Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars58
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2013
A very different book by Fleming, but no doubt he was a creative genius. I've simply no idea how they made the film from this manuscript!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Having managed to get hold of all the previous cd books in this collection (13/14) i was extreamly happy to finaly track down number 14 The Spy Who Loved Me.For some reason this was the only one that was very hard to come across and though 2nd hand it arrived in mint condition within a couple of days and at a bargain price around £11 including postage.Would highly reccomend seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
A complete change for Bond, who stumbles into the story - written from the heroine's perspective - almost half way through, but an enjoyable romp nonetheless.

His usual savour faire carries the day and his arrival acts as the catalyst for a story which rapidly develops into the dramatic action finish the build up deserved.

Very different, but enjoyable stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
This is an unusual Ian Fleming novel as it is written from the point of view of a female protagonist. James Bond makes his entrance three quarters of the way into the story. However the female perspective is entirely convincing and the narrative compelling.
I could not put the book down; started to read it after breakfast and had read it by tea time. Fab!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2000
This is a great book that really gives you a down to earth version of everyone's favorite spy. The book is told through the eyes of a young woman who has been burned by the cruel hand of love. Then enter the villans two gangsters who threaten to rape and kill her. But it's Bond to the rescue. And the next fifty pages fly by faster than you can imagine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 1998
This book, however different from the other Bond books, was very good reading. Told from a girl's point of view instead of the usual third person, it was a change from the usual. The gun scene with the two hoods was excellently written, and the part where Bond enters in is very relieving. I think that the ending could have been better, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Really enjoyed this one. I always avoided it during my youth as being a tad boring, it isn't. This is a perfect medium to enjoy the story Bond being an incidental character (but a pivotal one as he saves her life) in her story. It also reinforces the fact that two professional killers are more than a match for the real and very human James Bond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
Remember reading this in my teens. Different to all the other Bond books as the action is played out all over one night. Takes a bit of time to get in to as you learn about the main character, not Bond but a young lady who's experienced a typical life of let downs thus far when it comes to relationships. As good as I remembered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
A great read, a bit racy in places and touches on some difficult subjects. Not like the other Fleming Bond novels, quite refreshing. There is one line toward the end of the book referencing rape that I found very difficult but it is very much a book of it's time and reveals yet another aspect of Bond's character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
Ok so its not your typical Bond story. (Its Written from the view of the love intrest.)But so what its still a very sound and enjoyable story.
Its main characters are really well defined.
Vivenne Michel is one of the most complex bond girls Fleming ever created
The two vilains Sol "Horror" Horrorwitz & Sluggsy Morant are two of the most repulsive thugs to ever appear in a Bond novel.
James Bond himself is at probebly his most human in this book than at any other time in the Fleming series.
The plot may seem mundane by today standerds burning down a motel for the insurence, but even so it is an extremly tence read from page 81 onwards. The first section is almost detached from the main story itself.
Appart from this one flaw that keeps this book from gaining a 5 star rateing and it suffering from a lot of bad press this is a good book to losse yourself in for an hour and a half.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse