Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars62
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2014
Styish and witty; I thoughroughly enjoyed Waugh's satire. I read it first twenty years ago and almost forgot what a pleasure it was, I can't wait to re-read the rest of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
A beautiful crisp book, excellent ...... I am very pleased indeed, thank you - I shall add this to a collection of beautiful books .... I am pretty picky about books ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
The book is in excellent condition and arrived at the time I was told. I am very disappointed in the story itself. Very light and not what I would expect from Waugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
An enjoyable read although not as humorous as The Loved One, Scoop or Decline and Fall. However I admire Waugh's work and feel inspired to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Wonderfully funny and timeless book, should be read by all schoolchildren over the age of fifteen. Evokes the period of the thirties in London
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
what a fantastic book. It is a rarety when i find a book that i don't want to end because it's so good. This is one of them. A lovely gem which has started me on the path of more Waugh books. A great insight into the 1920's which is my favourite era.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Evelyn Waugh at the top of his form. An amusing insight into the activities of the Bright Young Things. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I have read several of Evelyn Waugh's novels and this is equally entertaining. It takes you back to a bygone era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Well written, excellent observation of human frailties and wanting to be part of something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Genius of the highest order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.