Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let this book's fame be great
For those of us who have travelled extensively in the region the rhythms of this text are unmistakable. It captures so well the spririt of those who have inhabited the Caucasus for centuries. The detailed reseach that Bullough undertook means that there is much here you will not read in comparable books.

However it speaks well to those with little knowledge as...
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Alex Allen

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the maps?
The star rating applies solely to the Kindle version. - I began reading the Kindle edition of this book. It was well written and interesting, and I was looking forward to the rest of it. Then I looked for the maps, essential for understanding the book since the geography of the area is not well known (to me anyway) and complicated. But the Kindle edition contains NO maps...
Published 16 months ago by Robert Heinaman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys among the defiant people of the Caucasus (Paperback)
A brilliant insight into a region which is often misunderstood,and sometimes misrepresented. It tells the story of the Circassians and Chechens, of Daghestan and Abkhazia, of war and struggle. Of Russian imperialism (in all shapes and forms) or local antipathies, and of brave resistance or terrorism. Because this is not a simplistic study, claiming that whole peoples are good or bad. It is a thoughtful study by someone with a great sympathy for the peoples of these lands, and a vaqliant attempt to understand what history does to humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, well paced and difficult to put down, 28 May 2011
By 
Spilsbury (UK, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are now a considerable number of books that mix history with travel journalism dipping between history and modern politics. This book is no different in that respect.

The writers style immediately catches the readers intention, and no bad thing considering the ground he has to cover. He describes in considerable detail the historical demise of the Circassian peoples, driven from the Caucasus by Russia in the 19 Century after years of brutal warfare. They died in their thousands escaping to the central part of the Ottomon Empire in what is today Turkey dieing in their thousands from starvation, typhoid, malaria and other tropical diseases. Poignant letters make clear Britain was quite aware of the situation, but impotent or unwilling to assist the beleagured nation that wrote a tragic final plea for help, a few weeks before their expulsion from the homeland to the Houses of Parliament. Today the planned Russian Winter Olympics in Sochi is on the site of exquisitely sensitive national emotion for Circassians. Bullough dug out diaspora in Israel, Kosova and other countries weaving together a sad collective memory, and an impressive attempt to maintain at least some of their Caucasian traditions, that are so important to the Caucasian psyche.
He also covers the Wars of Shamil, which is pretty much old hat, as a host of academic writers like Gammer and Badderly (1940) have amply detailed this side of history.

More interesting is his willingness to criticise Russian and Chechen politics, not something undertaken lightly, but he manages to do this in an effective and intelligent manner. This is a remarkable book for a young writer to have made his debut with, and no doubt there will be more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys among the defiant people of the Caucasus (Paperback)
Although it does not go very deep in studying any of the people of the Caucasus, it is very useful to give an insight on the region about which generally we don't hear a word unless it is related with terrorism. Good to understand the reasons behind the terrorists actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An education, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys among the defiant people of the Caucasus (Paperback)
The author appears to have travelled extensively (the North Caucasus, Israel, Jordan, Turkey, Russia) to gather material for this excellent book.

I only wish such material had been available to the likes of me much earlier in my life. I am much travelled and erudite, but books like this fill in what I realise are large gaps of ignorance about a fairly key part of the world.

Well done Oliver Bullough. Very readable stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the maps?, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Robert Heinaman (Keswick, Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The star rating applies solely to the Kindle version. - I began reading the Kindle edition of this book. It was well written and interesting, and I was looking forward to the rest of it. Then I looked for the maps, essential for understanding the book since the geography of the area is not well known (to me anyway) and complicated. But the Kindle edition contains NO maps. That is absurd, really a rip off. This appears to be a fine book but if you want to read it do not buy the Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cecilia Harvey, 10 April 2010
Fascinating! I would recomend this book to anyone, I very much enjoyed this book. I've learnt so much from reading it and I very much look forward to reading the next book by Mr Bullough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys among the defiant people of the Caucasus
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews