Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Malcolm learned....
One man's opinion, Malcolm Gladwell is at his best when writing essays for magazines (notably The New Yorker) or when writing Outliers: The Story of Success, his most recently published book. (I do not share others' enthusiasm for his earlier books, The Tipping Point and Blink.) In it, he provides a rigorous and comprehensive examination of the breakthrough research...
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by Robert Morris

versus
70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the Gladwell fan saw
I have followed Malcolm Gladwell for a long time, and look forward to reading his work. He is thoughtful, lateral, creative. He writes simply and conveys difficult concepts simply. Gladwell has become an important writer. And for me Outliers has been one of my most important reads of the last few years.

All the same, with What the dog saw, Malcolm could do...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Rbby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the Gladwell fan saw, 28 Nov 2009
I have followed Malcolm Gladwell for a long time, and look forward to reading his work. He is thoughtful, lateral, creative. He writes simply and conveys difficult concepts simply. Gladwell has become an important writer. And for me Outliers has been one of my most important reads of the last few years.

All the same, with What the dog saw, Malcolm could do better. Most of the articles I had previously read through the magazine that he writes for and I subscribe to. This could've been stated on the dust-sheet but wasn't. The book was great, Gladwell wrote it. But... I had read it before in New Yorker-size installments.

I'm now conflicted. I don't tire easily of reading the works of Malclom Gladwell. Repackaging old New Yorker copy to compile What the dog saw, and not making this clear to readers is unfair.

Gladwell and his publishers should be careful not to alienate their long-term loyalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly entertaining, nowhere near as good as his other work., 24 Oct 2010
By 
D. Cohen De Lara (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
If you're expecting a bundle of short essays in the style of 'blink' or 'the tipping point', you're going to be dissapointed. This book lacks the wit and wonder of Gladwell's best work. Instead, what you get is a series of only mildly entertaining stories about the life and work of a range of characters from all works of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take care!!, 1 May 2010
By 
Kindle Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I am a huge fan of Malcolm Gladwell, and have read all his books. However, take care, if you are a fan of Malcolm Gladwell, you will be disappointed in this book as most of the ideas have been re-written and expanded in his other books, and there will be very little that is new to you. If you are new to Malcolm Gladwell, this jumbled collection of short pieces is probably not the best place to start being blown away by his ideas and writing. This book is a pulling together of his articles, but as I said, all his good ideas have been expanded upon in his other books. I feel this book is a lazy money making exercise by Malcolm's publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Malcolm learned...., 13 Nov 2009
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
One man's opinion, Malcolm Gladwell is at his best when writing essays for magazines (notably The New Yorker) or when writing Outliers: The Story of Success, his most recently published book. (I do not share others' enthusiasm for his earlier books, The Tipping Point and Blink.) In it, he provides a rigorous and comprehensive examination of the breakthrough research conducted by Anders Ericsson and his associates at Florida State. One of the major research projects focuses on individuals who have "attained their superior performance by instruction and extended practice: highly skilled performers in the arts, such as music, painting and writing, sports, such as swimming, running and golf and games, such as bridge and chess." Geoff Colvin (in Talent Is Overrated) and Daniel Coyle (in The Talent Code) also discuss the same research.

In this volume, we have 19 of Gladwell's essays, all of which originally appeared in The New Yorker. They are organized within three Parts: Obsessives, Pioneers, and Other Varieties of Minor Genius (e.g. "The Pitchman: Ron Popeil and the Conquest of the American Kitchen"); Theories, Predictions, and Diagnoses (e.g. "Million-Dollar Murray: Why Problems Like Homelessness May Be Easier to Solve Than Manage"); and Personality, Character, and Intelligence (e.g. "Dangerous Minds: Criminal Profiling Made Easy"). In the Preface, Gladwell observes, "Curiosity about the inner life of other people's day-to-day work is one of the most funfamental of human impulses, and that same impulse is what led to the writing you now hold in your hands."

The title of the book is also the title of one of the essays in which Gladwell provides a profile of "The Dog Whisperer," Cesar Millan, the owner of the Dog Psychology Center in South-Central Los Angeles whose television program is now featured on the National Geographic channel. Although a long-time dog owner, I did not know - until reading this article - that dogs are really interested in humans. Interested, observes anthropologist Brian Hare, "to the point of obsession. To a dog, you are a giant walking tennis ball." Apparently to an extent no other animal can, a dog can "read" humans like the proverbial open book. What they "see" determines how they will react. The key to Millan's effectiveness with dogs is his understanding of their need for exercise, discipline, and affection. What he calls an "epiphany" occurred when he realized that they have their own psychology. For him, he realized this, it was "the most important moment in his life, because it was the moment when he understood that to succeed in the world he could not be just a dog whisperer. He needed to be a people whisperer." According to Gladwell, "A dog cares, deeply, which way your body is leaning. Forward or backward? Forward can be seen as aggressive; backward - even a quarter of an inch - means nonthreatening. It means you've relinquished what ethologists call an intentional movement to proceed forward." Ethologist Patricia McConnell and the author of The Other End of the Leash adds, "I believe they pay a tremendous amount of attention to how relaxed our face is and how relaxed our facial muscles are, because that's a big cue for them with each other."

Gladwell seems to have an insatiable curiosity about individuals, situations, and locations that may be, at least unitially, of little interest to others...until he shares what he has learned about them. Ketchup, for example. It is essential to my enjoyment of burgers, meatloaf, and french fries and yet I assumed that all ketchup is the same. Not so! In "The Ketchup Conundrum," Gladwell explains that tomato ketchup "is a nineteenth-century creation - the union of the English tradition of fruit and vegetable sauces and the growing American infatuation with the tomato. But what we know today as ketchup emerged outof a debate that raged in the first years of the last century over benzoate, a preservative widely used in the late-nineteenth century condiments." When I first read this essay in 2004, I was tempted to stop at this point. A debate about benzoate? A condiment controversy? Who cares? It is to Gladwell's credit that he rewarded my continuing to read the article by providing some truly interesting information about a subject in which I had little (if any) prior interest.

The next article in the anthology, "Blowing Up: How Nassim Taleb Turned the Inevitability of Disaster Into an Investment Strategy,"an article first published in 2002. Over a period of many months, Gladwell spent a great deal of time with Nassim Nicholas Taleb, founder and CEO of a hedge fund, Empirica Capital. "Taleb likes to quote David Hume: `No amount of observations of white swans can allow the inference that all swans are white, but the observation of a single black swan is sufficient to refute that conclusion.'...[Taleb] has constructed a trading philosophy predicated entirely on the existence of black swans, on the possibilty of some random, unexpected event sweeping the markets. He never sells options, then. He only buys them. He's never the one who can lose a great deal of money if GM stock suddenly plunges. Nor does her ever bet on the market moving in one direction or anitger. That would require Traleb to assume that he understands the market, and he doesn't." Years later, he wrote a book he called The Black Swan and during the subsequent financial crisis of 2008-2009 "made a staggering amount of money for his fund."

In this article and in all of the others, Gladwell demonstrates the skills of a world-class cultural anthropologist as he seeks out information from a wide variety of sources, interviews authorities on the given subject, observes behavior of those involved in the given activities, and then explains to the extent possible - in layman's terms - what the meaning and significance of what he has learned. Each article is a gem. Together in one volume, they are a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed loyal reader, 11 Nov 2009
By 
Quite clear this book was strategically released right after Outliers, from the same author. Outliers is a brilliant book and the editors clearly wanted to get ride on the good momentum that book created for the author. Unfortunately I feel in the trap. I read everything Malcolm releases but this book is not like his previous books (Tipping Point, Blink and Outliers). This is a collection of his publications in The New Yorker but they are no near as interesting or insightful as the stories from his previous books. Some of them as simply boring and you end up asking yourself what is the point of the last pages you've just read. Buy everything else Malcolm writes, just don't buy this book... Editors and Author simply got greedy for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, particularly for Gladwell agnostics., 29 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
I'm writing this as someone who had heard about Gladwell (who hasn't) but had not read anything of his until I picked this up in an airport bookshop just before a five hour flight. I thought it might be a way to pass the time, and it was much more than that.

(I felt it necessary to declare my ground immediately, given the number of Gladwell readers who seemed to be disappointed with this volume.)

This is indeed a collection of essays, and they may well be the embryos or the reworkings of other writing, but as a standalone collection, they have a recognisable theme which seems to me typical Gladwell, namely looking at old issues with fresh eyes. He is consistently interesting, he writes clearly and with insight and a genuine interest in the human beings in his stories - even the title story is really about the adults rather than the dog.

In short, I would recommend this to anyone who enjoyed things like the Undercover Economist, and to anyone who has no interest at all in reading Malcolm Gladwell. Just pretend he's someone else - you'll be very glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 20 July 2011
By 
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
A nice selection of articles on varying subjects written with his useually flair. The book as a whole is a little disjointed as a result of it's construction from articles and doesn't have the same flow as his others. Good for dipping into on the bus but in my opinion not in the same league as Outliers, Blink and Tipping Point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but frustrating, 3 Jan 2011
By 
K. Ennis (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
Gladwell writes well, and his method of illuminating topics by describing the stories of one or two individuals who have been affected by them is a good way of making each topic feel real and of highlighting the issues involved. But his refusal to ever reach a conclusion becomes increasingly annoying, leaving one wondering what the point of each story is. The moral of each essay seems to be nothing more than "life is a bit more complicated than it looks", and I expected more meat than that from a clearly intelligent and inquisitive writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic and interesting, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
I read Malcolm Gladwell's Blink! a while back, and although I found it quite interesting it did strike me as being an article that had been stretched to the length of full book. The was an awful lot of repetition to the point where I wanted to say "Enough! I get it already!"

So when I saw this book become available, which is a collection of his previous articles, I thought it would be more my cup of tea. I was right. The short articles in here are very interesting and they cover an amazing range of topics from ketchup to dangerous dogs. There isn't a duff article in the whole collection and Gladwell's writing style is entertaining and accessible. I hope he produces another similar collection in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as others make out..., 9 May 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What the Dog Saw: and other adventures (Paperback)
I appear to be in a minority when I say that I was not impressed by "Outliers". I also seem to be bucking the trend when I say that I really quite enjoyed this book. Not having the advantage of access to the New Yorker, a lot of these pieces are new to me so I found them interesting and thought provoking. Obviously there is little or no narrative running through the book so that makes it an ideal bedside read that you can pick up and put down at will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What the Dog Saw: and other adventures
What the Dog Saw: and other adventures by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 6 May 2010)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews