Mar. 2003
By 
This review is from: Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Surprisingly R.C. Sherrif's 'Journeys End' is about boredom.
Captain Stanhope's company is bored of waiting for an order in a dugout
at the frontline in World War I. The only catastrophy for them could be
some mud in their tea. This british humor makes 'Journey's End' seem to be
very surrealistic. But on closer consideration the reader will be confronted
with the reality of war. Being bored of waiting for your own death could be
a description for the situation of the characters. The author manages to express
very smoothly without any discription of death itself. The missuse of power,
the question of guilt and the process of getting disillusioned from war are topics
of this authentic and exiting drama. Especially during these days of advertising warfare
as a means of politics 'Journey's End' is an insightful portrait of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not only a good play but also a fantastic insight into how those who fought in the Great War perceived it at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics)
Journey's End (Penguin Modern Classics) by Robert Cedric Sherriff (Paperback - 26 Oct. 2000)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews