Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!
A very well-written insight into the London Ambulance Service and the reactions of those of us who use them which range from the hysterical to the utterly bizarre. The stories run the whole gamut of emotions too, from highly amusing to utter sadness. The format makes it easy to dip in and out of at any time - assuming you can put it down, that is :-)

Hoping...
Published on 4 Mar. 2010 by Sparklies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nee Naw Real life Dispatches from ambulance control
Was told this was the funniest book anybody had ever read. I didn't like it had the odd chuckle in it but mostly I felt sorry for everyone in it crew and patience alike. just a run of the mill book I thought, but perhaps it was sold to me in the wrong context.
If you like a good book I wouldn't bother with this one
Published 11 months ago by Irene M.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
A very well-written insight into the London Ambulance Service and the reactions of those of us who use them which range from the hysterical to the utterly bizarre. The stories run the whole gamut of emotions too, from highly amusing to utter sadness. The format makes it easy to dip in and out of at any time - assuming you can put it down, that is :-)

Hoping Ms. Brent writes more in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, everybody, what's that sound? Nee Naw, 27 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
If you ever ever wondered what happens when you say "Ambulance", whilst making a 999 call, then this is a book for you.

In fact, I think this should be a book for everyone - as the "rules" that you should abide by if you call 999, I think, must be taught to everybody. (I certainly did. I was once a "why are you asking me these silly questions" man but now, I know they are asked for a reason (even if I cannot answer them)

From the start, a bad day... to the end, (of the book, not the "story"), this book has laughter, fun, smiles... tears, horror, shock and moments of sheer amazement/disbelief - oh, and Bananas (Lots of them, some of them itchy!)

My suggestion? Read this, then go read "Blood, Sweat and a cup of tea" and its follow up. Then think the worst for (some of) humanity that wastes time, thus maybe killing people - then take the lesson that these books teach - If you need an ambulance, say for chest pains, then call... you will not be wasting someone's time... if you have cut your finger, got a cold, are drunk and need a lift home, or just plain annoying.... call someone else, or.. get a plaster, take cold remedy, call a taxi and sober up, or become a stand up comic....

To end. Buy this book, read it - Learn from it. (oh, and laugh, cry and enjoy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
As someone who has had to rely on the ambulance service to save my life on 3 separate occasions, this book was an utterly fascinating and compelling read and served to make me respect and admire these exceptional men and women even more than I already did.
Some stories were hilarious whilst others were truly heartbreaking. A brilliant insight into the world behind the 999 calls. Highly recommended and easy to read.
If you enjoy tales about the emergency services, then I would urge you to read Police, Crime & 999: The True Story of a Front Line Officer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When's the next book?, 28 April 2010
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
I saw a review in a magazine about this book 'Neenaw' so went out and purchased it. I'm very glad i did, it has had a huge impact in the way i see the ambulance service and the general public for that matter.It really makes you wonder whether this world has gone mad when you read the stories of the 'regular 999 callers'. I couldn't put this book down until i had finished it, Suzi brent really does explain things in a comical and laugh out loud way, but there is also a serious tone to the stories being explained. Excellent book, i hope she writes more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Nee Naw, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
N. Turner "yaruar" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
If you've ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes when you dial 999 then this is the place to find out. Often tragic, always stressful, sometimes funny, this is the best (possibly the only) insight into the day to day existance of the people you never get to see on Hospital Dramas. The blog this is based on has a huge following for good reason and the book should be a must read by anyone who wants to know what goes on behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly compelling, 1 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. Edward Allison (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
My copy arrived from Amazon today and I have had trouble putting it down. A valuable insight into a world dealt with daily by the ambulance service. The rest of us had better be very glad indeed that these people are there to help us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rattled through this at the speed of a 999 call, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suzi's book is initially about her experience as the first point of contact - the person at Ambulance control answering the 999 calls from the desperate to the nutty and all points in between.

Everything that you would expect is here - the funny stories, the stories that tug at your heart strings and the utterly frivolous waste of time calls. Clinical need runs from those suffering a heart attack whose call starts with "sorry to bother you" through to those who have a paper cut jumping up and down (figurativeely) demanding an Ambulance.

Later in the book Suzi moves into the chess game that is Ambulance dispatch and allocation constantly managing her resources so that her area is ready for whatever is thrown at it. There is also a very informative section on the perfect 999 call from her point of view.

The first story you read is her experience of the London bombings and how control handled it which puts a sobering background to the rest of the book. You sometimes hear people complaining about the speed of Ambulance response to their major (in reality trivial) injury but the fact is when the chips are down and you have something properly wrong with you there will be an entire hospital's worth of equipment beside you within minutes - this book explains how that happens. Despite huge effort there are cases that just don't make it - the story of the toddler pulled out of the swimming pool being a case in point.

This book is complementary to, and should be read in conjunction with, Blood, Sweat and Tea: Real Life Adventures in an Inner-city Ambulance and More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea (or the compendium of both Sirens).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quick and easy read, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
Olav "?" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
As the title helpfully explains, these are "real life dispatches from ambulance control". But bear in mind, the author confesses that she sometimes elaborates when she tells stories. Having said that, let's move on to the book!

The narrator is one of those forunate people who by circumstance and accident finds herself in a job she never thought she'd have, but that she grows to love and master. She is very honest and down to earth in her retelling of her experiences as a call taker. She shares her uncertainties before new assignments and her feeling of accomplishment after a job well done.

The book is based on a blog and, for better or worse, it shows. The chapters are short, some of them as short as 6-8 lines with the longest chapters being 3-4 pages long. Not an immersive read then, but given the subject matter that isn't necessarily a bad thing. Some of the stories are harrowing, and I had to put the book down several times because i welled up.

As for the stories themselves they are dramatic (the first story is about the bombings in London in 2005), funny, sweet, disgusting (Mr. Halfpenny!) and moving. She touches on prank callers, children as callers and patients, rude callers, psychiatric cases etc. (The list goes on!) As a bonus she advices on the correct behaviour as a caller and explains why they have to ask the seemingly stupid questions.

I heartily recommend this book! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New New is Fantastic., 4 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
I've just finished reading Suzi's book and I can honestly say I loved it. Although I've been reading her blog for years I found myself laughing out loud and actually moved to tears.

I know that I should write something lovely because Suzi is a great friend and a really nice person but that's not the reason I'mw riting this. Nee Naw is a bloody good book which is an easy read and really has heart. If you want to read about something important and useful for a change. Read Nee Naw (then buy lots of copies for your friends and family)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'hop on hop off' insight into ambulances., 30 Dec. 2012
By 
A. Keith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control (Paperback)
An exceptionally well written insight into the vital work most of us spend most of our lives ignoring. As a commuter I'm a big fan of 'blog style' books I can easily dip in and out of, and was pleasantly surprised with some of the continuity in this title - some of the people (/patients) featured throughout could have easily been short stories in themselves. This book does an excellent job of really making you think about the jobs (and lives) of those in the ambulance service, and offers a very good mix of emotions, tales, time wasters, and those who steadfastly refuse to call for help. An excellent read, and one which I would say everyone should try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control
Nee Naw: Real Life Dispatches From Ambulance Control by Suzi Brent (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews