Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SarahB
This two books in one is great value for money - you need to have 'Now' with it as well as I recommend that you read them one after the other. The stories are amazing, written with simplicity but with depth at the same time - you won't want to put it down. Recommend for older teenagers through to the eldest of readers. 10/10 ***** Enjoy this fantastic author.
Published on 24 July 2010 by SarahB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
I have enjoyed this book, I wish Zelda hadn't of died I really liked her well done Morris gleitman!!!!!!!!!! I really understand how people felt in those days it's so morbid. No wonder Felix made up all them stories if you don't have hope what do you have? Everyone deserves hope and I can only hope that there are people in this world who have/had hope.🌠 Xxxxxxxxxx
Published 13 months ago by Kaia lonergan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SarahB, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
This two books in one is great value for money - you need to have 'Now' with it as well as I recommend that you read them one after the other. The stories are amazing, written with simplicity but with depth at the same time - you won't want to put it down. Recommend for older teenagers through to the eldest of readers. 10/10 ***** Enjoy this fantastic author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know how when..., 20 Jun 2011
By 
J. Carey (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
Amazing amazing amazing. This is a fantastic book, buy it. I love it, the kids in my class (Y6) loved it, you'll love it. I dare you not to have a lump in your throat...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic read for older children. I loved the fact that each chapter started with the title of the book. I laughed and I cried and I couldn't put it down til the end. The best thing was, that this book got my 12 year old son who was a reluctant reader hooked too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affecting, Engaging, Compelling, 27 Mar 2011
By 
C. Hawkes "Livefats" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
The packaging together of Morris Gleitzman's two novels in the series, Once and Then makes for a very integrated read (the third, Now, is available separately.)

Gleitzman has adopted a hugely effective voice and tone for his novel. The narrator, Felix, a 10 year old boy in Nazi-controlled Poland is believable and empathetic: and the way in which his world picture and naivety is challenged and changed without loss of optimism and hope, despite the dreadful events that surround him, makes for a read which is at times funny, devastating, but ultimately life-affirming.

This is a story about the potential of human beings to be monsters and saints; the power of storytelling; and the triumph of the human spirit in the most appalling of contexts, the Holocaust. I think this is an important series. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart rending and hilarious, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
Read this rather than "The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas" for a child suitable (ages 10+) book about the holocaust which will also appeal to adults.
Morris Gleitzman has written a wonderful series of books (of which "Once" is the first) which are very readable despite their challenging subject matter. His narrator is a young Jewish boy, Felix, who has a passion for books, especially the "Just William" stories of Richmal Crompton. Poor Felix has been hidden by his parents in a Catholic orphanage and does not know what is going on in the wider world. When he escapes from the orphanage to search for his beloved parents he slowly begins to understand what is happening to Jews and anyone who opposes the Nazis and we are gradually presented with the horrors of life in Nazi controlled eastern Europe. Along the way he meets people both good and bad and takes on the care of a young orphaned German girl named Zelda.
Gleitzman does a wonderful job of letting us, along with Felix, slowly understand the realities of the Nazi regime as it touches the lives of everyone, though, with our greater knowledge of the situation, we continually fear for Felix, who has no one left to trust but his heroine, Richmal Crompton. However, he is a brave and resourceful boy and his tragic story is made bearable for the reader through his own humour and the good and kind people he encounters along the way.
Gleitzman explains he was inspired by the story of Janusz Korczak, a Polish man who stayed with the orphans for whom he cared when they were deported from the Warsaw ghetto to the Treblinka death camp; his achievement in these books is to show how good is better than evil and will rise above it in the most dire and dreadful of circumstances. Though simple in its presentation, this is no lightweight book and ranks alongside classics of the genre like The Silver Sword and I Am David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
A really good read. My 10 yr old was reading this book at school & he was really in to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me cry!, 20 Dec 2009
This review is from: Once & Then (Paperback)
A very emotional and touching look into the Holocaust, through the eyes of an innocent, naive child. The matter is handled delicately and so sweetly childish that some parts make you laugh through your tears. This is a gorgeous piece of literature, a true gem of a book from Morris Gleitzman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great it has a kindle version, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once and Then (Kindle Edition)
Great it has a kindle version. My some hates reading so hoping a kindle version might help. Needs to read it for summer holiday homework. Older daughter said its good so hopefully he will find it good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once and Then (Kindle Edition)
I think this book is absolutely brilliant, made me smile and cry together. I really enjoyed reading and I can't wait to get the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Jones "steve jones" (liverpool england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once and Then (Kindle Edition)
My son who is aged 11 started reading the first book in one of their classes at school and he was telling me how good it was. He wanted to finish the book over the easter holidays so i bought him a copy. He finished them both in one sitting he has also read the other books in the series to complete the story and he said it is a fantastic story. I will be reading it myself soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once & Then
Once & Then by Morris Gleitzman (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews