Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little book, an essential buy
This little book has a vast treasury of poems of the first World War. All my favourites could be found, Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, Rupert Brooke and many others, totalling over 80 poems in all.
A very readable book, bringing back memories of poems read long ago. The scenes described are evocative, harrowing, heart-warming. Be prepared to be...
Published on 30 Nov. 2000

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized
A little disappointed with this book as it is basically a pocket sized very basic book. If you wanted a book to slip in your jacket pocket, then great, but the title led me to expect more than this.
A random organisation of contents also disappoints.
A couple of obvious ommissions. Laurence BINYON's "For the fallen" being the most obvious.
A small pocket...
Published on 14 July 2009 by Mark B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little book, an essential buy, 30 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This little book has a vast treasury of poems of the first World War. All my favourites could be found, Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, Rupert Brooke and many others, totalling over 80 poems in all.
A very readable book, bringing back memories of poems read long ago. The scenes described are evocative, harrowing, heart-warming. Be prepared to be brought to tears.
I would highly recommend this book for any bookshelf and it is particularly appropriate as an introduction to war poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small anthology comprising many famous war poems, 1 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
A pocket-sized book which brings together a lot of my favourite war poems including Wilfred Owen's "Anthem For Doomed Youth", Siegfried Sassoon's "Enemies", Edward Thomas's "The Owl" and Issac Rosenberg's "Break Of Day In The Trenches". It introduced me to other poems I warmed to but had not read before including May Wedderburn Cannan's "Lamplight", Margaret Postgate Cole's "The Veteran" and Ivor Gurney's "To His Love". I enjoy the scattering of poems with seemingly no logical order - it encourages random opening to discover new and old pearls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized, 14 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
A little disappointed with this book as it is basically a pocket sized very basic book. If you wanted a book to slip in your jacket pocket, then great, but the title led me to expect more than this.
A random organisation of contents also disappoints.
A couple of obvious ommissions. Laurence BINYON's "For the fallen" being the most obvious.
A small pocket sized book ideal for a journey, but not likely to stretch the academic amongst you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tear jerker, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Such a sad book, cannot thank those young men enough , so very young, so very brave and for what if we don't heed the message and learn,we must never forget and this book helps us to know there is a better way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WW1 poetry selection, 29 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This is a great little book - very small in size and wish it had been just a little larger for my ageing eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy size., 30 Mar. 2014
By 
O. McGonagle (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This small volume is just right for my pocket and so is available for random selection. Great collection of poems and good price. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good wee book, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Ms. S. Bagenal (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This is a useful wee book. It shows the similarities amongst the poets and their work at that time. The contents are grim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little booklet!, 21 Aug. 2004
By 
Christian Spriet "Chacklee Chack" (Bruges, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
They say that jobs usually don't go a-begging. Books normally wouldn't, either, but this one is the exception to confirm the rule.
And, speaking of a gem: this FWW poetry collection just lives up to your every expectation if you are looking for an introduction, that is.
Put out on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of the Armistice, it features all those names that spring to mind when one thinks of the Great War's poetic heritage: Owen, Sassoon, Rosenberg, Thomas, Kipling, Blunden: they're all there waiting for you. Moreover, the booklet easily fits into your pocket during your literary explorations along the Western Front.
Wonders will never cease, but I wouldn't bet on that if I were you. So why wait? Press that 1-click order button and remember what they were talking about when "price/quality ratio" was the topic of conversation. Indispensable, a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old and new, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This is a pleasant little book, small enough to fit into a pocket or a handbag. It has many of the old favourites in it and some new poems that I hadn't read before. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the right size., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Loved this little book, picked out three short poems to read at my choir concert on a World War 1 theme.
So handy to pick up and put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poems of the Great War: 1914-1918 (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews