Customer Reviews


452 Reviews
5 star:
 (343)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four legs good two legs bad
Understated masterpiece from a very English writer, George Orwell's satire on the hypocrisy of communism is truly a timeless classic. This is an overused phrase, but with its allegorical nature and simple style, this is novella that is accessible to readers of any level, not just the GCSE students for whom it has been an exam text for as long as I can remember...
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great story... Rubbish edition!
What are Penguin doing? This is an uninviting version of an important work.

When I first looked at the type on the pages, it was too small, too cramped. Quite frankly, not acceptable.

As a result I needed to actually go to a bookshop to see if I could find a better version. And sure enough, the 2007 modern classics paperback (Animal Farm: A fairy...
Published 22 months ago by sussexbowler


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four legs good two legs bad, 18 Jun 2009
Understated masterpiece from a very English writer, George Orwell's satire on the hypocrisy of communism is truly a timeless classic. This is an overused phrase, but with its allegorical nature and simple style, this is novella that is accessible to readers of any level, not just the GCSE students for whom it has been an exam text for as long as I can remember.

Both tragic and at times comic, Animal Farm isn't subtle, but it uses a classic English rural set up, recognizable to any child, to paint a picture of a society that starts out with good intentions but which eventually lapses into degeneracy and inequality. Not quite as topical today as when it was written, the story still resonates and could be applied to societies from West Africa to Central Europe. As a warning against the follies of complacency and the dangers of corruption, it could even be held up to today's British politicians, themselves in danger of drowning in their own excesses and greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of bitter political satire., 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Farm: A Fairy Story (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Since its publication in 1946 Animal Farm has been hailed as one of the most influential pieces of fictional political writing in the twentieth century, an accolade that the novel thoroughly deserves. The first time I read it was as an A Level student studying the Russian Revolution. I was amazed at how simply but effectively Orwell delivered such a powerful message. In a career spanning many brilliant works, including Nineteen Eighty-Four, The Road To Wigan Pier and Coming Up For Air, this is quite simply one of his best. The book centres around the themes of revolution and how communist ideals of justice and equality give way to totalitarianism. Using a farm and its inhabitants to represent the places and main characters of the time, it tells the story of the Russian Bolshevik revolution. Orwell explores the evils of power, money, propaganda and terror to bring us a shocking tale of greed and tyranny.
The story revolves around a group of mistreated farm animals who fight for control of their home. The farm's prize pig, Old Major, insights revolution when he tells all the animals of a dream he had about how "the Earth will be when Man has vanished." The animals confront their exploitative human owners and force them out of Manor Farm. They then set up their own society renaming it "Animal Farm". A new set of laws they are to abide by is then decided on and these are written as seven commandments, the most important being that "all animals are equal." Unfortunately this commandment is the first to go when Old Major dies and the intelligent Pigs take over. The new leaders succumb to the temptations that power provides and become dictators of the farm. What ensues is a vivid description of how power corrupts and leaves the animals in no better a position then when they were under the rule of the humans.
Orwell paints a masterfully bleak picture of Soviet Communism and the fat cats (or pigs in this case) of the twentieth century. One amazing thing about the novel is that we can easily relate things that happen in Animal Farm to events that have occurred since the book was published. The air of prophecy in Orwell's writing is eerily apparent. This however, is by no means the story's only plus. As well as the stark political message we also get a completely engrossing story. The satire is compelling but at the same time it is quite easy to feel compassion for some of the characters in Animal Farm. The vast majority of people who have read the book cannot help but feel sympathy and respect for Boxer the work-hoarse as he strives to do the best he can for his fellow citizens. Boxer is not used in Orwell's novel to represent a single person, but to represent a group of people, in this case the tireless workers caught in a totalitarian regime. The animals in the book and their main characteristics are often used in this way. For example the growling dogs are used to represent some sort of secret police that would terrorise the people. Orwell has said that he often wrote because there was some lie or injustice he wanted to expose. This is the main reason he used the literary technique of allegory in Animal Farm. It works because it allows Orwell to bring our attention to those events during the Russian revolution that concerned him the most. His feelings on Stalin's cruel regime are not hidden, suggested, or argued about, they are there for all to see. Orwell is quoted as saying that he had tried to write "less picturesquely and more exactly" and this is precisely the case. He uses a distinctively straightforward and simple style to create a very linear tale. This makes everything seem almost light, but at the same time it is effective and powerful. The end result of Orwell's prose style is a brilliant piece of bitter political satire, crossed with remarkably accurate historical allegory, that still manages to remain serious and deliver a telling reminder of how revolution went wrong. There is no wonder this novel is considered world wide to be a real classic of the twentieth century. True appreciation of the book does come with an understanding of the Russian revolution but those without can still interpret its message, which continues to be relevant to this day. I cannot recommend this book enough, I thoroughly enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now more relevant than ever, 6 July 2000
On a long cross-country car kourney I cam across a battered copy of this classic work and decided to re-read it for the first time in years. I was glad I did, as it is a book containing hidden depths and with a powerful message warning of the perils of dicing with socialism.
The book centres around a revolt by the animals of 'Manor Farm' against their human oppressors. As the revolution, initially a great success proceeds, the fruits of it are gradually shared on a less equal basis, with the Pigs essentially taking over the pre-eminent roles vacated by the men at the start of the book.
So why does a childish allegory merit so big a score? The about is that it shows the fate of any society unfortunate enough to fall victim to a Socialist revolution - what seems to be 'equality' for all soon becomes a tyranny as unappealing as that which went before. The characters of Napoleon (the head of the revolution) and Old Benjamin ( the only animal with sufficient wisdom to see through the facade) are two very powerful pieces of charaterisation. Perhaps the most tragic of all is Boxer the horse, an animal of limited intelligence who comes to a sad end amidst the crocodile tears of those who led the revolution.
For those who enjoy a good yarn, you will find an entertaining tale here - for those interested in reading one of those siren voices who act as a constant warning about the malign consequences of socialism - this is essential reading from a great author. The first reviewer here obviously found the home truths contained within the book's pages a little unpalatable. See why - read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and enjoy, 13 Feb 2000
Since reading 1984, I have come to think of Animal Farm as a more condensed and slightly humourous version of Orwell's other novel. If considered carefully both stories deliver a message of fear of what may be. If people read these books and realised the dangers that could lie ahead in any country, no doubt we would end up in a paranoid society. However, Animal Farm is such a compelling and interesting book it should be read by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fable/childrens story about betrayal, 21 April 2009
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Animal Farm (Paperback)
This is a fable or childrens story conceived by George Orwell when he saw a small boy driving a large horse along a road, Orwell felt that if the horse could only comprehend that it was more powerful than the boy it would do its own thing instead of his bidding.

On Animal Farm is the story of how different farm yard animals unite following an enlightenment about their fate and oppression. The animals agree to an egalitarian and "share and share alike" constitution by which to govern their new arrangements while defending themselves from the expelled farmer's attempts to re-establish the old ways of doing business.

The constitution is inscribed for all to see with "All Animals Are Equal" leading the list, slowly as the farm yards pigs rise to assume the position of leaders they abandon each of these value statements, radically revising them to justify a return to the old ways of doing business which characterised the original farmer who they threw out.

Like his other books Orwell was disappointed in his own lifetime with how the books where received and interpreted, of Animal Farm which he described as a "simple fable" Orwell stated if its simple message about betrayal where not understood then the book had been a failure.

This is an important point because Orwell had dedicated his energies to making political writing an art form (consider Penguin Great Ideas : Why I Write). In his time, and since, Animal Farm has been seen as a devastating criticism of egalitarianism, flawed values and even of the very hopes and optimism which give rise to change of government, particularly by revolution, like a cynical or conservative text book.

Orwell intended it to be much more straight forward, he supported the values which where at the heart of the Animals constitution, including that core commitment to equality, and considered the crucial moment in the storyline to have been consistently overlooked (that is the moment at which the Pigs decide no longer to share the harvest of apples, which the other animals do not suspect is the beginings of betrayal).

The story is a heart felt tale, populated by all sorts of characters who Orwell uses to characterise a range of human traits from nobility to the down right villainous, with a good pace and easily understood style of writing, it should appeal to adults or children alike. Likewise it should appeal to either the political/literary reader and general reader alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a small boy on a cart-horse, 16 Dec 2005
By 
RG "Robsguzzis" (North West England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Animal Farm (play) (Paperback)
George Orwell states in the afterword that he was inspired to write the novel (fairytale or whatever. . ) when he saw a small boy navigating a large cart horse through an old English village. And that's a very good analagy.
I read Animal Farm for O level many years ago, but more recently whilst on Holiday in Kenya and witnessing proper inequalities in wealth - maybe not dissimilar to early twentieth century Russia? - I thought I could imagine it well.
Animal Farm is superbly written. You could read it cover to cover in a single sitting, but that would be a shame. The characters fit superbly, and are very funny. Especially Benjamin the donkey who keeps saying "donkeys live a long time", superbly cynical - and so right.
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read!, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Miss S. Gorton "Garbo" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Farm: A Fairy Story (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I wanted to read this book because when I was at school I'm pretty sure my English class was the only group that didn't study it, and I always felt a little left out! I felt I was missing out on something not only great, but also something that everyone would understand references to.. but me!

Going into this story, I knew the gist of it, and after reading the first chapter, I know it was going to be a quick read. I know why they read it in year 8 - it is such a simple political allegory to follow! However, the simplicity of the text is not to be criticized, because it actually highlights Orwell's genius! To be able to so concisely write about revolution (with particular reference to the Soviet revolution) and yet make it comprehensible to people of varying reading age/ability, backgrounds, and education is remarkable. This is a story with a point - a warning - about particular aspects of revolution, totalitarianism and fascism, and yet both a 10 year old and a 60 year old can get message through the same enjoyment. Like the book or not, it should be recognized for that great feat at least.

I did enjoy it, a lot. The accompanying appendixes were also interesting - an insight into what Orwell thought about the censorship of his novella at the early stages of publication, and about literary censorship in general - as well as an interesting personal foreword that Orwell wrote for editions for displaced Ukrainians living in camps in Germany.

The introduction by Malcolm Bradbury and the Notes on a Text by Peter Davison were both interesting insights to the reception of the novel, as well as some of the author's thoughts and commentary about the text. Well worth a read, though I chose to read it afterwards because there were a couple of spoilers.

Overall, really good, and I will certainly read more Orwell in the future. It turns out I really did miss out all those years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal Farm - George Orwell, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The first of Orwell's great cries of despair was Animal farm, often heralded as his lightest, gayest work. Though it resembles the Russian revolution and the rise of Stalin, it is more meaningfully an anatomy of all political revolutions, where the revolutionary ideals of justice, equality, and fraternity shatter in the event. Animal farm is basically is a science fiction story based on the Russian Revolution, put neatly into a book, where instead of humans, the animals are the main characters. Animal Farm is also a story about how power can overcome people who do not know how to use it correctly and from that consequently comes a revolution.
One night when Farmer Jones has gone to bed drunk, all the animals of Manor Farm assemble in the barn for a meeting. Old Major, the prize pig, tells them in clear, colourful language "the nature of life" as he has come to understand it. Animals toil, suffer, get barely enough to eat and when they are no longer useful, they are slaughtered. Animals are enslaved by man. There is only one solution; man must be removed and animals must be perfectly united for their common goal. Old Major sums up "All animals are friends, Man is the enemy." Animals must avoid man's habits. "Above all, we are brothers. No animals must ever kill any other animal. All animals are equal." The work of teaching and organizing the animals for the Rebellion falls on the pigs, thought to be the cleverest animals. One evening, when Farmer Jones has forgotten to feed them for over a day, the animals break into the store-shed and begin helping themselves. Jones and his men charge in, but the animals fling themselves on their tormentors. The surprised and frightened men are driven from the farm. Unexpectedly the Rebellion has been accomplished, Jones has been expelled and what was once Manor Farm is now Animal Farm, and belongs to the animals.
Yet with the revolution secured, there are graver dangers than the threat of invasion and counter-revolution. The ultimate corruption of the revolution is immediately imminent. The mistreated animals that end up overthrowing their human master and driving him out, consequently see the pigs take over rule, becoming greedy and cruel, mistreating their fellow animals. The description of the inevitable and immediate violence foreshadows the fate of the rebellion; reactionary cruelty, the search for the scapegoat, and the perversion of the ideals of the revolution. Orwell concerns himself with the misrepresentation, the falsification, and the distortion of fact that leads unfortunately to disaster and misery. It's the story of a revolution gone sour. Animalism, Communism and Fascism are all illusions that are used by the pigs as a means of satisfying their greed and lust for power.
It is not merely that revolutions are self-destructive. Orwell also paints a grim picture of the human condition in the political twentieth century, what he sees as an end to the very concept of human freedom. All the representatives of the various ideologies are indistinguishable. Communism is no better or worse than Capitalism or Fascism; the ideals of socialism were long ago lost. Everyone, the good and the bad, the deserving and the wicked, are not only contributors to the tyranny, are not only powerless before it, but are unable to understand it. The inhabitants of this world seem to deserve their fate. Animal Farm is a story about rulers and the ruled, oppressors and the oppressed, and an ideal betrayed. The particular meaning you give it will depend partly on your own political beliefs. The book is there to be enjoyed, to enrich, and perhaps change our thinking and feeling about how human beings can best live together in this world.
Animal Farm is easily one of the best pieces of political allegory ever written. The animals take over the running of the farm, and everything is wonderful for a while, until the pigs get out of hand. It is a brilliant description of what happens when revolution goes astray. Allegory is hard to do gracefully, but Orwell manages it superbly. While true appreciation of Animal farm requires an understanding of the history of the Russian Revolution, those without it will still get the point. Animal Farm also, owed largely to its relentless simplicity, can even be appreciated as a story by children, with no understanding of the political message at all.
Buy it, read it, enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that makes you think, 19 April 2006
It is incredible that such a short story can be as meaningful and important in the history of Literature. Much has been written about it, and much better than I could do, so I'll just recommend you to read it: it won't take long, and I am sure you'll enjoy it. Then, if you want, take some time to think about what you have read. You don't need to be an expert in History or Politics to identify the symbols and allegories in the story. And finally, compare it with the world today and come to your own conclussions. I bet you'll find some...and not precisely optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Deserved Classic, 30 May 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Unlike other books which you are forced to read at school, or which are labelled classics and which turn out to be wildly disappointing, this book lives up to its hype.

It is a simple political allegory acted out in a farmyard setting with the animals deciding they have had enough of being 'ruled' by the farmer and that they could do a better, fairer job by themselves. Orwell charts their progress with its initial ups and final horrifying downs with a sense of wondrous glee which lifts this book out of the ordinary and well above the usual fairytale standards.

The book is simple, short and yet breathtakingly powerful. It has huge emotional impact and will stay with you long after reading it. I am glad that I didn't read it at school and discovered it later in my adult life when I could really appreciate it properly. This and 1984 are two of Orwell's greatest achievements and given the high standards of the rest of his output that is really saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Farm: A Fairy Story (Penguin Modern Classics)
Animal Farm: A Fairy Story (Penguin Modern Classics) by George Orwell (Paperback - 24 Feb 2000)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews