Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cautionary Note
If you have been watching the excellent tv series of Lark Rise to Candleford, you may decide that you would like to have the book. If you were expecting a novel or even sketches like Cranford, you will sorely be disappointed. The books in this trilogy are memoirs and go into life in turn of the century Oxfordshire.

If you are interested in history or what...
Published on 3 Mar. 2008 by M. Dowden

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars book damaged and returned
the front cover of the book was damaged and I returned it straight away. To date I have not recieved a replacement.
Published on 30 Aug. 2009 by Mrs. Mary K. Blackborow


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cautionary Note, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
If you have been watching the excellent tv series of Lark Rise to Candleford, you may decide that you would like to have the book. If you were expecting a novel or even sketches like Cranford, you will sorely be disappointed. The books in this trilogy are memoirs and go into life in turn of the century Oxfordshire.

If you are interested in history or what life was like at the turn of the century in pastoral communities you will love this book. In its pages you will find the games and rhymes of the children, the houses that people lived in, the clothes they wore and what life was really like. This omnibus book is a unique social commentary and is deeply absorbing, as well as very interesting, but remember it isn't what was on the tv. However, it would make a brilliant companion piece to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem, 10 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this delightful book and recommend it highly, especially if you are interested in social history. It is a nice gentle read and very informative of village life and village people in the late 1800's. Flora writes with great insight and foresight about the many people she knows and sees in the villages of Candelford and Lark Rise. Flora through Laura was obviously an extremely deep, sensitive and thoughtful person and at times her humbleness when speaking about herself strikes at the heartstrings. I wish I could have met this lovely lady! This book will be one of my treasures which I shall keep for ever. Don't miss out on this gem of a book. I am now eager to read Flora's biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read!, 5 May 2009
By 
J. Thomson "joanannet" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
I found an ancient copy of Lark Rise (part 1 of this book) in a coffee shop in Hawick, Scottish Borders and having enjoyed the television series bought it for the princely sum of £2. I couldn't put it down....because it was very definitely NOT what I expected which was various heartwarming tales of country folk at the end of the 19th century. What I read was an amazingly descriptive and sensitive autobiographical account of real life in those times, written by Flora Thompson (Laura). The characters from the series are described but it is not so much a novel as a social history in the most readable sense possible. I was so enchanted that I wanted to read and learn more and ordered Larkrise to Candleford so that I might read Over to Candleford and Candleford Green. They did not diasappoint and I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to all those who won't be too disappointed that Twister, Queenie, Miss Ellison and Mr Thomas Brown are not central characters in stories like the television series. They are there of course, but as Laura's (Flora's) memories of days gone by. I have since ordered and read Heatherly (the lost sequel) and thoroughly enjoyed that too. Happy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lark Rise to Candleford, 17 May 2009
By 
Eve Gilmore (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
This book should be read by everyone as it presents a detailed account of how we lived pre-Industrial Revolution and, as such, should stimulate important questions about the way we live today. Lacking are the sugary stories of the TV series, and there is no soft-focus romanticism. The grinding poverty and realities of country living without modern comforts are offset by a strong sense of community, and the author observes how much happier people were then. This book holds a mirror up to the materialistic and dehumanising values of the 21st Century. The support for one another and shared experiences made me envious; the closeness with the cycles of nature emphases how cut-off from this we are today. I was surprised to read that there were no health problems - apart from childbirth and accidents, no degenerative diseases, no viruses, etc., and this was obviously due to eating a diet based on home-grown produce and arduous outdoor physical labour. Older people did develop arthritis but this was after a lifetime of working in the cold and damp. This book is relevant to the problems we face today, and for those of us seeking to return to a more self-sufficient lifestyle, it helps remind us of how unnaturally we live now, how dissatisfied we are and how false our values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Note - This is A History Book!, 14 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
Fans of the BBC adaptation should give this a wide berth if they are expecting witty tales of honest farm folks told in the style of Catherine Cookson. There is virtually NO DIALOGUE within the stories.

For example, the Pratt Sisters whose ludicrous antics and matching outfits took up so much of the BBC series, have little more than one page in the whole of this book! Miss Lane and her post office does not appear until the final 3rd of the compilation. There is no forbidden romance with the local Squire or any tension between him and his wife. Dawn French's larger than life Caroline gets one paragraph on a page!

Instead, this is a glorious peek at the history of rural England, a wonderful read packed with information about the housing, social scene, class system, rural customs and some stories of local people. But it is not anything like the television series and those hoping it will be as accessible are in for a disappointment - in fact 2 friends who were eager to read it both gave it back after failing to get engrossed in what they hoped would be a bumper work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Nostalgics, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Phillips (Bahrain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
An enchanting fictionalised autobiography, covering the author's childhood in late 19th century rural England, and her move in young adulthood to one of the growing towns. I have read it several times, and bought this edition as a gift for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iIlustrated Lark rise, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
julia (Stow on the Wold, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a wonderfully presented book and a nice addition to the bookshelf of anyone who has seen the TV show. It selects the best passages of the original 3 volume work with suitable pictures. A bit nostalgic perhaps but then so is much of our romantic notions of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars larkrise trilogy, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
M. J. Young "Emjaywye" (Brummagem UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
The true story behind the TV series. Much more real and less plastic/mushy than TV. A really good read, and the true story of how the ordinary people of this country existed just over 100 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lark rise, 21 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
This is not the TV series, so do not expect the BBC version. This is a semi-autoboig social historical document of immense importrance. However the charicters are familier as seen in the tv account. A very good read for the reader, historian, and for those who want to see how everyday experiances can by used by an author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lark Rise to Candleford : A Trilogy by Flora Thompson, 11 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green" (Paperback)
This really is an utter joy to read. The recent TV series is excellent and really portrays the book well - however, it cannot compare with all the wonderful, descriptive passages in the book.
This is a time machine! Transport yourself back to a time when yes, times were very hard for a lot of people but the sense of community was far greater than today. What a treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lark Rise to Candleford: A Trilogy: "Lark Rise"; "Over to Candleford"; "Candleford Green"
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews