Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, moving and very funny
More than a touch autobiographical, this is perhaps Nancy Mitford's most moving book. The writing is sublime, and the emotions completely heartfelt, especially the end of Linda's story.

Yes, the family is aristocratic, snobbish and enamoured of hunting, but they're also loving, witty and close ranks whenever anyone tries to prise them apart. Mitford is...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Roman Clodia

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
I really enjoyed this book. However, the kindle version is full of mistakes and inconsistencies which was very distracting and annoying.
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Laineybobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, moving and very funny, 12 July 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
More than a touch autobiographical, this is perhaps Nancy Mitford's most moving book. The writing is sublime, and the emotions completely heartfelt, especially the end of Linda's story.

Yes, the family is aristocratic, snobbish and enamoured of hunting, but they're also loving, witty and close ranks whenever anyone tries to prise them apart. Mitford is especially good at articulating the generation clash as she, her sisters, cousins and friends confront, side-step and sometimes overturn completely social conventions.

This is one of those books that you can return to again and again and it's still magical, moving and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Cedric please!, 22 July 2014
By 
Miss S. Gorton "Garbo" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
** spoiler alert ** I enjoyed this book immensely!

As a follow-on from The Pursuit of Love, Fanny once again narrates the love life of one of her relatives - though this time a rather distant relation. Set in the same time period as the Pursuit of love, it's amazing how one can seem so youthful and unapologeticly adolescent with ideals of love, and the other so much more mature.. and practical. In The Pursuit of Love, Fanny watches Linda from afar, and although she narrates Linda's story, Linda's voice is also very strong within the novel. With Love In A Cold Climate, it's almost reversed. Fanny narrates Polly's journey towards marriage, and the aftermath, but distinctly, Polly is mainly spoken of through Fanny's narration and the retelling of conversations through other characters, or she is conversing with Fanny herself. Polly's voice is dampened by the fact that we rarely hear her speak for herself. This reflects both the personalities of Linda and Polly in their own respective novels, but what the almost silence of Polly allows in Love In A Cold Climate is that we hear so much more about Fanny and her courtship and marriage with Alfred. We hear more about her family life and her thoughts, which I found to be a lot more interesting than Polly's affairs.

What I would have loved for there to be more of was the appearance of Cedric. I will admit that I purchased Mitford's novels because I wanted to read Love In a Cold Climate - I had heard that the character Cedric was inspired by Mitford's friend and Bright Young Thing, Stephen Tennant, who I am enamored with. His character is so intriguing, that it would have been a great joy to have him fill more of the pages, and also for him to have a more dynamic social setting - that he didn't meet Polly at the end of the book was heartbreaking! What if he could transform her character like he did Lady Montdore?! That would have been perfect!

Nevertheless, the take-away feeling is that I loved this novel, and am set to continue reading all the fictional volumes of Mitford available! In this addition, I particularly LOVE the cover! I believe that 5 of her novels are in this design, of which I am intent of collecting them all! I am only disapointed that some of her earlier novels are not available indicually in this design - what an attractive set it would have been on my bookshelf!

The only thing I fear with reading Mitford, is that I have read two books so far, and in both there is a death in the last few pages... is this something I shall have to prepare myself for the rest of her novels?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Austen had written in the 1940s, she would have been Nancy Mitford, 18 Aug 2009
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
Love in a Cold Climate is the 2nd in the trilogy written by Nancy Mitford (the 1st being The Pursuit of Love and the 3rd Don't Tell Alfred). I read it after The Pursuit of Love, and unfortunately the comparison doesn't favour Love in a Cold Climate: I found The Pursuit of Love wittier, more enteratining and roaring of laughter-funny. I'm sure that if I had read Love in a Cold Climate alone, I would have appreciated it more, because it is a wonderful, witty, funny and incredible book. I enjoyed it very much.

Nancy Mitford's writing style is very unique and highly enjoyable. Her dry wit and sarcastic humour reminded me sometimes of Jane Austen, the way she made fun of some of her ridiculous characters (Mrs. Elton in Emma, Mr. Collins or Lady Catherine de Bourgh in Pride and Prejudice).

Definitely worth reading, but check out The Pursuit of Love also, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 20 Feb 2011
I really enjoyed this book. However, the kindle version is full of mistakes and inconsistencies which was very distracting and annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love in a Cold Climate, 20 Nov 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
This humorous novel features some of the characters from The Pursuit of Love; most notably Fanny, friend of Linda Radlett and her family. In this book, Fanny recounts her friendship with Polly, the only and much beloved daughter of Lord and Lady Montdore. Sadly, as their only child is a girl, she cannot inherit their estate, which is entailed on the unknown Cedric Hampton, a distant relative from Nova Scotia.

When Polly makes a marriage which both shocks society and is totally against her mother's wishes, she is forced abroad. Fanny, now married to her beloved Alfred, an Oxford don, settles down to a life of comfortable domesticity. Yet, she still sees Lady Montdore, whose whole reason for living - to see her daughter advantageously married - has been taken from her. Suddenly, though, she finds a new lease of life with the arrival of the dreaded heir to Hampton...

This is, like all Nancy Mitford novels, uncompromising in its sharp and unsentimental humour. However, also like the best of her work, it is human and very moving. There are many types of love, but the best give people a reason for living and, in this novel, Mitford explores marriage, relationships and friendship with an unflinching honesty. Again, the Radlett family and Fanny's Uncle Davey, bring much of the humour to the pages, which is a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of typos, not worth a penny, let alone £6.99., 19 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved this hilarious book for 40 years and I looked forward to reading it on my new Kindle. What a disappointment to find Mitford's brilliant, precise prose has been filled with typos. It is unacceptable to pay £6.99 for such carelessness. I want my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Pressure to Marry Well Was Always Great, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
"Love in a Cold Climate," is certainly one of the most popular novels written by blue-blooded British author Nancy Mitford who was very popular in the earlier twentieth century. If you consider England between first and second world wars, few girls were as famous as the Mitfords, five beautiful daughters of a well-known upper class "county family" as you on this side of the pond would probably call them. Nancy, writer of the family, knew her debutante balls well. In fact, she later came up with a way to define English social class by defining speech as "U"for upper class; and "non-U" for those who weren't.

The Mitford girls, Nancy tells us, were "brought up to marry, not fall in love." Unfortunately, of the actual Mitford girls, only one did as she was expected to do. Deborah (Debo) married the eleventh Duke of Devonshire. Unity, however, hung around Germany, striking up warmer friendships with the Nazis, and expressing herself more forcefully in their support, than suited the British public. Diana went and married Sir Oswald Mosley, leader of the British fascists, who was "detained" for WWII. Jessica ran off to Hollywood, no less, took American citizenship, and wrote the whistle-blowing American Way of Death, a heavily influential indictment of the funeral business. Nancy did marry an "Honorable," but then she turned around and published The Pursuit of Love, and LOVE IN A COLD CLIMATE, two slender novels, only novella length really, that pretty well blew the whistle on society, and on the novelist's family, the real-life Mitfords.

For everyone agrees that the central family of these novels, the Radletts, are the Mitfords to the life. Eccentric, choleric father; vague amiable mother; clamorous, animal-loving, quicksilver charming children. In LOVE IN A COLD CLIMATE, Polly Hampton has long been prepared for the perfect marriage by her mother, the frighteningly ambitious Lady Montdore. But Polly, with her great beauty and perfect upper-crust connections, is bored to tears by her fashionable London debut season. Polly has just come from India, you see, where her father served as Viceroy; she claims to have hoped that society in a colder climate would be less obsessed with the pursuit of love. But our Polly, seemingly so aloof, has a long-held secret that leads to the death of her mother's dreams and her own disinheritance. However, an elderly duke begins pursuing the disgraced Polly; a callow potential heir curries favor with her parents. Nothing goes as you might expect, but in the end everyone finds their own unconventional ideas of happiness.

Mind you, the pressure to marry well was always great. At one point, a powerful peeress advises Fanny, the narrator,"'Don't you go marrying anybody, for love. Remember that love cannot last; it never, never does; but if you marry all this it's for your life. One day, don't forget,you'll be middle-aged and think what that must be like for a woman who can't have, say, a pair of diamond earrings. A woman of my age needs diamonds near her face, to give a sparkle. Then at mealtimes, sitting with all the unimportant people for ever and ever. And no car. Not a very nice prospect,you know.'"

But Fanny, our narrator, hardly seems to need warning. She remarks at one point, "Always be civil to the girls, you never know who they may marry," is an aphorism which has saved many an English spinster from being treated like an Indian widow."

On a deeper level, however, Fanny seems to reflect her creator's ambivalence on whether to marry for love, or "all this." But there's still substantial ambivalence on that question.

LOVE IN A COLD CLIMATE is certainly chick lit, but it is also one of Nancy Mitford's most beloved novels. It is a sparkling romantic comedy, bright and charming that vividly evokes the lost glamour of aristocratic life in England between the wars. It seems to pick up right where TV's Upstairs Downstairs - The Complete Series [DVD] [1971] left off. Not to mention Evelyn Waugh's Vile Bodies (Penguin Modern Classics), and Brideshead Revisited: The Sacred and Profane Memories of Captain Charles Ryder. Trust me, if you liked them, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of Kindle edition., 22 Nov 2010
By 
L. Bailey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I`ve loved this book for as long as I can remember, and was thrilled to find the Kindle edition. I am so disappointed; it`s littered with enormously distracting typographical errors and spelling mistakes. Obviously a rushed job, and as such, a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a tongue in cheek story of thin characters and great fun. It speeds along, tripping through the story with larger than life characters. It is peppered with little pieces taken probably from her own life and characters that she had known. It is frivolous and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing comedy of love and manners, 15 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Love in a Cold Climate (Paperback)
Rather to my surprise, I enjoyed this book immensely. It is the story of Fanny and her relationship with the Montdores, particularly the beautiful daughter, Polly, and her mother, in their search for love. It is still very funny; it made me laugh out aloud a few times. The language is a little dated (eggy-peggy; I'm aching; can I bend you), but even that becomes quaint after a while. It's written in a breathless, charming style, and all the characters are vivid and memorable. Still, remember, eat the rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love in a Cold Climate
Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews