Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book by a wonderful man
I loved this book. I have been eagerly awaiting it ever since I read Moab is my Washpot which was wonderful, but left you wanting more. Well I still want more because this book only takes you up to 1987. Nevertheless it is a fantastic combination of funny stories, brutal honesty about himself, loving descriptions of the people he met along the way, a description of...
Published on 23 Sept. 2010 by LadyD

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather upsetting
Like many other readers, I loved Moab when I first read it about 10 years ago, and I still do re-read it now. Given SF's ability as a writer, both in memoir, articles ('Paperweight') and novels, I was really looking forward to more of the same oblique wit in The Fry Chronicles. Alas! I was disappointed. To put it simply, there are far too many words, and not enough...
Published on 16 April 2013 by Stravaganza


‹ Previous | 123 24 2533 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull., 21 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Paperback)
Dull. Having enjoyed his first two autobiographies I was excited to get this. How disappointed I was. There first part is a reprise of the previous books. The last 50% copies from a repetitive diary from 1993. That left about 10% of interest. I got to the end and felt sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Like A Good Read, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Gayl MacKinnon (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband as a Christmas gift and he loves it. He immediately opened it to look at all the pictures, lol. He hasn't actually started to read it yet but I know it will be a good read and funny as well. Stephen Fry has a wonderful, witty sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fry chronicles, 7 May 2013
I love the pure 'fryness' (is that a word?) of the book. My first ebook purchase and i love the instant dictionary, saves carrying the extra book around :-D I did pay the extra £2 for the video add on but so far have been unable to make that bit work! So a little frustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Paperback)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Hardcover)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erudite. brilliant, self deprecating Fry, 27 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Paperback)
This book is written in such a way to bring the reader along a story of the early life of the redoubtable Mr. Fry, it will make you laugh out loud and i would not discount some lower lip wobble from the male readers at times. The book is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good door stop..., 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. D. Chakravarti "Book worm" (Berkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Hardcover)
What utter tosh and how disappointing from overtly so intelligent a fellow! I used to be a great fan of SFry - not any more. This book does him no favours: he has been self loving and masochistic at the same time, trying to endear himself to the reader but it is so coarse in parts that I was nearly physically sick! I persevered because of my love of him but I couldn't finish it, so appalling did I find it.

Noone cares about your self aggrandising and concomittantly self deprecating attitude Stephen, so do grow up.

An utter waste of money - will serve well as a door stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed. I admired Stephen Fry for his openness re, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Fry Chronicles (Paperback)
So disappointed. I admired Stephen Fry for his openness re. depression as it's such a terrible illness, but this book has really put me off this gentleman. Self-indulgent, money-making crap. If I could submit "no star" I would. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2533 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fry Chronicles
The Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry (Audio CD - 14 Oct. 2010)
£18.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews