Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC FOLLOW-UP
RED HERRINGS was my favourite book of last year and now (just as my friends were breathing a sigh of relief that I had stopped dragging every conversation round to the weird and wonderful origins of the words we use every day) here comes the sequel and it's even better. Did you know, for instance, that 'buttering someone up' comes from the ancient Hindu custom of throwing...
Published on 21 Sep 2005 by Gaby Morgan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
I know that this book would normally reside on the window sill above the loo, but this book does not help the hard stool pass - it is not an easy read, and the facts etc dont capture your imagination like QI's companion book or schotts trivia books for example
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by hazza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC FOLLOW-UP, 21 Sep 2005
RED HERRINGS was my favourite book of last year and now (just as my friends were breathing a sigh of relief that I had stopped dragging every conversation round to the weird and wonderful origins of the words we use every day) here comes the sequel and it's even better. Did you know, for instance, that 'buttering someone up' comes from the ancient Hindu custom of throwing globs of clarified butter at the statues of gods; that 'nailing your colours to the mast' came from captains, thinking that they were unlikely to win a sea battle, nailing their flag to the mast so their more cowardly crew couldn't winch it down and surrender; that saying something has 'got legs' comes from wine tasting -- and there's hundreds more stories where those came from... I can't imagine anyone not loving this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book, 31 July 2009
By 
P. Nicholls "paulandchez" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
I found this book very interesting althought I thought it would have contained a few more well know sayings. But then again I suppose it is a sequal to a previous book so I guess if you want the full story you need to buy both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite as good as Red herrings & White Elephants but good, 16 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the most known phases, Red Herrings & White Elephants is the one to choose. However if you want more, then this book contains more but they are more obscure (less well known). Good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present and interesting, 19 Dec 2009
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
I bought this for my dad for xmas but had a read myself of a few pages, really intresting facts of where saying come from. I was not disappointed as Amazon put a great "look inside" profile so I knew what I was getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy Dog...Black Sheep...Red Herring..., 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
An excellent read for anyone who is interested in the origin of everyday phrases that adorn the English language. A fun read and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
Got this little book on recommendation of sister.It has such a lot of funny things in it.Where expressions come from,funny little sayings,etc.Surprising where all these everyday sayings come from.Read it,its fun reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fascinating read, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
After reading "Red Herrings & White Elephants" by the same author, it was another book to explain the sources of well-known sayings.. I enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
Love Albert Jack - Steadily go through all his books, funny and interesting. He explains the history or words some of which you would be surprised and make good stories to tell your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill book, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
Not to sound like an idiot but this review really writes itself. If you have an interest in where British phrases come from then this book ticks all the boxes, its full of commonly used phrases and a few less common one too, well written and easy to pick up. If you want a crime thriller, atlas, cookery book on preparation of Highland scones or Top Gears annual then I wouldn't suggest this book however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword helper, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day (Paperback)
I have often been unable to remember a phrase, or phrases, when trying to complete a crossword. This book will be a great help plus the explanations of the origins of the phrases are very interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaggy Dogs and Black Sheep: The Origins of Even More Phrases We Use Every Day
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews