Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story that sheds light on orthodox Judaism, 16 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: The Chosen (Paperback)
In this tale of two New York Jewish boys growing up in the 40s, Chaim Potok weaves a whole analysis of the path of Judaism in the 20th Century.
The first chapter describes a schoolboy baseball game, which is disarmingly gripping. (I've rarely been more eager to find out who won.) It quickly moves on to deeper things, though, as the game sets the protagonist, Reuven, off on a journey as he gets to befriend a Hasidic contemporary of his: he has to try to understand an even stricter interpretation of Judaism than his own.
Potok does not just tell a beautiful story. He also manages to get the reader to empathise with something as potentially alienating as Hasidism. As a Christian, I for one feel as if I now understand my Jewish friends a little better, both those who choose to follow their faith strictly and those who prefer a more liberal approach. The chapters in which the boys tussle with the Talmud are brilliantly vivid and really make one feel something of what it is like to give oneself over to this sacred text.
Being set in the 1940s, he also has much to say about the creation of the state of Israel and why that hit home so sharply in New York then.
This era is as beautifully recreated as the friendship between Reuven and Danny. Fascinatingly, women hardly feature in this book. The key relationships are between the boys and their fathers, and their relationship with each other: a kind of minor David and Jonathan.
A lovely, vivid, enlightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical book, 18 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A book group including both Jews and Christians discussed this lyrical book this autumn.

The title indicates the main theme: are we chosen or are we able to make choices? Being chosen has both positive and negative consequences; unpleasant obligations and rewarding privileges.

The novel is set between the final years of World War II and the creation of the state of Israel in 1948. It tells the story of two Jewish teenage boys in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Reuven Malter is the son of a Talmudic scholar and Danny Saunders is the son of a hassidic rebbe, destined to succeed his father. Reuven's father says that a mind like Danny's is seen only once in a generation. Yet, despite his destiny as a tzadik, Danny wants to roam free, to explore everything there is to learn in the world, yet he believes that he carries the burden of his people on his shoulders.

These are not typical teenagers. They're not into girlfriends, movies, music or cars. They experience very little from outside their tight-knit family, school, and religious life and are devoted to studies, their religion, their fathers, and traditional values. There is also an absence of women in the book.

Sight and insight is a key theme: Reuven's eye is damaged by Danny in a baseball match. How do we pursue truth in a grey world? The early vision problems foreshadow the horrific vision that will occur later when the atomic bombs are dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The unimaginable takes place and scorches the characters' visions forever. The end of the war sees new information. What once remained partially hidden, the details of the Shoah, comes to public view, intensifying the vision changes the characters undergo.

Another theme is silence. Danny's father never talks to him except when they are studying Torah and Talmud. There are numerous instances where both Danny and Reuven both receive and process information non-verbally: long pauses in conversation are found throughout the novel. Silence is also an important aspect of Potok's writing style. He uses words sparingly and characters often sit quietly, immersed in their own thoughts.

One of the major conflicts in the novel is between Reb Saunders and David Malter
about the proper way to respond to the Shoah. Should Jews get on with the foun¨ding of the State of Israel or piously wait for the Messiah since 'it will all emerge through holiness'. 'God will build the land, not Ben Gurion and his goyim! When the Messiah comes, we will have Eretz Yisrael.

We enjoyed this novel which gave us much to discuss and argue about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judaism Lost and Found, 22 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chosen (Paperback)
Two young people emboding the two opposite polar instances of judaism meet in Brooklyn during the second world war in the course of a baseball game that soon turns into an holy battle.
Reuven, the son of a talmudic scholar, is perceived by Danny, a radical chassidim, as an apicoros, an heretic that dares profaning the holy language by letting himself being schooled in hebrew rather than in yiddish.
The wound that Danny inflicts upon Reuven in the game is a symbolic mutilation, the sign of the tension between moderation and radicalism, the distancing culture of doubt and the deeply involving practise of mystical belief.
The book traces a tale of an exchange of identities, whereby the two characters embark in a dense intellectual and emotional friendship that finally enables them to exchange their personalities: Reuven's scholarship turns from science to a rabbinic drive. Whereas Danny, the rabbi to be, chooses, as a final challange to his previously received mysticism, to further his interest for freudian theories with a secular college education.
Potok's narrative operates,rather than true words, via successive waves of silence. The culture of silence enforced by one of the fathers promts the characters (and with them the community of readers) to dig inside themselves in search of their sometimes submerged humanity. Silence, the tension of the countless silent pauses, links biologically fathers and sons to the extent that, in spite of the dogmatism of their surrounding enviroments, the two characters carve up a space to listen to their own true vocation.
Chaim's work stands out also as an appraisal of scholarhsip, of the fine quality of the character's skills in focusing on the quality,rather than the quantity, of their knowledge and read a line one thousand times so that, through an aleph, through a single letter or a combination of chabbalistic devices, we may see the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story of loyalty and friendship, 16 Dec 2007
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Chosen (Mass Market Paperback)
Set towards the end of the Second World War from 1944 on, Reuven tells the story of his growing up, and of his friend, Danny. The story opens when the boys are fifteen years old, and tells of their first encounter at a baseball when Danny strikes a ball which hits Reuven in the eye. Reuven is hospitalised, and eventually Danny visits him. Initially in his anger Reuven rejects Danny's approach, but then on the advice of his father he listens to Danny; the two soon become close friends.

As the story develops we get to know the two Jewish boys and their respective fathers very well. Danny has a brilliant mind; Reuven too is an outstanding student. Danny's father, Reb Saunders is an Hasidic Jew and the tzaddik, the leader of his congregation; Reuven's father, David Malter, is an Orthodox Jew and a Rabbi. There are naturally conflicts in this relationship, but Reb Saunders gives it his blessing as he believes it will benefit his son. Reb's behaviour and his unusual relationship with his son takes some understanding, but by the conclusion of the story we have a better insight. The boys become very close, they are enthusiastic students and study together, and even the long enforced silence between them, when Reb Saunders excommunicates Reuven over the issue of the establishment of the Jewish State, does nothing to weaken their relationship.

Much of the story involves issues of Jewish faith and politics, but such is the quality of the writing and our involvement with the boys that even to an outsider these passages are of interest, at times even gripping. Danny is a delightful and compassionate boy; he is devoted to his father and loyal friend to Danny. These relationships are things of great beauty; both the respect he has for and the freedom with which he is able to communicate with his father, and the evident care and concern he shows for his friend Danny; and both of whom he clearly loves.

The chosen is a truly remarkable story, the writing is beautiful and the dialogue such that we can hear the voices. It is a story of friendship, loyalty and love, of parental care and sacrifice. It is both thoroughly absorbing and profoundly moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a must!, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
One of 10 books to choose if left on a desert Island,beautiful,a sheer pleasure to read. Has been a favorite for years,this copy is a present to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I have read several by the same author, and am totally hooked, I intend to read all by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cried, 22 Sep 2013
By 
B. A. Howard "bradbox" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The best Chaim Potok book by a long way. This book is a rollercoaster of inside the religious New York community and their next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful novel by Chaim Potok, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Haven't read anything by him I haven't loved. I encourage anyone who loves novels which deal with the important issues of life to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to re-read, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Hadn't read this book since leaving school about 20 years ago. Was as good as I remember. Re-read the book in one sitting as I didn't remember a lot of the minor characters. REommended even if you have no knowledge of the Jewish community as most Hebrew or Yiddish words are explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics), 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This book arrived very promptly and in good order. It was recommended to me as a book which would give a picture of life for a Jew in modern times. I am happy with my choice, and though I have not read it all yet I am looking forward to finishing it in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Chosen (Penguin Modern Classics) by Chaim Potok (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews