Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uninhibited, poetic and sensual
"Delta of Venus" remains a very special work of erotic fiction. There is a glut of erotica on the marketplace these days, much of which far more obviously sexy than "Delta of Venus" - but, more often than not, the reader ends up laughing at the creaky writing and over-the-top sex scenes.
Anais Nin's book is very different. Her prose is perfurmed, intoxicating,...
Published on 29 Jun. 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In at the deep end
By page 2 of this book you're well into steamy sex; no literary foreplay here other than a fascinating brief introduction about how the book came to be written for a "collector". I've not read 50 Shades of Grey and wonder what the fuss is about but I did manage the first 40 pages of a copy left lying around and frankly not a lot happened. You can't say that for Anais...
Published on 21 Nov. 2012 by Dr. P. J. Nickson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 12 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is one of the worst books that I have ever read. Nin is a good writer, I'll give her that, but any well adjusted individual will find the themes unacceptable in this day and age. The first short story for example is the tale of a man who molests little girls, rapes his own daughters and turns them into sex slaves (Fritzl anyone?) then tries to abuse his son. There are later tales of genital mutilation, incestuous sex (a girl goes skinny dipping she thinks with another girl, then discovers it's her younger brother who rapes her but she continues to have sex with him), gang rape by teenage boys etc. I didn't find anything enjoyable or sexy. I find it quite horrific that people glorify this as sexy. I would suggest that they should perhaps go for some therapy or turn themselves into the police instead. I dislike having to give it any stars at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
"This is just a classic. A beautifully written and sensual novel about lust, desire and female sexuality in the form of a collection of shorts. Jump straight into "little Birds" after this. Also read her diaries (Volumes 1-6) if you ever come across them in a second hand bookstore."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biggest load of nonsense i have ever read., 18 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The book starts off on a terribly depressing note, involving the disturbing subject of incestuous rape/abuse between a father and his children. I was so tempted to just chuck the book away, but i perservered, thinking it couldn't get any worse than that. I was wrong! Page after page, i found myself dreading what was about to happen - and in the end i just couldn't bear to read anymore - and i swiftly put the book in the bin.

This book is extremely distasteful - these subjects of rape, peadophilia, necrophilia are NOT acceptable just because this book is supposedly a 'classic'. I tried very hard to give it a chance, i thought it must have some redeeming features, but it was just shocking and disturbing. I did not pick this book up to read about men fondling dead bodies (no matter how beautifully the author tries to describe the scene - its just plain weird) or about a man lusting after his mother!

I made it to the penultimate chapter of the book before i had to give up. I could see where the story was going (a man lusting after his adopted teenage daughter...) and i just couldn't read any more without feeling sick. The writing and graphic descriptions are just cheesy and sound so forced. There is nothing sexy about this book, it is a load of utter nonsense. I tried with it, i really did, but it really was one of the most ridiculous things i have ever read and i honestly cannot believe that anyone thinks this book is a classic. The disgusting topics written about are enough to upset any intelligent human being and to think they are supposed to be sexy is really insulting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 16 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A beautiful read for an erotic piece of literature. The words Anaîs uses to describe every situation and the way all the stories connect with one another draws the reader in from the beginning. Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHARMING BUT DATED, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
J. Priestley (Shipley West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The Delta of Venus must have been seriously shocking back in the thirties and forties, but is less so in the 21st century when it probably would not add to the sexual knowledge of the average 9 year old. However a sense of the parallel erotic universe alongside our humdrum daily existence comes over very clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I'm half way through this book and found some of the stories troubling. I'm wondering what is the purpose of the book. Is it to describe the peverse world we live in. Of course some of the stories are fun, but it does get boring after a while, it's just the same stuff re-written in different contexts. Frankly, my own imagination is much more fun! It's the first book of this type I've read. I'm not going to bother buying another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
She's got guts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Left me cold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains Child Pornography, 30 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Only buy this if you want to read about children having sex or being raped. For some strange reason people think that it is acceptable because it was written by a literary woman in the 1940's - but don't kid yourselves, if you buy this book then you should know what you are buying.

Here are some examples of the type of thing the short stories are about (cut and pasted)

THE BOARDING SCHOOL is a harrowing tale of voyeuristic priests and a young boy being gang-bang sodomised by his classmates.

PIERRE – The anarchist who appears in Elana has aback story of his own, in which his sexual awakening involved the necrophiling of a woman’s body rescued from a quayside. Chased and almost captured, Pierre receives a slow sexual education from other women but he remains haunted by his crime.

THE HUNGARIAN ADVENTURER tells of the downfall of a notorious womaniser, known only as The Baron, a modern day Casanova. He meets a Brazilian stripper and decides to settle down to married life. They have two daughters and a son. Feeling the urge to commit adultery, the Baron takes his sexual frustration out by turning into an incestuous paedophile, trying to seduce first the daughters and then the son. When they reject and leave him, he is abandoned to die alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrified and saddened, 15 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I had quickly glanced at the reviews only to be faced with paediphilia literature which upset me greatly. How anyone can read this and be aroused is very disturbing. I didn't read past the first 5 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics)
Delta of Venus (Penguin Modern Classics) by Anais Nin (Paperback - 30 Mar. 2000)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews