Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Loveable Duo and Fun Read
Ant and Dec: How can you not love these cheeky, loveable Geordie lads. Ooh! What A Lovely Pair: Our Story is a thoroughly enjoyable, engaging and entertaining account of their lives up to now, welcomingly injected with a good, refreshing sense of humour. What you see is what you get with these guys; they don't take themselves too seriously as some other self-obsessed...
Published on 21 April 2010 by Ian Phillips

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ant and Dec a lovely pair
I wanted to rate four stars but for some reason it wouldn't allow me to tick more. A really good book with a magical insight of how two young lads met, and became best mate's that most would envy. A bit of a rags to riches tale of two young pop stars to become great entertainers, actors and much loved show host. They are respected and adored by all age groups and there is...
Published 2 days ago by janet yates


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Loveable Duo and Fun Read, 21 April 2010
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ant and Dec: How can you not love these cheeky, loveable Geordie lads. Ooh! What A Lovely Pair: Our Story is a thoroughly enjoyable, engaging and entertaining account of their lives up to now, welcomingly injected with a good, refreshing sense of humour. What you see is what you get with these guys; they don't take themselves too seriously as some other self-obsessed celebrities blatantly do, have remained down to earth, both coming from working class backgrounds and are nothing but honest and frank throughout.

As well as chronicling their early life, they then recount their treasured time together spent on the hit BBC kids series Byker Grove (which I was totally hooked on as a kid in the late 80's/early 90's), meeting for the first time when they were both at the tender age of 13. And as the synopsis suggests they didn't warm to each other immediately like some may think, but it wasn't long before they became best buddies and have been virtually inseperable ever since.

After their stint as PJ and Duncan in Byker Grove then came their short-lived pop career, certainly notching up impressive sales for their string of singles and albums - although they've never quite been able to live down "Let's Get Ready To Rhumble"! LOL! They aren't averse to taking the mickey out of themselves and literally ridicule themselves in the book when it comes to writing about their stint as pop stars, both regarding it as a bit of a joke. It had obviously been a money-making ploy for the record company, cashing in and capitilising on Ant and Dec's (still) huge popularity with the teen market. They also recite that at nearly every function they attend today they often get called upon to perform "Let's Get Ready To Rhumble", much to their embarrasment (and annoyance). You'll also laugh when they recall their trip overseas to promote their music and at one gig, unbeknown to them, a 12 inch dance remix they'd never heard was played instead of the single they'd carefully rehearsed so their choreography was all over the place and there they were in front of thousands of people, feeling completely at sea!

Then of course the duo became famous for Saturday morning kids TV which eventually paved the way for them to getting their own primetime Saturday night TV show, something they had wanted for some time. They scooped several awards for the likes of Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Take Away, which they recall with pride and at the same time taking it all in their stride. They've certainly each got both feet on the ground and haven't allowed their success to go to their heads and that becomes all the more apparent as you read the book.

Also there are many fun, juicy anecdotes about their already legendary time as hosts of I'm A Celebrity...Get Me Out Of Here and Britain's Got Talent, plus depicting other notably exciting events that have happened in their lives so far. I'm sure in another two years they'll be able to fill another book.

All in all this is a thoroughly enjoyable, very good read - it certainly kept me entertained having read this on two long train journeys and gave me quite a good few laughs. Fair play to these guys - they've come a long way and it's well deserved. This book is testament to that.

Ian Phillips
April 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt't put it down!, 23 Sep 2009
I started reading this last night and couldnt put it down! Its funny, well written and gives a great insight into Ant & Dec. Living in Newcastle I could also identify with all the places they talked about which made it even more interesting. Dec's part is written in bold type and Ant's in italics (which I found a bit hard on the eye at times), its just like they are having a chat with each other. Great stuff, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Ghost writing here!!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. You could here their voices from the pages. They both told their story chapter by chapter in different fonts, and once you got used to that it was a great and unusual way to share their experiences. How I got my head around this was, the wriggly writing was ant(ant wiggling around) and the straight up writing was Dec!! They were so focused on being successful in show business, and worked so hard for it, they really deserve the fame and fortune they both have earned. They come across as the boys next door and 2 you would love to have to dinner.They love their families and I just dont think anyone could seriously dislike them. Unusual enough in show business I would say! This does not make them goodie goodies because they have a very good time and love their pints, some very funny stories around their pint drinking!!!!! Would have loved to have heard a bit of gossip about some of the big stars they meet but overall a very funny book and a great read written very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read from start to finish. You really get to know what makes them special friends and special celebrities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Feb 2014
I love reading autobiographies so I was really looking forward to this book.
I read this really quickly and laughed most of the way through it.
I think these two are fantastic and their life story up to now is brilliant .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ant and Dec a lovely pair, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to rate four stars but for some reason it wouldn't allow me to tick more. A really good book with a magical insight of how two young lads met, and became best mate's that most would envy. A bit of a rags to riches tale of two young pop stars to become great entertainers, actors and much loved show host. They are respected and adored by all age groups and there is no better duo at fronting the stage than Ant and Dec. Any age group will enjoy this book...my tip, go out and purchase , you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by kevin, age 59.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. It's very lighthearted and written a bit like a conversation. There's not a great deal of profound statements about life or any real gossip. However it's worth a read especially if you're on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ant and Dec at their best!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was exactly what I thought it would be.
It was funny, cheeky and entertaining.
I love the fact that it was written four handed, almost like a conversation between them. That from start to finish there’s not one point of the book that felt boring to me.
It was interesting to follow their steps from kids to wannabe pop stars, to TV presenters, but to me the most appealing part was to see them create a unique and rare friendship.
This is Ant and Dec, pure and simple. Every tale is filled with jokes and playful banter. Every anecdote is permeated with teasing and little winks to their readers.
I really couldn’t have chosen for a better read.
A must for all Ant and Dec’s fans. And why not? If you like funny books, even for those who aren’t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love ant and dec so it was a good insight into their rise to fame. what's not to love about them! still love a bit of grumble ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what l thought it would be, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took along time to get into. Not a read that keeps you interested. Too long was spent on their early years. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ooh! What a Lovely Pair: Our Story
Ooh! What a Lovely Pair: Our Story by Declan Donnelly (Paperback - 10 Jun 2010)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews