Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I began reading this book with an uneasy feeling that the author had already taken her subject as far as it could go, but the quality of this fifth episode in the Adrian Mole series is at least the equal of its predecessors. Sue Townsend's brilliance shines through the subtle changes in writing style which she uses to reflect Adrian's growing maturity and the changing...
Published 23 months ago by John C

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didn't like it
I started reading this as it was our book group book. After 30% I decided I was not benefitting in any way by reading it, I was not enjoying it so I gave up.
Published on 10 April 2012 by Ms. C. L. Emanuel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Sep 2012
By 
John C (Spalding, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5) (Paperback)
I began reading this book with an uneasy feeling that the author had already taken her subject as far as it could go, but the quality of this fifth episode in the Adrian Mole series is at least the equal of its predecessors. Sue Townsend's brilliance shines through the subtle changes in writing style which she uses to reflect Adrian's growing maturity and the changing facets of his life. The wry humour is still there and the author lampoons low budget TV production companies, breakfast TV presenters, local radio DJ's and, in particular, the rich and famous who are prepared to pay through the nose to eat very ordinary food whilst being insulted by the aristocratic owner of the trendy Hoi Polloi restaurant. But Sue Townsend is never judgemental or didactic. Her thoughts flow gently from her easy, natural style and she leaves us to form our own opinions. We cannot be certain that she would not be seen dining at the Hoi Polloi.

Given Adrian's youthful leanings towards socialism, we might expect his diary to contain more political comment but, beyond a New Year's resolution to give Blair another chance, he remains strangely silent. Sue Townsend is far too clever to go for the obvious. She makes a much stronger statement through Pandora, who was so sure of her rectitude as a teenager but has become arrogant, self serving, nauseating and morally bankrupt as an adult. Her election to Parliament and appointment as a junior minister, based more on her stunning good looks than any real substance, says more about Blair's Government than Adrian ever could.

The author's premise, that life would be so much more enjoyable if only we ceased to worry about it, is neatly supported by the increasing dichotomy between her two protagonists. Pandora is the ambitious, self assured high achiever with multiple degrees, but she is becoming increasingly stressed as the demands of her high profile career force her to lose control of her life. Adrian is a complete plank in his relationships with the opposite sex and is equally wooden as an author. Despite the breadth of his reading, he fails to see any connection between George Orwell and Eric Blair and believes the literary success of Joyce and Dostoyevsky is due to their consumption of potatoes. But he can always be relied upon to do the decent thing when called to support his fellow man. Ultimately, it is his refusal to worry which makes him the happier of the two and it is his faults and frailties which make him the more endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better of the diaries, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5) (Paperback)
The quality of the Adrian Mole diaries have gone up and down, this is one of the better. Mostly charming and occasionally funny, this book is a good read. Just a word of advice, don't try to read all of the diares in a row, you'll be very fed up with Mr Mole eccentric habits if you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5) (Paperback)
This book was promptly delivered and at a good price. It is very entertaining and recommended to fans of Sue Townsend's character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mbknees, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes another Sue success. Poor Adrian goes through the mill yet again. I would be a manic depressive if I were him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my kindle, funny read, made me chuckle. This series did not disappoint. Didn't realise there were more than the teenage years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adrian Mole The Cappuccino years, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book in the life and times of Adrian. Can only recommend this as a very funny read and do not have anything negative to say about it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the rest, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Dan (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual high quality high brow humour with interesting background events in recent history. Brings Adrian in the 2000s nicely. Can't wait to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read very funny. Love the fact that this book can still make me laugh out loud, and even cry with laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 17 Nov 2012
I love this book sue townsend has created yet another hilariously funny book in the series. Adrian Mole is a strange boy who doesn't have a clue what to do with himself constantly trying to find some kind of aim in life. Sue townsend is amazing at managing to make it sound so realistic it is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5) (Paperback)
it was good, it was delivered on time the only thing was some of the pages were bent witch was a bit of a dissapointment but appart from that i was really pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5)
Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years (Adrian Mole 5) by Sue Townsend (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews