Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellently informative
Absolutely chock full of new information. A page turner ... from the start it builds and keeps you going to find out the ultimate truth, the really important information about viruses and humans .... but in the end .... peters out.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. R. G. A. Thomas

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a virology primer? Look elsewhere.
Had I any kind of gift for biology, I'd've wanted to become a virologist. Viruses are genuinely fascinating, for all kinds of reason. So I was quite looking forward to this - the promise of an accessible guide to the science was tempting.

However, this is really rather disappointing. For one thing, notwithstanding the title, viruses attract surprisingly...
Published 15 months ago by Enzyme


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a virology primer? Look elsewhere., 9 July 2013
Had I any kind of gift for biology, I'd've wanted to become a virologist. Viruses are genuinely fascinating, for all kinds of reason. So I was quite looking forward to this - the promise of an accessible guide to the science was tempting.

However, this is really rather disappointing. For one thing, notwithstanding the title, viruses attract surprisingly little authorial attention; Wolfe obfuscates by talking about "microbes", a good many of which aren't viruses at all. At best, then, he's talking about epidemiology for the most part. Fine, but a touch misleading.

Worse, though, is the way that he so frequently falls into the trap of thinking that you can only write science for the layman if you dilute it with human interest stories. These get in the way - we get about 4 parts anecdote for every one part actual science, and that's simply not good enough. Even when he's ostensibly talking about science (and much of the time this amounts to self-ingratiating crap about his utterly wonderful colleagues), he's astonishingly trite. Chimpanzees don't share our dental hygeine standards! Proto-humans could cook, but it wasn't Michelin-star stuff! With insights like this, can a Nobel be far away?

Yes. Yes it can.

This might be the kind of thing that's required to keep American 16-year-olds happy, but it's really not good enough for anyone else. The more I read, the less I could help thinking of Lee and Herring's "When Things Get Knocked Over, Spill, or Fall Out of Cupboards" gag: this is a book by someone who desperately wants to be on the Discovery Channel, with slightly doomy music playing behind a very earnest but catatonically simple narration.

If you're an intelligent lay-reader who wants to learn something about virology, or even about epidemiology, there'd be worse places to start - "The Epic of Gilgamesh", or Derrida's "Writing and Difference" spring to mind - but there surely must be much better places, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A vision for the future, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age (Paperback)
I enjoyed this, although it wasn't quite what I expected.
The examination of how pandemics occur, and how little stands between us and the next, was fascinating, and I applaud the author's vision of a future in which, by using modern technology and advanced disease surveillance in animals and humans, we are able to predict, and stop, such outbreaks before they take hold.
Surely that is something public health should be striving for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellently informative, 18 April 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. A. Thomas "RussT" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely chock full of new information. A page turner ... from the start it builds and keeps you going to find out the ultimate truth, the really important information about viruses and humans .... but in the end .... peters out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting aspects, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book describes why and how pandemics can evolve and spread among animal and human populations.
It is easy to read and one doesn't need a large background to follow the author.
Unfortunately, I found some comments quite contradicting, e.g. the author talks about the threads of viruses intermingling in human bodies to create new, more dangerous variants, but seems to be quite happy about the use of "modified", "harmless" viruses in medicine. So only three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite terrifying if you believe only half of it. ..., 13 Sep 2014
By 
TIM SULLIVAN (OXSHOTT, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age (Paperback)
Quite terrifying if you believe only half of it. Mankind is busy destroying himself with all kinds of vile toxins in our food, and reducing our resistance at the same time to various infections and bacteria
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age (Paperback)
Excellent book - once you start reading you find it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be wary, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age (Paperback)
this is a scary book, with respect of how thin the security lines are regarding being safe from global diseases.
do not read if you are of a nervous disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caught in the storm, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5 stars because its gripping- and real!
Liked the adventure
Recommend to all who like a real medical adventure !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VIRAL STORM, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age (Paperback)
An excellent review of the current knowledge of virology and how the risks of global viral pandemics are being tackled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and thought provoking., 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across this book after watching a programme on it. He is the consultant behind Contagion starring Keanu Reeves. It is very easy to read, there is no need to have a Microbiology Degree to understand it just sheer curiosity. Well worth a look, just appreciate the scale of challenge his team and others like it face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age
The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age by Nathan D. Wolfe (Paperback - 23 Nov 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews