Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Have enjoyed Mary Burton books in the past and had sadly forgotten her. Saw this one and remembered her so gave it a go - really enjoyable read. If you have not read any of her books I would certainly recommend them.
Published on 4 Jan. 2011 by Mrs. Sarah Platt

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner
Reporter Kendall Shaw nearly died at the hands of a serial killer last summer. Since returning to work, she's done her reporting from the safety of the anchor's desk. But when a young woman is found strangled by the James River, Kendall feels compelled to cover the story. She wants to prove that she can handle the tough stories - not only to herself, but also to her...
Published on 20 Dec. 2008 by Ruth King


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 20 Dec. 2008
By 
Ruth King "BookishRuth.com" (Spring City, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reporter Kendall Shaw nearly died at the hands of a serial killer last summer. Since returning to work, she's done her reporting from the safety of the anchor's desk. But when a young woman is found strangled by the James River, Kendall feels compelled to cover the story. She wants to prove that she can handle the tough stories - not only to herself, but also to her demanding boss and former boyfriend, Brett.

Homicide detective Jacob Warrington and his partner Zack Kier have little to go on at the murder scene. The killer left no physical evidence and the only clue they have is a small gold charm engraved with the name `Ruth'.

When more victims are discovered, each with a gold charm of their own, an unsettling pattern emerges. Each victim was killed in the same manner, and they all bear an uncanny resemblance to Kendall Shaw. As Jacob tries to keep Kendall from becoming the next victim, he finds himself fighting a growing attraction to her.

Does the killer have his sights set on Kendall? And could a mystery from her past be the key to solving the crime?

While I enjoyed Dead Ringer, I felt two of the subplots should have been more fully developed. One promising subplot with Kendall's boss Brett saw no real resolution. Another subplot, this time involving Kendall's roommate Nicole and one of her photography clients, was more fleshed out, but it didn't feel believable to me. However, Dead Ringer offered up some great twists, an interesting protagonist, and a terrifying killer. These three elements made it a difficult book to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. Sarah Platt "splatt120" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
Have enjoyed Mary Burton books in the past and had sadly forgotten her. Saw this one and remembered her so gave it a go - really enjoyable read. If you have not read any of her books I would certainly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Ringer, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
E. Fuge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
Terrific book.It is written by Mary Burton and she is very much like Karen Rose.In fact she has the edge on her.If one wants a exciting read this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars keeps you reading, 25 May 2014
By 
Lainy (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Kindle Edition)
Kendall Shaw is a reporter, ruthless and does what it takes to get her story. However, being a survivor of a serial killer and a near death experience her outlook and approach has changed. Jacob Warwick is a homicide detective, linked to Kendall from the serial killer who almost killed her. On opposite sides of the job, they keep falling into each others paths with a mixture of emotions toward the other. Women are dying, a serial killer is on the loose. They bear a striking resemblance to Kendall, is it a coincidence or is Kendall at risk once again and how far will Warwick go to keep her safe?

This is a great crime story, the pace is fast and there are surprises and twists throughout the story. If you have read the previous book you will recognize a few of the characters, I read the previous book last year and I remembered a few things and characters which isn't like me. It is a busy story, lots of different things going on with the characters. Kendall for example is dealing with her boss who is also her ex who has decided maybe they aren't over. Kendall is having nightmares that are becoming more frequent and she can't make head nor tales of it. She has covered many murders yet something about this one is having a profound effect on her.

There is attraction and sexual chemistry between some of the characters, there is some sex within the book although not is reels of graphic content however it is worth noting it is in there. Overall it kept my attention, pulls you in from the prologue and keeps you guessing along the way as to why the killer is doing what he is doing and who is it. 3/5 for me, I would read this author again, she has a good style and engages the reader quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
This book is very well written and by the last 100 pages, I could not put it down.
It follows the story of Kendall Shaw, a TV news anchor who is covering a serial killer. The only thing is, all of his victims look like her.
The twist was brilliant, and I had worked out some of the reasoning behind what he was doing, but not all of it, which made it even better. There's also a nice bit of romance which leads to a lovely ending.
I recommend this book as long as you're happy to finish it in 4 hours and not over several days;the latter is which I would have preferred!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Kindle Edition)
It was not one of Ledbetter novels, but it was pretty gripping, more so thru the latter half of the book, the ending made it all seem sense. I think it was all right. Good plot, happy end, gripping in between, but it missing something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
Received this book quickly and it is in a good condition. The price was very cheap and I brought as a gift for my mum as she is an avid reader and she devoured this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
Another excellent book from Mary Burton, really enjoyed it! I liked the characters and the story keeps you gripped. I love stories where you can try and guess the killer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Burton collection, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
Another one of a really good collection of books, the characters and stories are tip top, you can't wait to read them, very hard to put down, love them, many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit Disappointed, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringer (Paperback)
I usually like the Mary Burton books but this one was a bit of a let down. Not quite sure what was wrong with it but not up to her usual standard. (In my view).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Ringer
Dead Ringer by Mary Burton (Paperback - 9 Dec. 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews