Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Pounding, Spine-Tingling Action and Adventure!
Corsair soars above the Oregon's tremendous technology to show the triumph of the American spirit in overcoming surprising challenges, heart-pounding danger, historical mysteries, and seemingly impossible problems. The book contains a little of the spirit of John Paul Jones, the U.S. Marines on the shores of Tripoli, Thomas Jefferson, Nelson at Trafalgar, and the brave...
Published on 19 Mar 2009 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Corsair
Again another brilliant book from the Oregon file nail hitting and all coming together at the end.
Looking forward to my next one.
Published 17 months ago by pete


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Pounding, Spine-Tingling Action and Adventure!, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Corsair soars above the Oregon's tremendous technology to show the triumph of the American spirit in overcoming surprising challenges, heart-pounding danger, historical mysteries, and seemingly impossible problems. The book contains a little of the spirit of John Paul Jones, the U.S. Marines on the shores of Tripoli, Thomas Jefferson, Nelson at Trafalgar, and the brave men and women who fight terrorists every day. I couldn't put the book down and stayed up late to finish it. Wow, what a rush!

The book opens with a naval battle between Barbary pirates (corsairs) and two American warships seeking to rid the seas of the vermin. It's background for a mystery that resonates in today's battles against terrorists. From there, the Oregon pretends to be a prize for today's pirates, terrorists who use what they plunder from ocean-going ships to finance their activities. A lot goes wrong, and the ensuing battle is a terrific one.

Next, the Oregon is brought in to deal with the disappearance of the U.S. Secretary of State on her way to Libya for a peace conference. All the Oregon has to do is find her, get her to the peace conference, and solve the centuries' old riddle in a few hours while getting out in one piece.

The plot is excellent for setting up the good guys and gals against the implacable, despicable foe. Many authors have trouble portraying terrorists as the remorseless enemy they are. In Corsair, Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul have no trouble taking the gloves off and portraying truly evil men seeking horrible purposes.

While the premises of the plot are certainly extreme, we expect that of Cussler and Du Brul as a way to set the stage for making the reader feel excited about winning the conflict. Don't look for a lot of complex character development, but do expect the best in action and adventure in the face of severe adversity.

It's great fun. Don't miss it!
s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Pounding, Spine-Tingling Action and Adventure!, 19 April 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Corsair soars above the Oregon's tremendous technology to show the triumph of the American spirit in overcoming surprising challenges, heart-pounding danger, historical mysteries, and seemingly impossible problems. The book contains a little of the spirit of John Paul Jones, the U.S. Marines on the shores of Tripoli, Thomas Jefferson, Nelson at Trafalgar, and the brave men and women who fight terrorists every day. I couldn't put the book down and stayed up late to finish it. Wow, what a rush!

The book opens with a naval battle between Barbary pirates (corsairs) and two American warships seeking to rid the seas of the vermin. It's background for a mystery that resonates in today's battles against terrorists. From there, the Oregon pretends to be a prize for today's pirates, terrorists who use what they plunder from ocean-going ships to finance their activities. A lot goes wrong, and the ensuing battle is a terrific one.

Next, the Oregon is brought in to deal with the disappearance of the U.S. Secretary of State on her way to Libya for a peace conference. All the Oregon has to do is find her, get her to the peace conference, and solve the centuries' old riddle in a few hours while getting out in one piece.

The plot is excellent for setting up the good guys and gals against the implacable, despicable foe. Many authors have trouble portraying terrorists as the remorseless enemy they are. In Corsair, Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul have no trouble taking the gloves off and portraying truly evil men seeking horrible purposes.

While the premises of the plot are certainly extreme, we expect that of Cussler and Du Brul as a way to set the stage for making the reader feel excited about winning the conflict. Don't look for a lot of complex character development, but do expect the best in action and adventure in the face of severe adversity.

It's great fun. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well-paced adventure, 15 July 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Parkin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair: Oregon Files #6 (Paperback)
A further "Oregon Files" adventure by Messrs Cussler/Du Brul.
Set in North Africa, the crew battle Libyan extremists bent on destroying an upcoming peace conference.
The narrative requires the reader to believe in an abandoned Libyan coal mine used by the British in the 1840's.
The requirement to believe Qaddafi as an espouser of peace, rather than the murderous psychopath he confirmed himself as before his timely demise,is perhaps one literary step too far.
Nonethertheless the novel is an excellent way to relieve ennui for several hours. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the flashiest and best of the 'Oregon' Cusslers, 30 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair: Oregon Files #6 (Paperback)
Once again Cussler is joined here y Jack Du Brul - something I've come to take as a good sign as it usually means I'm in for an inventive and dangerous-feeling plot. This is no exception, as it opens with a vicious modern-day pirate battle and then segues neatly into a hunt for a missing US official after a plane crash, by way of a great deal of infiltration, spywork and derring-do.
The full crew of the Oregon's main characters get some serious page time, and it's nice to see them fleshed out, always in a way that advances the story or makes you care more about them.
The story itself is pacy and enjoyable with some unexpected turns, and two standout twist moments.
In a market where some authors seem to be diminishing in skill the later they get into their careers, its nice to see Cussler's collaborations are still resulting in hugely entertaining tales. Here's hoping they stay this good. You can count on this one for pure escapism fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class action all the way...well researched too., 7 April 2009
By 
G. P. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Action thriller.
Corsair I have just finished reading. Women are in it too, at the battlefront. About the very best Clive Cussler book I've read. It is well researched...i.e. about Corsairs raiding English coasts for slaves...Clive, you missed out Cornwall..here in our little town of Looe..the West Looe village, the place fell into disrepair in the l6/1700s as most of the men had been kidnapped. Corsairs went as far as Scotland, raiding seaside villages and kidnapping people. More like this please...had I not have to sleep, the book would have been read sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cussler rocks, 23 April 2009
By 
Espen Hult (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the new series the Oregon Files, Cussler introduces a new hero, Juan Cabrillo and his team of mercenaries onboard the old (looking) ship the Oregon. But the cast, plot and storytelling is still pure Cussler at his best!

Corsair is the last (so far) in a series of six books about the Oregon and Juan Cabrillo. The books can be read individually, but your probably better of starting with the first book "Golden Buddha", and read on from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
clive cussler at his best, read the book in 2 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet to read this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste. Book condition is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars trite and contrived, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Kevin Bragg (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many of Clive Cusslers books and enjoyed them but I have to say I found this one hard going. I have no problem with 'the willing suspension of disbelief' but this was so far fetched and contrived as to be entirely unbelievable! Poor effort from Messrs Cussler and De Brul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cussler book, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair: Oregon Files #6 (Paperback)
Love these books by Cussler, I have read many of them and never been disappointed. Very highly recommended.It came quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corsair: Oregon Files #6
Corsair: Oregon Files #6 by Jack du Brul (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews