Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own. Awe-inspiring prose.
To write a review of Ada is almost impossible except to say that it is the book in which Nabokov, the greatest prose stylist in English, uses his mastery of the language and his great knowledge of European literary history to his greatest extent and evidently enjoys himself! The whole book is choc-a-bloc with word-play, literary puzzles, allusions to other works, hidden...
Published on 13 Dec 2004 by Mr. A. Jehangir

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the Nab's only sloppy work
Try as I might, I simply cannot get myself to enjoy or even appreciate this book. I am a longtime Nabokov fan and have read most of his books as well as several biographies and literary studies on the man. The only conclusion that I can reach is that, in this novel that followed the huge success of Lolita, Nabokov somehow lost his self-critical facility and wrote it...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by rob crawford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own. Awe-inspiring prose., 13 Dec 2004
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
To write a review of Ada is almost impossible except to say that it is the book in which Nabokov, the greatest prose stylist in English, uses his mastery of the language and his great knowledge of European literary history to his greatest extent and evidently enjoys himself! The whole book is choc-a-bloc with word-play, literary puzzles, allusions to other works, hidden quotations, alliteration, streams of consciousness, history, science fiction, dollops of French, helpings of Russian, laces of Latin, poetry, catalogues of erotica, and many many other things..this is a literature lover's delight but requires great concentration; however, even more so than Lolita, the dedicated reader will be delighted and rewarded like he or she has never been before. This is Nabokov at his literary peak. Rarely can any writer of English have written prose of this calibre. Awe-inspiring is the only word I can think of to describe it.
The plot, as it is, deals with the love story between Ada and Van Veen who happen to be first cousins from their first meeting as young teenagers to their old age and eventual death and is set in a parallel world to Earth called Antiterra which is similar to--yet different in some geographical and historical aspects-- to our own Earth (or Terra)...
It is quite a long book too (500 odd pages of dense text) but eminently worth the effort and time. The only problem is once you have read Nabokov, and especially Ada, no other novel gives as much pleasure afterwards so every other fictional book afterwards pales in comparison (so far...)! I would give my left arm to be able to write prose like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Space and Time, 17 Mar 2006
By 
Room for a View - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The key to understanding this novel and it's inevitable enjoyment is revealed by Nabokov's insight into the illusory nature of time and space. The story is set in a fantastical Eden like world of aristocratic privilege, incest, botanical and zoological manifestations and subverted morality. The essence of this historical memoir is seen through the recollections of Van and his one and only 'true' love Ada. Their memories are relics of a distant past (spanning ninety years), contorted by their childhood passion, shaped and manipulated by subsequent events, and deformed by the nature of time itself. The present, or 'nowness' being the only tangible impression that can ever have any meaning for conscious thought. Indeed it is this aspect of the novel that controls the parallel universe in which the story unfolds. Memories that are dependent on the recollections of the moment and not based on an exact sequence of past events. These events are to be seen as shadows of human existance, lengthening and shortening over time, nourishing thought with emotional intensities and altering perceptions of the past. Through this vista Nabokov offers a lush insight into the nature of love and decay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grab a dictionary., 29 July 2008
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Honestly, there is more in this book than can be taken in upon first reading, it is staggeringly good. Nabokov rated it his best and, of course, it is. Yes, Lolita is subversive and brilliant, Pale fire is hilarious and genius and original, but this is MESMERISINGLY complex and beautiful, a rich tapestry of love and philosophy and sex and family turmoil and it is BETTER. It is a better book judging by any criteria that Nabokov would have deemed worthwhile and unlike the established classics listed above, I don't think people read this one which is essentially the culmination of Nabokovs writing career, his great work.

It's not for everyone, I mean, I struggled with it and I REALLY REALLY wanted to read it - I barely broke the surface. If you want a romp look elsewhere, you have to work for this, it's rich and deep and subtle but ultimately rewarding. It's also hugely pretentious, but that's Nabokov. He knew he was the man, he knew he was smart and he filled this novel, as he did his others, with arrogant wordplay, quips, literary jigsaws and a world of other things. Also, it takes place on another earth, another dimension and the....I can't even describe it.

Just read it, take your time and don't worry if you don't get it because you will, eventually, after you realise that Nabokov is better than you and that it's ok to admit that.

O.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joycean Nabokov, 25 Sep 2009
By 
A. Osborne "Malign Fiesta" (Jolly old Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A work of genius, and possibly Nabokov's most Joycean, intertextual work.
A perverse family saga set in an imaginary world, tantalisingly close to but strangely different to ours. Moving and provocative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware, 13 May 2003
By 
R. Manley "rustlem" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I'll say straight away that this is one of my favourite books, and one that I often come back to. However, no one who does not like a challenge should bother to attempt it. Like 'Moby Dick' or 'Ulysses' it takes time and patience. And, like these two classics, it is very much worth it.
The world it creates is mid-atlantic and trans-european, like Gorbachev's idea of a Common European Home from the atlantic to the urals, with north america thrown in. It is, in fact, the personal world which Nabokov inhabited, modern america founded in Russia.
There are countless references to other classics and much fun is to be had spotting them. In a delicious twist he references his own previous work too. The writing is awe-inspring, the central characters perfectly drawn. Will they / won't they? It is pure anticipation. No one writes like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Nabokovian themes, deftly handled, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Victoria Craven (Wilmington, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This time Nabokov’s pet theme of true, lasting, first, yet socially-unacceptable love comes in the form of an incestuous relationship that lasts from the character’s adolescence until their nineties. The characters repeatedly reference Proust, which is fitting, as the book is obviously a paean to that author. It’s written in the form of a manuscript that has been edited by the two main characters—they have conversations in the margins about what should stay or go. This is the first time that I noticed the similarities between Nabokov and Gunter Grass in the way they handle the earthier aspects of their characters’ lives, but if you like this I'd recommend Grass' The Tin Drum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I, Van Veen, salute you, life., 2 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Ada confounded even the Nabophiles, like John Updike and Martin Amis. Gore Vidal said, with his usual lofty confidence, "No-one has ever finished Ada." Well, that's just not true. There are plenty of us who adore this rich Christmas pudding of a book and who consider it one of Nabokov's great masterpieces. Ingredients: blend literary allusions, set pieces, biographical pastiche, quasi-academic irony, fantasy-history, warped physics, cinematic flourishes and tragedy. Marinade for several decades in a sauce of sly whimsy, surrealism and sentiment. Serve, when ready, with brandy sauce.

Ada is Nabokov unfettered. His demise was still seven years away, but he already saw its stealthy approach. So, he immortalized himself and Vera while he still could in a story that both saluted and played with their own histories, desires and literary preferences, relocating the two of them onto the same glorious Antiterra where now, post-life, they stroll together eternally.

Ada is a work whose time has not yet come. One day, people will see it for the astonishing work of whimsical genius it is. It will be studied in university courses with Tristram Shandy and Gulliver's Travels. It will be read with delight and alluded to by friends in everyday conversation. Its day will come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disappearing into the distance, 4 Dec 2011
By 
M. Isham (Historic Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Reading this is the literary equivalent of going on a training run with Usain Bolt. You keep pace with him, putting in the effort and enjoying the company of one of the greats, and then he effortlessly accelerates away with an apologetic smile. All you can do is watch in breathless admiration and laugh youself sick. Is Vlad the greatest writer of prose fiction? I think so. Is this his finest work? I think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the Nab's only sloppy work, 1 Jun 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Try as I might, I simply cannot get myself to enjoy or even appreciate this book. I am a longtime Nabokov fan and have read most of his books as well as several biographies and literary studies on the man. The only conclusion that I can reach is that, in this novel that followed the huge success of Lolita, Nabokov somehow lost his self-critical facility and wrote it faster and with far fewer drafts, convinced by the critics' pronounements that he was a genius (and he certainly was) and hence couldn't go wrong. This is what many of his critics and academic specialists say about this book - that it is sloppy and indulgent, and certainly nothing like his best work - and for once I completely agree with them.

Now a lot Nabokov devotees make fancy arguments about how this is his ultimate acheivement, a kind of cryptic Finnegin's Wake that engages the reader into a curious notion of time, etc etc. Well, apart from my own idolisation of this fabulous writer, I really did not see anything to justify this in this book, unless you like such banalities as "I don't analyse, I describe" or Van Veen putting on sunglasses and wondering if the tint influences his sense of time. Alas, a simpler explanation is that, in a fit of self-intoxication, the Nab got lazy with this book and simply blew it.

With all due respect to one of the greatest writers of the 20C, this book is too long, many of the scenes ring hollow, and the story is really strange.

Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all right, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
its ok, not so great as the reviews set the expectations to be so high. i would rather read some better book. may be not very fit for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics)
Ada or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (Penguin Modern Classics) by Vladimir Nabokov (Paperback - 6 April 2000)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews