Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

  • Rosie
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars198
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2003
This is the best book I have ever read. Never before have I been so immersed in a story. From start to finish it felt like I was there with the characters and it is easy to believe this story is based on real life rather than fiction.
The plot follows the life of Rosie Parker, a young girl growing up with her father and two half-brothers. Her life is full of tradegy and heartache and through this the reader sees Rosie grow from a small innocent girl to a beautiful, caring woman - made stronger by the tramua she experiences.
All the characters are all well developed but especially Rosie and after finishing this novel you can't help but feel like you know her personally. All of Lesley Pearse's books are wonderful, but this has that something extra making it a must read and arguably the best she has wrote.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
Born in 1930's Somerset country, Rosie endures a hard life caring for her three half brothers and father from a very early age. At the age of 15 her actions help to bring about the discovery of the murders of her own mother and that of her younger brother. Her father and eldest brother are accused of the murders, father is hanged and brother released. Rosie begins a new life, firstly in Bristol, then in London in a home for mentally ill patients and finally in Sussex. In Bristol she undergoes the Liza Doolittle treatment, in London she's instrumental in exposing the cruelty inflicted on the patients and gets a boyfriend and in Sussex discovers what she wants to do with the rest of her life. She also has to deal with her avenging brother Seth.
Either the author is old enough to have lived through the period she is describing which ends in the 1960's or her research has been prodigious. Certainly she has a well-thumbed "Encyclopedia of Dates and Times" on her bookshelf. Sometimes this is rather overdone. Equating the new National Health Service as a sign of a vibrant future several times is a little tedious. However Pearse's descriptions of conditions in rural England and the events in the mental home are very well written and all too realistic. In this sense, it is a very truthful and harrowing novel. It scores too in her understanding of the horrors and moral dilemnas which POW's in the Japanese camps confonted.
There is really only one criticism I would make about "Rosie", and that is Rosie herself. She is too loyal, too valiant, too perfect, too much. In real life she would be elevated to sainthood by the age of 17. That aside, I would recommend this book to anyone as a thoroughly good read and an excellent and accurate commentary of the social manners and events affecting ordinary lives at the time.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2004
I bought Rosie after reading Trust Me also by Lesley Pearse. This book is absolutely incredible. The story follows Rosie as she grows up, from living with her disgusting older brothers, to branching out on her own. The trauma (not going to give the plot away) she goes through in her life only goes to make her a stronger person, and as we follow her through the pages we grow to love her more and more.
This book will wreck havoc with your emotions, it will make you cry and make you smile. A wonderful read.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
This is the second Lesley Pearse book Ive read and loved them both (First one 'Hope').

Rosie is a brilliant character and you really get to know her. I found I was taking the book everywhere just to read a page or 2 more.

I would defo recommend you read this book and think it will suit all ages (Im 28).

I found this book a little more graphic than 'Hope' especially with the issue of rape.

Just ordered some more Lesley Pearse books as Im hooked now.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
I haven't read for years but somehow reading the review I thought I would give it a go! This was my first Lesley Perce book. I couldn't put the book down, each page was just compelling to read. I even turned the TV off so I could read. The story of Rosie, a very strong character, with a great deal of trauma through her young life and how she dealt with everything thrown at her so courageously and positively.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2006
I was given this book by a friend to read. I do not usually read this type of book, but I decided to give it a go. I started it and from the first few pages I counld not put it down. It is a fantastic read and now I am looking for more of Lesley Pearse books to read.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Lesley Pearse books seem to get better and better, Rosie was a brilliant book.

Rosie has a terrible father and her two older brothers are just as bad. She is moved from the family home and fostered out to a family and from there she starts to work into a mental hospital, where she witnesses horrible goings on. Eventually with one of the patients in the mental hospital who she has taken under her wing, she is invited to his parents to live and help to look after there son, they love her like their own daughter.

Rosie later finds a boyfriend, and he says he loves Rosie, but all ever thinks about is himself, and then there is Thomas Farley, when he turns up at Rosie's home looking for his sister, who has been murdered. Thomas during the war lost a leg, and his sister did not know he was still alive.

Rosie keeps in contact with Thomas over the years as a good friend, he is 15 years older than Rosie, but when she turns 16, Thomas starts seeing Rosie in a different light, he starts to fall in love with her, and he is finding it hard to keep his emotions to himself, who will she choose in the end?

Lesley Pearse as far as I am concerned is one of the best authors, the books are so full of content, I am now reading 'Tara', her first book I read was 'Charity', which was brilliant and this book had me in tears quite a few times reading it, I found it very heart wrenching at times. I have also read 'Georgia', brilliant also, 'Ellie', which was not my favourite as I did not like the ending at all. I still have 3 more of her books to read, so hopefully they are as good.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
I really enjoyed the story of Rosie. Some of the details are really harrowing but true to life. I could not put it down from start to finish.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2002
Rosie, has to be one of the most gripping reads ever.A real tear jerker and at times harrowing story of a young girl who after an immense ammount of heartache and betrayal by people she loved comes out the otherside as a strong and determined young lady who lets absoutely nothing stand in her way whatever the cost.One of the best books written by Lesley Pearse yet.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2005
This was the second Lesley Pearce book which I have read and it lived up to my high expectations. I have since gone on to eagerly read others. Lesley Pearce is such an amazing author, with the characters in this book seeming so incredibly real. It has a fantastic storyline and your heart reaches out to Rosie as she experiences and witnesses terrible cruelty. A very emotional read!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85
£7.99
£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.