Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars77
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2012
Not so much a book, more a manifesto. 64 principles to guide our relationship with food - some synthesized from in-depth research (see Pollan's "In Defence of Food"), some a reminder of homespun wisdom learned at your grandmother's knee. It's a map to keep us on the straight-and-narrow, despite Food Inc's best efforts to industrialise what we eat. Well done, nourishing, and sprinkled with wit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Superb book - Basically sums up the philosophy in 7 words and then goes on to prove it with further detail. All good practical sense that we really know deep down but set out in a clear and informative way. Doesn't get wrapped up with science and as you are reading it, you just know that what he is saying is right - just have to put it into practice now - which is the slightly harder task. Definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Excellent, funny, informative book. Good seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
helpful and insightful using succinct text
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Loved this book and his other's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Eat food, mostly plants, not too much. All you need to know about nutrition. Michael Pollan expands a little bit on these three rules in this book and writes the one book that should probably replace every single diet book out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
GOOD BOOK, EASY TO READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Interesting little book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
This was a quick and easy read, summarizing author's experience in the domain with some simple and intuitive principles on food that may stick in your head before any scientific material on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
This is a very readable, very light-on-words little book that you can flick through in an hour. You don't need a degree in science to understand it and I came away from it thinking, "Well, that was all blindingly obvious!" - which, I guess, is exactly what the author wants us to think. It's full of really simple ideas that you probably all ready know, but it takes a book to nudge you into realising. I'm glad I bought it, and after reading it I immediately lent it to my mother (that same afternoon!) Don't buy it to read on holiday; you'll have finished reading it before you even reach the airport.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)