Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK
I first became aware of this book in the 'latest releases' section of a high street bookshop. Being an ex.tankie I was fascinated but the price put me off buying it there and then. Consequently I bought through Amazon where I found the book to be super value for money.
With regards to the book itself i'll review it from two angles, as an ex-tank crewman and as a...
Published on 9 Sept. 2010 by L/Cpl Lewis Ex-1RTR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some that I've read
I was looking forward to this book having read others on the subject that mentioned the part played by the MBT, however, I found that the book wasn't really holding my attention and I was reading simply to get to the end not because the subject matter was holding my attention. I don't know if this was because the booik was poorly written or constructed or because I was in...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. M. Hatherell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 9 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
I first became aware of this book in the 'latest releases' section of a high street bookshop. Being an ex.tankie I was fascinated but the price put me off buying it there and then. Consequently I bought through Amazon where I found the book to be super value for money.
With regards to the book itself i'll review it from two angles, as an ex-tank crewman and as a general public reader.
As an ex.tank crewman I found the content rivetting. For example, on the very first operation into 'enemy territory' there was so much I had difficulty in comprehending. I couldn't believe that a squadron of 12 tanks costing £5m each, plus the 48 lives supported by more back up including infantry, would make a probe along an exposed and ELEVATED road, including the crossing of numerous bridges. It would have been so easy for an organised enemy to blow at least one of those bridges resulting in a critical situation. Yet this is just one of many examples where all the run-of-the-mill training for conventional warfare rulebook is thrown away. For these examples alone, the book makes interesting reading. What I found deeply frustrating for a book costing this much, is the dire lack of illustrations, both photographic and line drawings. I would recommend a separate map of each operation and line drawings of the action where photographs aren't available. I won't spoil your read by giving any more details other than to say, if you are an .ex squaddie, tankie or not, then you will really enjoy this book.
For a member of the general public I offer this review. It was Sir Winston Churchill who once said of the Battle of Britain pilots 'never in the field of human conflict has so much been owed by so many to so few' and rightly so. Most of those pilots were in their late teens and early 20s. How often do you hear people say that there are no young men of their calibre around today? I suggest you read this book and you will see that there are indeed many young men doing exactly that today in Afghanistan as well as in the period covered in this book. You will read of how it feels to take the lives of others who want to take yours. You will discover how the feeling of security gained from going to war in the best tank in the world can also turn into the realisation that your protector could also become your coffin. If you know of someone who served in the Gulf, then I heartily recommend this book. If you don't know anyone who served in Iraq then I still recommend this book because you will discover what the word 'Hero' actually means. As you read the story, put yourself in their position and imagine how you would feel. Then, when these guys come home, go out on the street and applaud their courage and committment to ensuring that you lead a safe and secure life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Main Battle Tank, 4 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
This is a penetrating analysis of tank warfare and for anybody remotely interested in military history is a book that must be read. The details of the magnificent Challenger tank and its formidable weaponry are closely researched and the book is made all the better by the clear respect the men have for it and for each other. Because we get to know the real characters, there is a feeling that you are with them not only in Iraq but also in their actions not to mention ordeals.
Most of all there is a wonderful appreciation of what those officers and men went through and of their abundant courage. The author has given us the privilege of an insight into the minds of young eighteen year old raw recruits as well as into those of battle hardened warriors and leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heat of Battle, 28 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
Great read - this is not a dry military history ("meanwhile A Platoon took Objective A, while B Platoon took Objective B etc etc) , instead it introduces you to the participants, fleshes them out, and then gets you right into the heat of battle alongside them. Thus you sympathise with their dilemmas,decision making and daily routine, and each death or injury hits home. But nor is it an Andy McNab "I grabbed the GPMG and blew away 50 ragheads, their entrails splattering my night vision goggles" testosterone - fest.

Really a form of micro - history, and therefore very different from most books of this kind - perhaps the closest comparison is "Junior Officers' Reading Club", but without the occasionally irritating style of that book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Main Battle Tank, 10 May 2011
By 
Mr. Rowan Somerville "rowansomerville" (never you mind) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Paperback)
I think previous reviewers have summed up the excellence and gripping nature of this book...I just want to add this...if you are having trouble getting your 14 year old teenaged lad off the xbox (and probably the odd porn site) and wish he would start reading a BOOK -why not forget trying to make the poor fellow wrestle with Hamlet and Pride and Prejudice and and get him Main Battle Tank . The english is exemplary and although you may have t prevent him signing up in another senseless war -at least he will realise that books can be gripping and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of war that re enforces the value of The British Army's Regimental heritage, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I hoped to enjoy living through the experiences of many Soldiers and Officers in modern warfare. The book does not disappoint! What is special about the book is the way the author has created a fast paced thriller of non fiction. It is difficult to put the book down. It blends thousands of hours of interviews into a very real and humbling account of multiple battles and actions during the 2nd Gulf War. One significant observation from reading Main Battle Tank is how significant a role the Regimental structure of the British Army plays. Familiarity breeds anything but contempt - in this account, the familiarity brought about by a regimental family saved lives, induced a huge sense of loyalty to one another, and most importantly demonstrated the importance of moral values on the battlefield.

This book reads as easily as a top selling fiction novel, whilst giving a down to earth and transparent account of the the 2nd Gulf war through the eyes of one Regiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Main Battle Tank A Direct Hit!, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
If you are a Tank Buff, a SDG Fan, or just like a fine story on the use of armor in 2003 in Iraq, here, at last, is the book for you! Well written it describes the Scots Dragoon Guards journey once again to war and includes details of the Irish Guards work with them. If I have any problem with the book it tends to stick 90% to the role of the Officers and senior NCOs at the expense of the Troopers that fought along side them. They all did a fine job under stressful to say the least conditions and the book does a good job of describing this. Five Stars, long over due!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont judge a book by its cover, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
As a reasonably serious military history bore I was a touch nervous that Main Battle Tank might be a bit too Andy McNab for me. Having now read quite a few of the Iraq and Afghanistan books on the circuit I found them in two camps, either shoot em up or written by ex-soldiers, which while interesting often are a little siloed and can be hard to read. This along with the Sebastian Junger book about Afghanistan were the two standout histories I have read. A serious book, meticulously researched and brilliantly written. I struggled to give the family the required attention during the two or three days it took to read and have paid the price the last couple of weeks. Well worth it! I have bought three copies for friends who were there, feedback from them is positive too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Main Battle Tank, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
My father encouraged me to buy this book for my husband - and I am so glad that I did. He was unable to put the book down and said it was not only incredibly well researched and detailed but also extraordinarily empathetic. A must read for anyone interested in Military History and for those who are moved by acts of courage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Main Battle Tank, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Hardcover)
The Challenger cannot be described as a Ronson or Tommy Cooker. It is a superlative machine comprising 75 tonnes of cutting edge technology. One would have thought that that would have been the end of the story. Iraq was facing the coalition of the willing. Battle over. Not so. The crews experienced an alien environment of urban warfare where combat was undertaken at such close proximity to the enemy and civilians that the traditional advantages of armour were negated. I was impressed by the sheer professionalism of the British Army in the face of determined and fanatical resistance on the part of the enemy. This is a book not to be missed as the author puts you right in the centre of the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on recent conflict, 30 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Main Battle Tank (Paperback)
This is genuinely one of the best reads on recent warfare and conflicts that I've read in a long time (and I've read a few recently), my second eldest son is shortly joining the Royal Armoured Corps which is one of the main reasons for reading this, but irrespective of this it's a superb book -even my eldest thumbed through it and mentioned that 'it looked alright' and he's in the Paras and anyone who knows the British forces know what they're all like :) Well worth the money and good to read a different perspective on warfare, taken from another view other than the good old infantryman -buy it, it's mint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Main Battle Tank
Main Battle Tank by Niall Edworthy (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews