Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly account, 22 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citizen Sailors: The Royal Navy in the Second World War (Paperback)
As someone coming from a naval family and whose parents and other relatives served in the Royal Navy during World War 2, this book was a 'must' for me. It a book containing many fascinating accounts by those who were there, humourous, tragic and sometimes, so utterly pragmatic under very harrowing circumstances. There are two references included by a sailor who served aboard the same ship as my Dad, and I found that rather poignant. A highly recommend read, thank you Glyn Prysor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Citizen Sailiors, a readable unbiased account of the people behind the ships., 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been very hard to put down, the personal accounts collected by the author about the experiences of World War Two sailors are addictive, though at times overwhelmingly sad. No stone is left unturned and unlike a singular personal account, you get a range of perspectives and stories from across the board, from various personalities, ships, ranks and events. The horrors of war are laid out bare; it is not a light-hearted read, but moments of fun onboard, or day to day life are also depicted which levels out the more distressing accounts. This book does not glorify war, it tells the stories of those that were there, come what may.

My only criticisms are that the stories are weaved through the book partly by a sort of events timeline and it gets a bit hard keeping track of the various sailors who are quoted as they duck in and out. Also towards the end of the book the author starts pulling towards the effects of war on post war Britiain, almost as if trying to sum up how sailors contributed to the political events after the war. At times I thought this should have been a whole other book and didn't quite sit well with the other accounts.

Otherwise it was a well written and compelling book, which left me wanting to shake the hand of any sailor who took part in the war out of respect, the heroics of just abiding their fate under such trying circumstances seems almost unfathomable and yet they just got it with it, knowing that a horrific death was possible at any second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naval conscription., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My dad was in the RNVR, and although brought up by the sea, and crossing the Channel often in connection with his work, it was still a shock when it came to actually fighting on it. This book illustrates the communality of this experience, when tend of thousands of young men, many of whom had never even seen the sea before, were "called up". It does it by quoting liberally from the seamen's diaries, and this gives it an authority that it would not have had, if the memories had been personal to the author. A well written and valuable social and naval history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Account, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Dr Tolstoyevsky "Dr Tolstoyevsky" (Pontypridd, Wales United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a fascinating account of the sailors who fought in WWII. Starting just before the Spanish Civil War the book chronicles the major naval battles of the Second World War, form the sailors' perspective. The writing is fresh, original and engaging. A great partner for Tim Clayton's Sea Wolves: The Extraordinary Story of Britain's WW2 Submarines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good informative book, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citizen Sailors: The Royal Navy in the Second World War (Paperback)
very good informative book a very good narrative of ordinary sailors in world war two. Very readable and straight forward stories of the men themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating accounts., 2 May 2012
I did a specialist topic on the Second World War whilst at school for my A-Levels, so was really excited to receive this book in the post. Living in Portsmouth also added to the enjoyment of reading these accounts as local areas were regularly mentioned as were ships that family members had served on. Prysor has included many first hand accounts from sailors of the Royal Navy, that give an insight into some of the less well-known battles as well as the more familiar. Some of these testimonies are raw and gritty, and Prysor does not try to shy away from this fact, and I feel this has given me a more real view of what it was like to serve for the Royal Navy during these years. I have since passed this book on to other family members who are enjoying it as much as I did, definitely one to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars navy during world war 2, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Citizen Sailors: The Royal Navy in the Second World War (Paperback)
an excellent book about world war 2 navy and how they coped
an excellent addition to any ones library on the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sailors view, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
C. W. Robinson (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great allround coverage of Royal Navys war from the men who fought it. From the Atlantic to the Pacific on all types of ships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good WW2 Book, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Frank Smith (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very Good insite into the life of WW2 saiiors & the problems / weather / duties they had to endure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value for money, arrived promptly and in good order.
I would highly recommend for others to purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citizen Sailors: The Royal Navy in the Second World War
Citizen Sailors: The Royal Navy in the Second World War by Glyn Prysor (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews