Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well hidden treasure
In the 500 pages of this book there is a really good 50-page extended essay, which is a bit obscured by the increasingly idiosyncratic writing. I can't complain because I knew what I was letting myself in for, having previously read the Fooled by Randomness and Black Swan books and this is really just a continuation in both content and style. In fact one of his earlier...
Published 17 months ago by A. Skudder

versus
66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More is Less
I found the underlying points made by Taleb interesting and enlightening in the sense that it offered a fresh perspective albeit that the underlying issues are not novel. To an extent his subject material is the behavioural equivalent of evolution. Our behaviour is informed by negative events as well as positive and this makes us more resilient. Someone who has the...
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More is Less, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found the underlying points made by Taleb interesting and enlightening in the sense that it offered a fresh perspective albeit that the underlying issues are not novel. To an extent his subject material is the behavioural equivalent of evolution. Our behaviour is informed by negative events as well as positive and this makes us more resilient. Someone who has the occasional minor prang in a car is probably going to be safer than those who have never experienced a shunt and go round in a bubble of false security.

I do not pretend that this is a comprehensive deconstruction of Taleb's thesis but neither am I sure it should have taken 425 pages for him to make his point and a bibliography running to 24 pages to have got there. They say that a driver should drive for the comfort of their passenger and I believe that a writer should write with much the same objective in mind.

A point can be made in a pithy way and 'Freakanomics' achieved this on the subject of statistics. That brace of books may have been more frothy in tone but Levitt and Dubner succeeded in communicating some quite intricate concepts. Taleb made some interesting observations in Black Swan but I would not use the word succinct.

I often worry that popularity causes individuals to become caricatures of themselves, identifying and emphasising those characteristics which they believed made them popular to the degree that it becomes irritating. The comedian who ceases to be funny, the actor who elongates their dramatic emphasis, the writer who takes interesting thoughts but turns them into a belief system which they then name.

To my taste, Taleb laboured his points as if he relishes the cleverness of his own words and this rather put me off. Does this 'superhero of the mind' (to quote the dust jacket) actually communicate with sentences such as "Not using models of nonlinear effects such as convexity biases whilst doing 'empirical' work is like having to catalogue every apple falling from a tree and call the operation 'empiricism' instead of just using Newton's equilibrium"?

Many years ago Richard Dawkins set a high watermark for how to communicate complex ideas in a palatable way without over simplifying to the point of distortion. In my view, the tide is out on Antifragile. To lift a principle from Taleb, if the downside of writing in an over lengthy style is greater than the potential benefit, maybe one should cut down on the wordage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well hidden treasure, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the 500 pages of this book there is a really good 50-page extended essay, which is a bit obscured by the increasingly idiosyncratic writing. I can't complain because I knew what I was letting myself in for, having previously read the Fooled by Randomness and Black Swan books and this is really just a continuation in both content and style. In fact one of his earlier books has actually changed my life in a very real way - about five years ago I gave up reading newspapers after decades of ploughing through at least one of the broadsheets every day - so I don't take him lightly.

I think it is fair to say that Taleb could do with a strong-willed editor. There is a well-known principle in presentations that you need to reinforce an ide through repetition (tell them what you are going to tell them, then tell them, then tell them what you have told them) and this takes that idea to extremes with a list of contents that spans nine pages, then three pages of chapter summaries and then a prologue that basically summarises the whole book in a few pages. Each section of the book has a brief summary as does each chapter in the section. In addition to that there is an appendix to the prologue (!) an epilogue and 80 pages of index, appendices, notes, bibliography and acknowledgements. The point is that you can cutout 20% of the pages and still be left with the whole book to read.

As for the actual meat of the book, it can get a bit ranty. The author has a long list of people he doesn't like and misses no opportunity to lay into them. His targets include bureaucrats, bankers, experts, risk managers, journalists, Alan Greenspan, economists (he refers to them as "economists and other lunatics"), 'ivy-leaguers', academics, Aristotle, scientists (who he refers to as "so-called scientists") and Davos attenders. While many of us might not have a lot of time for many on the list (especially journalists and bankers) Taleb seems to make it all very personal.

At the very least it makes the book read like Father Ted's acceptance speech for the Golden Cleric awards, at worst it makes the book read like the rantings of a conspiracy theorist. It does not help that he invents grand-sounding names for people and then capitalises them, so he refers to 'the Soviet-Harvard Delusion' or the 'Central Fragilista Delegation' or refers to Alan Greenspan as the 'Uber-Fragilista Alan Greenspan'. Normally, if you hear somebody delivering something in this style (the style of David Icke or a bearded bloke yelling on a street corner) you switch off. That would be a shame here because there are some interesting ideas hidden away.

Fortunately, all this ranting is as amusing to read as it is annoying. I kind of picture Victor Meldrew reading it.

There are a few people that Taleb seems to like, but not many: Benoit Mandelbrot, Thales, Seneca, Steve Jobs and Ayn Rand.

I don't think Taleb would like me. Not because of this review (he says he likes criticism) and not (just) because my day job is in risk management, but because I appreciate the points he is making but don't ever intend to completely buy into his philosophy. Yes the ideas of optionality and asymmetry seem to work but I'll add them to many of the other theories out there and adapt them. I think Taleb would prefer some ideal world where everything and everyone just followed his ideas.

Unfortunately, his ideas carried to the logical conclusion are not practical. He considers the ideal way of life to be some sort of mediterranean agrarian life with everybody living an artisan lifestyle and no employees, which is not practical with out huge populations and our collective expectations as consumers.

None of this is to say the book is rubbish. The author is the current in-vogue thinker with the in-vogue big idea (Black Swans) which replaces 'Nudge' as the big idea, which replaced 'Tipping Points', 'The Wisdom of Crowds' and 'Long Tails' as previous big ideas, and this big idea does really get you thinking about some pretty big ideas - some of them pretty scary if Taleb is right.

Anybody who has read and enjoyed books by writers such as Levit & Dubner, Daniel Kahneman, Malcolm Gladwell, Dan Ariely or Jonathan Haidt would enjoy this book, or at least appreciate it. Anybody else mightdo, but should probably try something friendlier first and start with Freakonomics or Thinking Fast and Slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A few good ideas but you have to wade through a lot of pages to get to them..., 14 Jan. 2013
I haven't read Black Swans or Fooled by Randomness so came to this book with no preconceptions (aside from an interview with Taleb from the Guardian which piqued my interest in his ideas). I imagine that if the reader is fond of his previous work the frequent back-references will be appealing, whereas I found this a little repetitive and excluding.

It seems that the successes Taleb has experienced both intellectually and financially have lead to him being able to indulge in an over-long exposition of ideas that could fit into a single essay (as opposed to this 5-books-of-essays collection). He also seems to have many axes to grind and a need to boast about his physique and luxurious dining habits.

The most frustrating aspect of putting the time into reading and making notes on this is that: it is all "set up" and very little conclusion. Just as a neat summation/distillation seemed immanent he changes track. The best way to read might be to take the 1st paragraph of each essay and no more - the rest is just bloat.

I did enjoy aspects and have taken away some food for thought, but would take Taleb's own advice and stick to proven thinkers with a little more track record. It's fine but nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antifragile, 15 May 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a truly fascinating book though not by any means an easy read. The author shows in marvellous detail how things which can survive and adapt to changes or damage are those which will survive the longest. Adapt and survive. But it isn't as simple as that as might be expected from a book of over five hundred pages including the index, bibliography and copies notes and appendices.

The subjects touched upon range from medicine, ancient Greece and Rome, modern New York, the banking crisis, food and governments with many diversions on what is a totally engrossing journey. The author writes in an engaging and down to earth style which helps to make the subject matter comprehensible even when he is dealing with complex issues. It is the sort of book which will repay more than one reading in my opinion.

There are many brilliant descriptions but one which sticks in my mind is this `A Stoic is a Buddhist with attitude . . .' This is a thought-provoking book which may cause you to question many of the assumptions you make about your daily life and the people you meet. It is a marvellous read in my opinion and will be of interest to anyone who likes reading psychology or science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with some very interesting ideas, 26 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Paperback)
Excellent book with some very interesting ideas. I devoured it in a few days, something I haven't done with a book for a long time. I agree with some other reviewers that his terminology can be difficult for people unexposed to economics/finance, but he does his best to provide other examples and to highlight overly complicated sections that can be skipped by the less technical reader. I also enjoyed his style of mixing philosophy, maths, biography and history together, although I can understand that other people may struggle with the less strict structure than typically found in a book of this type. I appreciate that he appears to follow his own philosophy as much as possible, and that he is blunt, not holding back on his opinions. Would highly recommend to everyone to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cognitive dribblesoup, 1 May 2014
By 
Alan Whittaker (Oakville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst this book has some interesting things to say I find it, for the most part, a strange cross between a sales pitch and an unfulfilled self justificatory stream of conciousness. A kind of insight into someone's cognitive work in progress and simultaneously accumulating bank account.

It mentions the Black Swan in terms of why, after reading that you should pay for a second book - simple the Black Swan is this new books, "junior appendix". This is a sales pitch pure and simple. So, after telling the world something and earning a fortune in the process, there is - yes good Christians - even more to be revealed. Just keep the faith.

It also name drops Steve Jobs early on. Never a good sign. It's a weak and easy way to appropriate popularity by association. The author even employs the same trick with our very own grandmothers.

It never ceases to amaze me just how flexible the English language is. Always having the ability to adapt and absorb new cultures and languages. However, I think this author is engaging in a deliberate assault upon language that unnecessarily twists meaning in an attempt to both lure the paying reader and obfuscate its rhetorical weaknesses.

No doubt the author would say their choice of language is antifragile but this is simply impoverished circular logic. Even cultish.

The English language is perfectly capable of saying what this author means to say without a dribblesoup of nonpreponderances and antiplatitudinal neologistificationizing. See what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting ideas across personal wealth, health and public policy, 4 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder (Paperback)
Nassim Nicholas Taleb is an exceptional writer - though not entirely in a good way. He is variously described as a "superhero of the mind" (Boyd Tonkin) and "Wall Street's principal dissident" (Malcolm Gladwell), and much commentary focuses on his style more than his content. Few dispute that he is brilliant, though he feels compelled to demonstrate this with striking frequency.

His most recent book Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder is an exciting challenge to received wisdom about adopting middle-of-the-road strategies in personal health and finance, macroeconomics and much more besides. But it comes with a strong dose of personal advertisement and gratuitous demonstration of Taleb's breadth of learning.

It is worth putting up with this though. The essence of his argument is that a spectrum runs from fragility through robustness to antifragility, and that we should seek to develop antifragility - the ability to become stronger through challenges - in our bodies, our finances, our politics and our economies.

With examples from a wide variety of disciplines Taleb illustrates that we often describe certain things as good or bad when in fact the key consideration is dose. By careful dose control we can increase our tolerances of many things that would otherwise be very harmful to us - and in doing so we increase our antifragility. Taleb himself reacts to this insight by training with streetfighters rather than personal trainers and investing in a contrarian portfolio.

His arguments have fascinating ramifications for individuals and policy makers. For example, he suggests that our public health systems are riven by agency risks and the malign influence of what he calls "iatrogenics". He praises entrepreneurs as the heroes of humanity - the people who knowingly or unknowingly take risks that probably condemn them to losses but drive forward progress for the societies to which they belong.

One of Taleb's interesting conclusions is that we are terrible at making complex judgements and that we should therefore trust the only reliable assessor of quality - time. In other words, we should suspend judgement on things (foods, medicines, concepts, philosophies) until they have stood the test of time. He points out that the best predictor of how long something will last is how long it has already lasted. As a result, he advocates drinking wine and coffee but avoids all processed foods.

This is an exciting and bold book and it may change your behaviour in any of several ways. You may consider changing your diet, your attitude to saving and investment and even your career. It is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pompous but well-informed and relevant, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hot on the heels of his other successful books about economic theory (Fooled by Randomness and The Black Swan) Taleb has revealed another interesting concept about current financial markets - we are trying to protect ourselves from economic shock by removing volatility, but this actually weakens our ability to survive such shocks by removing the survival of the fittest element of competition. This is the central concept of the book (in a nut-shell) that there are things out there that benefit from chaos, not merely survive it, but actually revel and grow from disorder. These things are the Anti-Fragile.

This book can be read in a couple of ways; a cursory walk-through will expose the reader to the intriguing concepts of Iatrogenics, Procrustean beds and Mithridatism - all the while talking about subjects as broad as the formative years of the middle-east to weight-lifting. However to the technical reader; all of the associated graphs & formulae are included in the appendices should you want more depth and of course; his arguments are well bibliographed & referenced.

These topics are all milestones in his book and sound random when relayed as a string but the arrival at each of these points is well considered and explained. However, it is the absolute disdain that drips from pages of this book that leaves a bad-taste in your mouth. Taleb writes whilst sneering at the current participants of the financial-system and proudly lauding the superiority of his system dogmatically - it is easier to point & laugh at something, but far more difficult to create something better in its place. His megalomania is only further compounded as we read about the people he likes to lunch with, his exercise regime and his diet. It all seems rather boastful and supercilious to the layman.

Pomposity aside, this is a thought-provoking book that will make you reconsider some of the band-aids we have slapped on the Bretton-Woods-based financial system we currently have. It suggests an alternative, and for that reason alone it should be lauded, but when this is not only a good idea, but well informed and intelligent it is truly worth a long, hard look. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, book itself a little too long, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review courtesy of www.subtleillumination.com

What’s the opposite of fragility? Most people say robustness, resilience, or strength. Most people, says Taleb, are wrong. Fragility is to be weakened by uncertainty or volatility, while resilience is to be unaffected by volatility. What we need is something strengthened by volatility and change – something antifragile.

That, in a nutshell, is Antifragile. Like all the best ideas, it’s a simple idea with immediate, important, and interesting consequences. In particular, Taleb argues that the modern world, in its quest for efficiency and optimization, has ignored the effects of volatility. As a result, shocks (Black Swans) have catastrophic consequences. When one hits, however, we ask the wrong question. We demand to know why we failed to predict the housing bubble or disease outbreak, instead of asking ourselves why we built a system that is tremendously vulnerable to such shocks.

Instead of eliminating centralization and vulnerability in our systems, like big corporations or big bureaucracies, however, we keep trying to predict the future, an endeavor doomed to failure. Shocks, as Taleb has argued in other books, are rare, and so attempting to predict them is impossible because they happen so rarely – we never have enough data points to draw conclusions. (For the economists reading, he believes in fat tails). Rather than trying to predict the future, we should build systems that can evolve and adapt to it.

The idea is a fairly simple one, but not I think something most of us have thought about. Once you've got it, the rest of the book doesn't add much, which is always the danger of having one great idea. It can also sometimes be a bit technical for a general audience. The idea gets 5 starts, possibly 6: the book 4 for being too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Man Think Tank, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
mosta67 "mosta67" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The author of Black Swan and Fooled by Randomness author becomes a one man think tank in his latest title. Spanning many chapters, I now understand why the author was revulsed by academia (and has quite a few detractors from being outspoken), the reason behind his trading strategy and understandable unpopularity at refusing to ride the wave and follow the masses. He uses a lot of finance theories and assumptions (which were always criticised in this and preceeding books) to demonstrate real world examples of anti-fragility, or vulnerability to change, in very simple terms; however these are always explained in non mathematical terms, and in all cases not quoted in the manner of a literature review that you may find in a post graduate thesis; you won't need to have studied stochastic calculus to understand it.

There are lots of interesting points made about our society, economy, history and humanity; each with many anecdotes and no formal treatment of what are mostly qualitative arguments. Each can usually be attributed to specific circumstances of the environment, but the overall message is one of coping with unpredictability and seeking to not only survive so called negative events but thrive on them. In an odd way, natural disasters followed by the 'disaster economics' of companies buying up cheap/ruined real estate is a simple example of how it negatively impacts human lives, but benefits large corporations, which are themselves vulnerable to the stability of systems that they were built on.

Taleb has taken an interesting if controversial stance in his book, I thought he was trying to write his version of 'Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance' when I was reading it, and whilst it's not as readable as Pirsig's novels, it is an interesting book, and I applaud the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder
Antifragile: Things that Gain from Disorder by Nassim Nicholas Taleb (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews