Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars @postmodernliterati: Pithy Prose
Just bought this as a Christmas present & may need to buy a second copy.
This does what it says on the cover with sharp perception and humour.
As a once-keen reader I tend to wait for the film or TV programme now, but this captures the essence of great works of literature succinctly. You need to know a bit about classical and 20thC literature to get the jokes -...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by Occasional Reader

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really all that clever
While I love the idea of this book, I was sorely disappointed by what I actually read. The twitter feed names are often quite humorous, and some of the tweets themselves are good, but on the whole the authors fail to properly capture the right style of either the author or the character tweeting. It's more their versions of the stories rather than the actual stories in...
Published on 24 July 2010 by egws


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really all that clever, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
While I love the idea of this book, I was sorely disappointed by what I actually read. The twitter feed names are often quite humorous, and some of the tweets themselves are good, but on the whole the authors fail to properly capture the right style of either the author or the character tweeting. It's more their versions of the stories rather than the actual stories in twitter form. Love the idea, hate the execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, poor delivery, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
The author had a good idea, but failed to deliver. The books all seem to be in the same 'voice', and this becomes tirsome after a while. There is no attempt to capture the essence of each author. Furthermore, the 'tweets' are not tweety enough. Twitter involves far more acronyms, text speak and non-standard prose that this books give- it is merely a collection of sentences limited to 140 characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars @postmodernliterati: Pithy Prose, 19 Nov 2009
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
Just bought this as a Christmas present & may need to buy a second copy.
This does what it says on the cover with sharp perception and humour.
As a once-keen reader I tend to wait for the film or TV programme now, but this captures the essence of great works of literature succinctly. You need to know a bit about classical and 20thC literature to get the jokes - it's also an educational guide for those who think only birds tweet. I'd recommend it to my mother's writing group. A great Christmas game would be reading the first lines & others guessing the book.
Last book that made me ROFL was Bridget Jones's Diary, Bridget Jones's Diary: A Novel. The film was tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite poor, do pass, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Arnold Magnet (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
While it is an interesting concept to reduce works of literature to a pithy line, this book does not achieve that. It is somewhat misleading in that there are several rambling pages for the targeted works. More disappointing is the hyper-now (read: locked squarely in 2008) style of writing. The authors' liberal and cliché use of foul-language fails to impress. It further cheapens an already low-value effort.

The cover of the book is pretty. The rest is not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be A Twit, 16 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
Nice idea, good cover design, full-marks for cashing in on the Twitter Zeitgeist, but in the end this is nothing more than a fad cash-in book that I was silly enough to fall for thanks to Amazon's recommendation software when I bought something else (Penguin book cover postcards).

Some of these might be funny, or even art, if actually delivered via Twitter, perhaps a novel per day, but in this book form it is little more than a timely stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clever, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
got for my dad, hes loves twitter, he liked this book. brownie points for moi

quick delivery and turned up in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
Funny, especially if you have read the books it refers to, as you will make much more sense to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alexander Aciman & Emmett Rensin - Twitterature | Review, 7 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
Written by two students from the University of Chicago, the concept behind Twitterature is simple - take a classic piece of literature, break down the structure until it reaches 140 characters and present it as if it was being tweeted. Confused? Here's an example from George Orwell's 1984:

"Met a drab hot girl today. Slipped me a note saying she loved me. Romance is forbidden because everything good in this society is bad. Hmm."

But be warned - if you're a serious fan of literature, you might take objection to the way that these masterpieces have been distilled and re-written with contemporary jargon. And if you're not a Twitter user, you probably won't understand what the fuss is all about anyway. Otherwise, it's worth a read just for the kicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as the concept sounds, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter (Paperback)
Really great idea for a book, executed not as well as it could have been, but still amusing.

I would say though it is still a fun read which would be especially good for reading on the bus/train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 12 May 2012
By 
Ms. P. T. Silva Rosario "Petra Rosário" (London, England XD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was brilliant, it summarises some of the best books in history into tweets. Very entertaining, and I will also say, I was able to blag a discussion on one of the books included just through reading the chapter(Dante's Inferno).

It is brilliant, I recommend it to "young professionals" too busy to read a full book, but still wanting to be mentally stimulated.
I was actually amazed what you could capture in a tweet. Many laugh out loud moments. LOVE.
(I liked it in case the review didnt make it obvious)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter
Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books Retold Through Twitter by Emmett Rensin (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews