Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Where will you find, these days, as joyous a throat?"
Published in 1939, the same year that James Joyce published Finnegan's Wake, this novel was lauded in its day by Joyce himself, Samuel Beckett, and Graham Greene. A wild concoction involving a completely disjointed narrative, multiple points of view, farce, satire, and parody, this "novel" offers any student of Irish literature unlimited subject matter--and equally...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by Mary Whipple

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my pint of plain
O'Brien was heavily influenced by James Joyce, and it shows in this book. If you enjoy Joyce you will undoubtedly enjoy this, as it is more of the same stream of consciousness, intellectual in jokes and Irishness that has made Joyce so popular. One thing to be said in O'Brien's favour is that his work is more comprehensible than say Ulysses or Finnegan's Wake...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Where will you find, these days, as joyous a throat?", 5 Nov 2003
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Published in 1939, the same year that James Joyce published Finnegan's Wake, this novel was lauded in its day by Joyce himself, Samuel Beckett, and Graham Greene. A wild concoction involving a completely disjointed narrative, multiple points of view, farce, satire, and parody, this "novel" offers any student of Irish literature unlimited subject matter--and equally unlimited laughs. In this unique experiment with point of view, author Brian O'Nolan has used a pseudonym, Flann O'Brien, to tell the story of the novelist/student N, who tells his own story at the same time that he is writing a book about an invented novelist (Trellis), who is himself developing another story, while Tracy, still another author, tells a cowboy story and appears in the previous narratives.
Believing that characters should be born fully adult, one of the writers tries to keep them all together--in this case, at the Red Swan Hotel--so that he can keep track of them and keep them sober while he plans the narrative and writes and rewrites the beginning and ending of the novel. But even when the primary writer stops writing to go out with his friends, the characters of the other (invented) fictional writers continue to live on in the narrative and comment on writing. Before long, the reader is treated to essays on the nature of books vs. plays, polemics about the evils of drink, parodies of folk tales and ballads, a breathless wild west tale starring an Irish cowboy, the legends of Ireland, catalogues of sins, tales of magic and the supernatural, almanacs of folk wisdom and the cures for physical ills, and even the account of a trial--and that's just for starters.
Totally unique, O'Brien's creation defies the conventions, both of its day and of the present, and even the most jaded reader will be astonished at the unexpected twists the narrative takes. Steeped in the traditions of the Irish story-teller, O'Brien keeps those traditions alive by creating multiple narrators to tell multiple stories simultaneously, while also skewering the very traditions of which he--and they--are a part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I bough this by accident, whilst trying to get At swim two boys. I don't regret my mistake however, as it is a good book. It took me a little while to get into it, and I had to reread the first 50 pages, but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Where will you find, these days, as joyous a throat?", 21 Sep 2005
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: At Swim-two-Birds
Published in 1939, the same year that James Joyce published Finnegan's Wake, this novel was lauded in its day by Joyce himself, Samuel Beckett, and Graham Greene. A wild concoction involving a completely disjointed narrative, multiple points of view, farce, satire, and parody, this "novel" offers any student of Irish literature unlimited subject matter--and equally unlimited laughs. In this unique experiment with point of view, author Brian O'Nolan has used a pseudonym, Flann O'Brien, to tell the story of the novelist/student N, who tells his own story at the same time that he is writing a book about an invented novelist (Trellis), who is himself developing another story, while Tracy, still another author, tells a cowboy story and appears in the previous narratives.
Believing that characters should be born fully adult, one of the writers tries to keep them all together--in this case, at the Red Swan Hotel--so that he can keep track of them and keep them sober while he plans the narrative and writes and rewrites the beginning and ending of the novel. But even when the primary writer stops writing to go out with his friends, the characters of the other (invented) fictional writers continue to live on in the narrative and comment on writing. Before long, the reader is treated to essays on the nature of books vs. plays, polemics about the evils of drink, parodies of folk tales and ballads, a breathless wild west tale starring an Irish cowboy, the legends of Ireland, catalogues of sins, tales of magic and the supernatural, almanacs of folk wisdom and the cures for physical ills, and even the account of a trial--and that's just for starters.
Totally unique, O'Brien's creation defies the conventions, both of its day and of the present, and even the most jaded reader will be astonished at the unexpected twists the narrative takes. Steeped in the traditions of the Irish story-teller, O'Brien keeps those traditions alive by creating multiple narrators to tell multiple stories simultaneously, while also skewering the very traditions of which he--and they--are a part. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor-quality 'Pengnuin Modem Classix' KINDLE edition, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a funny, brilliant book so I have to give it 5 stars; I can't add any more to what has already been said about its greatness. I was looking forward to re-reading it after twenty years but found the Kindle edition riddled with typos and missing full stops. It's obvious that no serious effort was made to proofread the transfer from print to digital, (rather counter-intuitive of the publisher wishing to promote the book as a 'classic'). This poorly edited text does disservice to the reputation of such a scrupulous writer.

I'm appalled at the cynicism of charging one pound more than the paperback for this shoddy Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the greatest comic novel ever, 16 Jun 2009
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
At Swim-Two-Birds is one of the great comic novels. O'Brien's language is flawless, his imagination strange and vivid and his dialogue both convincing and hilarious. O'Brien's individual style is clear from the first sentence of the book: "Having placed in my mouth sufficient bread for three minutes chewing, I withdrew my powers of sensory perception and retreated into the privacy of my mind, my face assuming a vacant and preoccupied expression."
The first time I read At Swim I knew from this first sentence that this was a book for me. O'Brien is exact in his choice of words and there is a deliberately absurd formality to his style which has often been copied, but he is the one true master of the style.

One of the greatest sources of humour in the novel is the dialogue between the narrator, a rather indolent university student, and the uncle with whom he lodges. The uncle's character is a brilliantly-observed satire on the Catholic middle-class in Ireland, pious and ignorant, close-minded and hectoring, whose colloquial speech-patterns are drawn from reality, still recognisable 70 years after the book's original publication. The narrator is taciturn and reserved, an intellectual character, fond of puns, porter, betting and quiet contemplation(" a contemplative life has always been suitable to my disposition" he says, in defense of his habit of spending entire days in bed rather than attending classes). Thus, the scene is set for constant conflict between these two characters.

Meanwhile, the narrator is writing a novel. The main character of this novel, Trellis, is also writing a novel. Generous excerpts from both the narrator's novel and Trellis's novel are included. Later, the characters from Trellis's novel come to life and seek revenge on their creator. It is these elements that have led to At Swim being considered a classic of post-modernism.

At Swim-Two-Birds is not perfect. It is certainly disjointed. Ultimately, only about a third of the novel is devoted to the surface narrative, which is unfortunate as these scenes are comic perfection, every one. The rest is more hit-and-miss but still features many moments of true inspiration, meaning that this is one of the very few novels of sustained comic brilliance that one can hope to come across. I have found that it is not a novel to be read just once, either, and now, several years after I first read it, I find myself often drawn back to the fathomless wells of its comic invention.

Postscript: O'Brien was never this funny in a novel again, in my view, but some of his journalism(originally published in the Irish Times under the name Myles na Gopaleen) attains lofty heights of crazed comic genius, especially that collected in the "The Best of Myles" collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A readable Finnegans Wake..., 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Quite simply, the funniest and cleverest book ever written. After the first glimpse, it takes at least three years to stop trying to write and talk O'Brienese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my pint of plain, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
O'Brien was heavily influenced by James Joyce, and it shows in this book. If you enjoy Joyce you will undoubtedly enjoy this, as it is more of the same stream of consciousness, intellectual in jokes and Irishness that has made Joyce so popular. One thing to be said in O'Brien's favour is that his work is more comprehensible than say Ulysses or Finnegan's Wake.

I think this kind of literature is a very marmite experience. You either love it or hate it. Me, I hate it. I see how clever it is, but that doesn't make it something I would want to read in my leisure time. It's too much like hard work. Yes it is funny at times, but there's only so many jokes about puke and cowboys I can take in one short novella, and the intertextuality, the reliance on knowledge of Irish mythology and geography all make it exhausting and frustrating. You read the book only to think that if you had only read another ten before you started this one, it would all make more sense and be way more funny. As it is, it's too late. I'm never going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing the Kindle version rather than the book, 18 Feb 2012
The book itself is great. It's funny, witty, fast paced and I'm learning a lot about Irish culture. It makes me think of A Portrait of the Artist by Joyce, but more accessible and with better jokes.

The Penguin Modern Classics Kindle Version, however, leaves a lot to be desired. It would appear that the publishers have used optical character recognition on a scan of a typescript, judging by the amount of typographic errors there are in this edition. One irritation is the constant rendering of the word "the" as "die", another is missing punctuation, and there are numerous examples of "ri" being rendered as "n" and entire words being misread by the OCR.

If this had been a free download from Project Gutenburg or something, I would have lived with it. But this is an official Kindle version from the publisher of the book that I paid only a couple of pounds less for than I would have paid for a print copy of a book.

Editing standards for Kindle versions of books should be as high as they are for print versions. Otherwise it just looks like publishers cashing in by doing very little work to create an alternative version of a book.

My advice would be to buy the print version of this book, unless you're willing to put up with typos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Brainstorm, 26 April 2007
By 
MrChance (Surrey, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Thought it worthwhile writing a review simply because ASTB is quite a challenging read when compared to the other books by O'Brien that I have read: 'The Third Policeman' and 'The Poor Mouth', both of which were a joy to read. Flann O'Brien was clearly a literary genius but in a completly different mould to, for example, John McGahern, his imaginative prose is almost exhausting in that the passages are so descriptive that the brain reaches overload. To my mind the descriptive power is not dissimilar to the writing of Gabrial Garcia Marquez. I might have missed the point but I think that all the pages in this book, apart from the beginning and the end , could be rearranged and it would have made just as much sense. Nevertheless it is a brilliant read and one that could easily be read again, and again....... Parts of the book are still rumbling around in my head many weeks after finishing it, a true measure of its quality.

In some respects I would agree with WhiteCrow, one of the other reviewers, and can see that some would be disappointed with this book. If you're looking for an easy read then you'll struggle but I suggest any reader should just be led along by O'Brien and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A pint of porter is your only man", 21 April 2001
By 
This review is from: At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Nature of this review: unsolicited, impertinent, self aggrandising.
Nature of the reviewer: benign, well lubricated, an admirer of our English tongue, part Irish and cursed thereby to all the ills of that unhappy and rain-sodden race, including the following: unreasoning pride; pathological loquacity associated with but not inseparable from a fondness for porter; a predilection for exaggeration (the mundane being otherwise intolerable); an inability to take anything seriously. Conclusion of the foregoing. At Swim-Two-Birds is unquestionably the best book on my shelves, constructed by one of the finest authors who ever graced the world. Mr O'Brien has exploded all the absurd and deceitful conventions of the fictioneer and put the pieces back together in a confection which must, from time to time, if you have any sense of humour whatsoever, have you laughing out loud. He wipes the ground with such pretenders to the throne of absurdity as Monsieur Alfred Jarry, and even with worthier contenders such as the excellent, late, and much lamented Mr B.S. Johnson. Be warned: if you read this, you will NOT be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics)
At Swim-two-birds (Penguin Modern Classics) by Flann O'Brien (Paperback - 24 Feb 2000)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews