Customer Reviews


461 Reviews
5 star:
 (286)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!
Right, where do i begin??? how did i ever live without reading this book?? i was told by some idiot that it was boring which put me off for a while, but i read it recently and was totally blown away!! It is honestly the most intense, passionate, maddening book i've ever read. It starts out strong and keeps on going, i actually had to force myself not to read it all in one...
Published on 29 Nov. 2001 by kerry_k46@hotmail.com

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norton's 'Wuthering Heights'
As you would expect from any Norton critical edition of a text, this is far more detailed than other editions. The notes at the bottom of the pages are decent - the handy translations of Joseph's dialect are helpful. (It must be said, however, these notes are not as extensive as the Penguin Classics edition.) It contains a selection of Emily Brontė's poetry, a detailed...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 29 Nov. 2001
Right, where do i begin??? how did i ever live without reading this book?? i was told by some idiot that it was boring which put me off for a while, but i read it recently and was totally blown away!! It is honestly the most intense, passionate, maddening book i've ever read. It starts out strong and keeps on going, i actually had to force myself not to read it all in one night and to save some for the next day! Emily Bronte uses such powerful imagery in her prose that it just stuns you. The setting of the story in the Yorkshire moors was absolutely fitting, i doubt that if it had been set anywhere else it couldn't have possibly been half as powerful. The moors add to the air of mystery, gloom, beauty, passion,love, and tragedy. Heathcliff and Cathy are definately the most interesting and intense pair of lovers i have ever read of. Heathcliff especially provokes me, mostly because i cannot decide whether i love or hate him, and that is but one part of the genius of this book. Heathcliff is the hero/anti-hero of the book and just so utterly fascinating a character. The best ingredient of this masterpiece is the fact that the story takes place in such a secluded region, with equally interesting characters, away from the social niceties and civilities that are common in other books of this time. Therefore, the passion and tragedy of the love and hatred in this story is more strongly felt. I could honestly go on forever but i'll spare all you readers out there. All i will say is that you definately must read this book, i know that this is horribly cliche but it truly is one of the best books i have ever read in my life! You will not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Piece of English Literature, 12 April 2001
By A Customer
Everything about this book makes it makes it truly brilliant. The wild setting of the Yorkshire Moors, the grey and dark ambience of the Heights, the contrast of this at the Grange. Wuthering Heights is full of; love; romance; passion; revenge; and violence; covering ideas about: nature; religion; superstition; death; and the social values of the 19th Century. Criticised when it first came out because the book was written so far ahead of its time, it explores feminist ideas about the inheritance of land and money, and about marriage for social status. Possibly offensive to the original Victorian audience who would have read it, it would appeal to a modern readership subsequently, something of which, due to her premature death, Brontė would never learn of.
Brontė writes about her own experience in this book, with some characters closely relating to her own life. Her sole piece of literature shows her unique outlook on existence, and denying the reader perhaps the resolved ending they would have desired; instead we get the realistic conclusion that everyone can relate to.
Every character in this novel can portray a whole group of people. Heathcliff can represent the 'working class hero come good'. Brontė skilfully manipulates the reader into sympathising with Heathcliff, despite his appalling and violent behaviour later on. Catherine is reckless, passionate and rebellious, but maintains a clear head; she is aware of the importance of keeping a high status in the world. Brontė presents this with her marriage to Edgar Linton, denying her genuine, but concealed, feelings for Heathcliff. Even with Edgar's laissez-faire attitude to Catherine's close friendship to Heathcliff, can create the strong contrast between the two men. The reader can discover the shocking lengths that Heathcliff goes to for revenge against his former anguish, in an almost psychotic way that spans beyond death. His treatment by Catherine's brother Hindley, and his betrayal by Catherine for marrying Edgar causes him to enact a series of events including marriage without love and mistreatment of others in the most terrible way. Interestingly, Brontė allows everything to be observed by the character Nelly in an almost voyeuristic way, despite the fact she is a narrator to the story; it shows the idea of narrators being fair and trusting can occasionally be false. Every character is different, and often unconventional, represented in a certain way for a certain reason. The book successfully takes us over two generations of characters, each with different ideas, personalities and attitudes.
This book can be quite confusing at times by the use of similar names such Catherine's daughter also being named Catherine and Isabella Linton calling her son Linton. Also having to travel through two sets of narration in a non-chronological order. However, Brontė deals with all these factors marvellously and the powerful setting, intriguing characters and wide range of ideas challenged makes this book a political masterpiece of English Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 26 April 2009
By 
I. Morrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very useful book, includes a little critical opinion, used it for revision for AS english literature.
Is the updated version of the other york notes so don't buy both like i did by accident :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick in there!, 20 July 2009
By 
Louise Tassiker (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently took this book on holiday & found myself struggling to get into the story.

Fortunately i am one of those people who can't start a book without finishing it!

I seemed to be trailing over the first quarter of the book, some of the character quotations are very hard to understand (particularly Joseph) but if you take your time you soon get the hang of it.

The novel is written in a way that the gentleman telling the story is actually repeating the story as it was told to him by the main characters maid/nanny which brings a really interesting angle to the book.

By half way through i was addicted, i couldn't wait to find out what happened to Catherine and Heathcliff. I was lost in the novel and really felt part of it.

This is a good read and i'd highly recommend it but i would suggest having patience to get past the first part it really is worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wuthering heights, 9 Nov. 2003
this is one of those books that has entered the public conciseness, everyone thinks they know the story, it's a lovely victorian girly love story, right? Wrong it is a love story but it is a story of a powerfull destructive kind of love. Heathcliff & Cathy are the most selfish pair of B's in literature, when the book was published it was under a male pen name and when it came out that it was written by a woman people didn't belive it. The way it's written is really inventive also, it is narrated all in the third person by Nelly Dean, a house keeper to the present tenant(read the book), the chronology is also complex the tale is not told sequencially but jumps back and forth, in the same manner as Resevoure Dogs. This is one of my favourite books and I have read it again and again, do yourself a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft Horror, 27 July 2014
By 
J. D. Aspinall (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wuthering Heights is a beautiful book. Though I think many do not know what it's about. This might be because the filmed versions tend to concentrate on the `love story' and leave out the rest of it. Who can blame the scriptwriters for this? Are they not giving us what they think we want?

Perhaps they are but in doing so they alter the public's perception of the book and we end up thinking things about the book which are not true.

Much `literary criticism' is utter garbage, and much of it is more imaginative than the fiction it talks about. I have read accounts of Wuthering Heights which claim Heathcliff - a character the BBC will tell you is black, when he obviously isn't - is an avenger for those non-white peoples who suffered under British Imperialism. This is the sort of twisted, white-guilt rubbish one has come to expect; and it would be amusing if it wasn't quite so stupid and spiteful.

These are the basic facts.

Heathcliff either is, or is possessed by, a demon. The book is a supernatural gothic-horror tale. That he is, or is possessed by, a demon is the reason for his violent temper and his psychopathic cruelty.

This horrific situation is filtered via a series of nested narratives, as one character recounts what was told to them by another, as is therefore not as obvious as it might be to the final reader.

I cannot make my mind up which it is: is he actually a demon in human form, or is he possessed by one. If I had to decide, I'd say he was possessed by one, though others, such as H P Lovecraft, disagreed.

I think if Heathcliff was a demon then there would be no need for him to become demented, there would be no internal struggle. The human part of him, being in conflict with the demonic, is the cause of his behaviour; added to which the poor bloke is being stalked, albeit off-stage, by Cathy's ghost, and you have enough going on to give the best of us a short temper.

The notions of `love' and `passion' are not exactly inaccurate, but hardly are they the point.

Wuthering Heights is a horror novel, and a very subtle one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition of a great book (for readers averse to eye-strain), 6 April 2014
By 
Alison L (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wuthering Heights (Paperback)
This review isn't of the novel Wuthering Heights itself, as I'm sure everyone either knows it or knows of it, and already has strong feelings about it. I simply wanted to comment on this particular edition.

As Wuthering Heights is my all-time favourite piece of literature, I have many copies of it, from a variety of publishers. Some of these copies are more reader-friendly than others. Some books, for example, have tiny letters, which makes reading a strain, even if you're wearing your glasses, and therefore renders the whole reading experience less enjoyable than it should be. Some use user-unfriendly fonts, which it is also hard to comfortably read. And in some copies, the print is all crammed too closely together, and makes you instantly wish you were reading something with the words and sentences, and paragraphs, more spaciously set-out - it looks better with more space, not so daunting, it enables you to breathe while reading.

And therefore I wanted to recommend this particular edition, because it is the best version I have come across, in terms of all the things I've mentioned above. It has nice large letters - not too large, but large enough not to be headache-inducing; the letters are printed using an attractive font; there is enough space between the words, sentences and paragraphs to give the page a nice, spacious look.

This might sound like nit-picking, but if you want to ultimize your reading experience, I believe these things really do make a big difference. At last - a copy of Wuthering Heights I can read without hunching over it with a magnifying glass.

Not to keen on the strap-line on the cover: Bella and Edward's favourite book [Twilight saga] but that's a minor quibble, and in fact, having thought about it, it's interesting to see a connection between one of the greatest classics of literature, and a series of books and films that obviously resound very deeply with modern-day readers/movie-goers.

So, I am giving this particular edition five stars, and if you want a copy of Wuthering Heights that you can read with comfort, I strongly recommend you choose this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oatcakes and whips, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Wuthering Heights is the story of two families in the Yorkshire Moors and how they are all but destroyed by the evil Heathcliff, who was brought to Wuthering Heights as an orphan by old Mr. Earnshaw.
It is in many ways a paradox: It is set in a rustic and tranquil environment and in many parts dwells on a picturesque domestic environment, which I believe, would do the hearts of the best of us good.
And yet, that is in itself scarred by a regime of hideous terror and cruelty brought on by Heathcliff.
From the beginning of the book, we see in the dream of the city fop, Lockwood, how the latter violently rubs the wrist of the phantom Cathy through a broken windowpane. This sets the mood for deed after deed of cruelty and violence.
Hence the key word of the novel is paradox. Between the blissful and violent, the homely and the horrific, between the evil of Heathcliff and the goodness of Nelly Dean who muses of the former: ""Is he a ghoul or a vampire. I had read of such hideous, incarnate demons'.

His cruel treatment of Isabella and the second Catherine, is something that would revolt all descent human beings, and cause us to hate Heathcliff.
Even Shakespeare's Macbeth shows some conscience, some guilt about his evil actions, as does Lady Macbeth, but Heathcliff never. No plea, nothing at all, can cause him to show the mildest mercy.
If he had, but a shred of decency, he would have at least treated the younger Catherine with compassion as this was the daughter of the great love of his life.
Heathcliff is a usurper, who mistreats the rightful heirs to Wuthering heights and Thrushcross Grange, Hareton Earnshaw and Cathy Linton II.
The other evil folk in the novel, Heathcliff's son, the degenerate Linton Heathcliff and the spiteful manservant Joseph, are but pale shadows of the demonic Heathcliff.

The novel focuses on the intense passionate connection (for one could not call such a thing love) between Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw, and the rage of Heathcliff before and after her death, that he could not be untied with her.

Wuthering Heights was written in 1847, at a time when the rustic tranquillity and well-being of the England where Emily Bronte lived, was being shattered by the twin forces of the Industrial Revolution and mercenary profit, and the radical and amoral revolutionary ideologies which would be chartered in The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx. Perhaps one can see a parallel between the way in which the peaceful routine was being destroyed by both mercantile capitalism and by violent revolutionary socialism , and the way in which the peaceful and tranquil houses of Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights where marred by the diabolical monstrosity of Heathcliff.
A key character in the novel is the nurse Nelly Dean, a wonderful woman who shows strength and goodness, throughout in the face of all the evil and cruelty in the saga.
She is not much older than Hindley and the first Catherine and I would imagine she is about 16 years old when old Mr. Earnshaw brings Heathcliff to Wuthering Heights, and about 46 therefore, at the time of Heathcliff's death and the redemption of Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange.

The second Cathy, while showing a fierce spirit, is a fundamentally better person than her mother, both beautiful and good.
Heathcliff and Catherine I are the anti-heroes of the story and Hareton Earnshaw and Cathy II, the heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When an act of kindness brings forth a tragedy, 20 May 2011
When Wuthering Heights first came out, readers were shocked by the violence and the passion of its story, that is the strange romance between the mysterious Heathcliff and Catherine Earnchaw, the daughter of Mr. Earnshaw who adopted Heathcliff. The scandal was so much that Emily Bronte, when she died, thought that her book was a failure. Fortunately for her, and for its first readers, the story's reputation grew among literary circles, became an important reading for people like Virginia Wolf, and even became a movie in 1939, starring the great Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon. As such, the book's reputation has now become an important piece of art around the world, influencing important artists in their works (ex:Jane Campion's The Piano, J K Rowling's Harry Potter, etc.)

Most people tend to focus solely on the romance between Heathcliff and Catherine and they tend to think that the story is simply a love story, which is what they did with the Laurence Olivier movie. However, Wuthering Heights must be considered, at least that's what I think, as a tragedy which shows how a simple act of kindness from a good man brought forth discord, jealousy and a story of revenge whose victims, the Earnshaw and the Linton families, soon suffer the wrath of someone who never received the most decent sense of love. Not only that, Wuthering Heights shows how certain families, in distant regions positioned far from big cities, act between themselves as they bring upon each other their own laws. Having had grandparents who lived in regions resembling as much as the moors surrounding Wuthering Heights, I wasn't that much surprised by the cruelty that some of the Earnshaw and the Linton brought forth on Heathcliff.
So for me, that book, was a pleasure to read again and again.

One thing that surprised me with this book is how Emily Bronte managed to transcript the dialects of the countrymen of that region. Indeed, certain character's dialects are written according to how the characters pronounce them. Though reading it straight on for the first time, might be difficult, I suggest to those that may be rebuked by this type of dialogue transcription to read the dialogs aloud. To me it felt much more easier to understand certain conversations and have more pleasure reading that book.

As such, I recommend this book to everyone who would be interested to read a great piece of literature or to discover the original material that brought forth the movie adaptations that they love to watch and rewatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good edition of a classic, 26 July 2008
This copy gives you quite a comprehensive look at Emily Bronte, her life and her work as well as providing a good edition of her masterpiece. This edition is nicely presented if a bit all over the place; it's compact, the cover is attractive and is a hard paperback which should mean it will endure (mine shows no sign of wear). It begins with some finely printed photos on high quality paper of Emily, her family, their home, a drawing by Emily and some images of A.H Buckland's 1905 illustrations of Wuthering Heights, as well as some places that could have been of inspiration to Emily and a manuscript poem by Emily. The following text is based on the first edition of Wuthering Heights (1847) but the second edition of 1850 has been incorporated. All spelling and punctuation has been standardised and modernised. Notes on the text follows, aiming to give insight into the words and phrases from the narrative. It also gives an in depth description of Emily's life and works as well as cataloguing the various spin-offs and adaptations, which is quite interesting. The appendix is delightful it contains a notice written by Charlotte Bronte(originally the preface to the second edition of Wuthering Heights) as well as an editor's preface (also written by Charlotte) both of which are rather interesting. I recommend this edition I won't subjugate the narrative with a gushing description as I'm sure you're aware of its prowess as a brilliant piece of literature and if you haven't yet read it this is a competent edition with which to familiarise your self with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wuthering Heights (Clothbound Classics)
Wuthering Heights (Clothbound Classics) by Emily Brontė (Hardcover - 6 Nov. 2008)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews