Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baby Names
A very good book overall, but a lot of the names are so way-out I can't imagine anyone using them!!
Published on 3 Aug 2010 by Margaretelam

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An awful lot of made up names!
A great idea but I found it has an awful lot of made-up & silly names in, it also has every possible spelling of more traditional names meaning the '5,000 names' are probably more like '4,500 stupid / made up / alternatively spelt names & 450 you may consider okay, and 50 you may consider using...'
Published on 8 July 2011 by Miss Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An awful lot of made up names!, 8 July 2011
By 
Miss Robinson (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great idea but I found it has an awful lot of made-up & silly names in, it also has every possible spelling of more traditional names meaning the '5,000 names' are probably more like '4,500 stupid / made up / alternatively spelt names & 450 you may consider okay, and 50 you may consider using...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baby Names, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
A very good book overall, but a lot of the names are so way-out I can't imagine anyone using them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most boring names you could possibly find, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
This book is great if you want to name a 60 year old.... I didn't find any cute names that really jumped out at me
5000 names most of which are just variations of others that have already been mentioned
For example Matt - see Matthew or Fay - see Faye
It's also got SO MANY names that nobody would ever name their kid!! Like Ham!! A shortened version of Abraham...Seriously..... Ham??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
R. J. Love (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
Hi! This book is a little gem - really friendly, beautifully done, informative without being overwhelming, and a bargain! It's also really up to date - it includes Barack and Malia, as well as other 'celebrity' names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Name Book, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
Great little book. This has great names to help you choose your new baby a beautiful name suited to them. Has modern and old names and some really quirky ones too. Great descriptions of name origins and other information. Would recommned as at a reasonably price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its OK., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
Having already bought two other books of names, which were disappointingly limited, I expected the Penguin book to be fully comprehensive. It wasn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well what can you say about a baby naming book, lots of names to choose from can't ask for more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best baby name book, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
Mediocre - yes there are lots of names but some are variations which didn't really need to be listed as several different names, if you see what I mean. I did find lots of interesting girls names, but not so many for boys. We are looking for a traditional name for our baby. I have prepared a shortlist but we may yet buy another baby book. It's not a terrible book and it is very modern in its layout but I did expect more from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Baby names, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
It's a book with baby names as you would expect no modern names in it though but it has lots of names
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helps me with the Sims, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Baby Names (Paperback)
Bought because I was running out of names to call my Sims, great book, lots of new and traditional names.

Just what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Book of Baby Names
The Penguin Book of Baby Names by David Pickering (Paperback - 30 July 2009)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews