Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched and engaging story
The other reviewers here are in danger of being too harsh on this novel. It tells the life story of Laura, a woman who has been wrongly imprisoned for the murder of her best friend, Jackie.

This book has much to offer. The descriptions of poverty in London only a few years after the war are unflinching, engaging, affecting but subtle and free from embellishment...
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by J. Roberts

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faith - I think I've lost it!
My sister told me that she had read two of Lesley Pearse's books and she really enjoyed them. I went for this one - I don't really know why - and I started reading it in anticipation of a real good read. I have to say that I was a bit disappointed. I enjoyed the why she writes, down to earth and not pompousely like some other authors I have read, but I kept hoping...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Trish


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched and engaging story, 27 Dec 2007
By 
J. Roberts "Jinny" (Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
The other reviewers here are in danger of being too harsh on this novel. It tells the life story of Laura, a woman who has been wrongly imprisoned for the murder of her best friend, Jackie.

This book has much to offer. The descriptions of poverty in London only a few years after the war are unflinching, engaging, affecting but subtle and free from embellishment at the same time. Bit by bit, Pearse builds on the characters of Laura and Jackie until I was drawn into the story and cared about what happened to them.

The character of Laura, who was sexually molested by her stepfather as a child, grows up to be the archetypal woman of the world, going through a variety of interesting/colourful experiences, as well as various sleazy and degrading ones. Yet this adds further credibility to the plot. Such situations occur, and the way in which Pearse describes them makes readers empathise with Laura rather than scorn her. She is, after all, a victim of a troubled past, and those who recognise that in themselves will enjoy reading 'Faith'. The descriptions of how a woman can be drawn into a world of pornography, drugs, and lust for wealth are very vivid and told with an unflinching, painstaking attention to detail. Why shouldn't a writer draw attention to the ways in which a working-class woman can inadvertently be drawn into such things? Just because Lesley Pearse didn't graduate from a top University and has a more accessible vernacular than middle-class writers like Joyce Carol Oates does not make her story-telling any less valid. Virtually everyone will be able to relate to at least one of the characters in this novel - doesn't this therefore guarantee it's relevance and artistic worth?

Yet 'Faith' isn't without it's flaws. Some of the plot developments are predictable at best, and the central character's unwavering ability to always bounce back is not always convincing. What's also slightly irritating is the portrayal of a woman who climbs society's social ladder through a variety of sleazy or calculating means. It doesn't do women many favours - we are, after all, able to achieve things through hard work and intelligence. The character of Laura is not portrayed as stupid
or talentless, so why did Pearse feel the need to portray her as someone who finds success through porn, Casino work, modelling, or constantly searching for that next conquest - usually a wealthy one?

Despite these irritations, 'Faith' is an extremely enjoyable read, with a collection of characters, scenarios, situations and observations which will strike a chord with many. Lesley Pearse has also done a great deal of research with regard to locations, and it shows. Good research always gives further credibility to a novel.

Lesley Pearse is still very much one of the leading writers of fiction in the UK today, and with good reason. As long as people are able to relate to and empathise with her characters, and enjoy her plots, her writing will continue to have validity and her success will be much-deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faith - I think I've lost it!, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Faith (Paperback)
My sister told me that she had read two of Lesley Pearse's books and she really enjoyed them. I went for this one - I don't really know why - and I started reading it in anticipation of a real good read. I have to say that I was a bit disappointed. I enjoyed the why she writes, down to earth and not pompousely like some other authors I have read, but I kept hoping that there was going to be more to the tale, perhaps with a twist at the end, which sadly there wasn't. It is a large book, which I did finish, but looking back over it, nothing much really happens. As other reviewers said, it was rather predictable and there were a couple of cringe induced moments in there too. It hasn't put me off though - my sister tells me that Gypsy is a much better read, so here goes ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another delightful book by Lesley Pearse, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. V. Leete "Vanessa" (Great Yarmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Paperback)
Laura Brannigan, is serving life in prison for the murder of her best friend, which she states she did not commit. One day she receives a letter from Stuart, who she had a relationship with 20 years ago, he pays her a visit in prison, and he is one of the only people who is convinced she did not commit the murder, he takes it upon himself to prove that Laura is innocent.

This is another brilliant book by Lesley Pearse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lesley Pearse top fan, 13 Oct 2007
By 
L. Atkinson "hardback collector" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
I loved it - but then again I just want an absorbing read on holiday - and it was a GOOD read. Lesley's books are always worth buying. I am eagerly awaiting the next one. The story did go back and forth "in time" but that added to the suspension in the plot. Rock on Lesley....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okayish but bit long winded, 15 April 2008
This review is from: Faith (Paperback)
This was the first of lesley pearses books I have read and i did enjoy it although I found some parts of the book were very long winded and skipped a couple of pages just to finish that part of the book - however I have gone on to buy more of her books - some are good some not so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something missing, 30 Sep 2007
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
I bought "faith" at the airport and had visions of sitting in the sun, totally absorbed and unable to put it down.

However I was sadly disappointed. I think the problem was I just didn't care about the characters enough to buy into the whole premise of the book.

I did find the second half of the book slightly more absorbing, so it is worth persevering.

If like me you are a Lesley Pearse fan I'm sure you won't be able to resist buying it anyway and despite what I have said I would still recommend it - it's a reasonable story, just not up to her usual standard.

However, if you're new to Lesley Pearse try one of her earlier books first for a truly brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Usually a HUGE fan - very dissappointed, 17 Sep 2007
By 
K. Buchele "Buchele" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
I have read EVERY Lesley Pearse at LEAST once and have been eagerly awaiting this latest novel.

I cant belive how utterly dissappointed I am with it. Usually I am hooked by the first couple of pages but with this novel you jump about from the present day to the past back to the present day then 3 years on from where you last read from 'the past' and it was really intensly annoying!

I struggled to keep reading the book and actually kept putting it down and then forcing myself to read it in the hope that it got better. Unfortunately it didnt.

Really dont know why Lesley wrote this book in a totally different way from all her others as the others all WORK - this unfortunately doesnt and I will be looking for another author to follow from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faith, 5 Oct 2007
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
I read this in 3 days on holiday, i couldn' as with other Lesley Pearse books I've read I couldn't put it down. Even though I enjoyed it, I did find it a bit predictable, however, fans of Lesley Pearse will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked from the first page. Fabulous story lines pull you in and you will find it impossible to put down., 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Faith (Paperback)
Laura started in surprise as the prison officer's voice boomed out along the block. She had been longing for her name to be called, but from the moment she opened her eyes this morning, she'd felt sure Stuart wouldn't come.

The visiting room had not changed since the last time she had a visitor, and that was over a year ago. The walls were still drab, the same large tables which prevented close contact between visitor and inmate, and the usual display of chocolate, cake and biscuits stood by the tea urn.

What was new to her though was her ability to feel the tension in the air, to notice the anxious expressions on both prisoners' and visitors' faces as they clutched at one another's hands over the tables. A few years ago she was aware of nothing but her own misery.

But such thoughts vanished as she saw Stuart come into the room. Her pulse began to race and the palms of her hands were suddenly sweaty.

Laura hadn't seen him as handsome when they first met, for he'd had the rawness of youth, his nose and mouth seemingly too large for his skinny frame and his mane of chestnut-brown hair obscured the beauty and gentleness of his grey eyes. She had been initially attracted by his ability to make anyone he spoke to feel important and valued. He really listened, he thought about what he said in reply, and cared. That wasn't something she'd found in many other men.

But a few years later, he had filled out, his features in perfect proportion to his then muscular body, and though perhaps still not classically handsome, he was arresting. Jackie had often chuckled about how women always made a bee-line for him, saying that even the coldest, starchiest women would try to flirt with him. Laura had known exactly why, for she could recall the sight of his wide mouth curling into a heart-stopping smile, and she guessed that once ruggedness had replaced rawness, there would be an edge to him which would suggest a night with him would be unforgettable. Her assumptions about how he had developed over the last twenty years were accurate, for every single woman in the visiting room was looking at him appraisingly.

He didn't recognize her immediately, not until she fluttered her hand at him. I was hooked from the first page. Fabulous story lines pull you in and you will find it impossible to put down!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you missed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Lesley Pearse I love so much!, 21 Sep 2007
This review is from: Faith (Hardcover)
I look forward to her books so much and couldnt wait for paperback so bought the hardback.What a waste of money.So boring and so unlike her usual style.Ive enjoyed all her other books so was very dissappointed.Diane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ee10f0)

This product

Faith
Faith by Lesley Pearse (Paperback - 17 Jan 2008)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews