Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Adventure
One of my absolute favourites novel types, by one of my favourite authors. Chris Kuzneski has snuck into the adventure and UK market with two of his other books, The Sign of the Cross and Sword of God.

The boys, as I fondly refer to Jonathan Payne and his colleague and good friend, David Jones, reprise their roles as adventurers (one time military men with...
Published on 1 Dec 2008 by Mrs. E. de Jager

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
If you love action movies without much of a storyline and lots of explosions and martial arts, then you might also like this book. It reads pretty much like the script for e.g. a Steven Seagal film. The plot is beyond ridiculous, the average 5 year old probably had better understanding of different cultures, and as for the dialogues, well... no comment.

But...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by Granny Weatherwax


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Adventure, 1 Dec 2008
By 
Mrs. E. de Jager "Liz" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
One of my absolute favourites novel types, by one of my favourite authors. Chris Kuzneski has snuck into the adventure and UK market with two of his other books, The Sign of the Cross and Sword of God.

The boys, as I fondly refer to Jonathan Payne and his colleague and good friend, David Jones, reprise their roles as adventurers (one time military men with Payne being the leader of an elite special forces team) in this non-stop action novel about missing treasure, where Chi does indeed mark the spot, eccentric historians, deadly warriors who cling to an ancient way of life, crazy Kafka drinking Finns, an Interpol agent and mysterious Greek Orthodox Monks.

The reason why the two main characters work so well (this being Payne and Jones) is that their banter is such fun to read. The dialogue had me on more than one occasion laughing out loud. They form a good unit, complimenting each other's strengths whilst working towards negating their weaknesses.

In this instance Jones and Payne find themselves in St Petersburg (Russia) helping Alison uncover the mystery surrounding the death of her employer Richard Byrd. I have to say that the author knows how to tease out the clues, set up scenes and create an atmosphere of Bourne-like thrill and adventure, even if you are sitting on your train commuting into work. The action moves from St Petersburg to Greece at breakneck speed as the clues are reasoned out and the next stage of the plot is revealed.

What I loved about this is that the author walks away from the now tired set-up of the Crusades, Templars, blood of Christ and Mary Magdalene, the scripture, lost scrolls in the Holy Land etc., and has found a new enigma for our seekers to hunt. It makes a brilliant change and allows other parts of history to be examined by readers who might not be as familiar with the "new" treasures being sought.

I found the history of the Lost Throne very entertaining and genuinely enjoyed how the author incorporated a well known eccentric historian, Heinrich Schliemann (he "discovered" Troy and Mycenae) who used Homer's books as inspiration for his discoveries, into the storyline.

I am hesitant to make comparisons, but I can't help but point out that if you like Scott Mariani, Steve Berry, (the most dreaded comparison of all) Dan Brown, Will Adams, David Gibbins and Sam Bourne, then you will thoroughly love and enjoy Chris Kuzneski's The Lost Throne.

It is a well researched novel and it takes an interesting (and I hope fictional) view of an ancient warrior society in Greece. I found that the author treated the monastic society in the Aegean with great care, never vilifying them, which made a nice and interesting change from a reader's point of view, leaving you with enough information in the novel, to make your own mind up. I really am looking forward to the next novel as there will be repercussions from the end of this one to follow through. (note to author: hurry up and write!)

I would highly recommend reading The Lost Throne for good escapist fun, especially if you like your adventure stories with good dollops of history, lost treasure and a bit of conjecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
If you love action movies without much of a storyline and lots of explosions and martial arts, then you might also like this book. It reads pretty much like the script for e.g. a Steven Seagal film. The plot is beyond ridiculous, the average 5 year old probably had better understanding of different cultures, and as for the dialogues, well... no comment.

But what was really so awful it was funny was the historical inaccuracies, especially since the author writes as if he is some sort of expert. I am not talking about mixing up some dates or places, the entire book feels as if it refers to a parallel universe. Anyone not American is described like a caricature of the stereotypes about this country/race and anything is allowed to move the plot forward. Apparently Russians live in fear of brutal and racist soldiers and ex KGB, Scandinavians are constantly drunk fishermen, Germans spend their days eating sausages and modern day Greeks dress in helmets, hold swords and stare in amazement at helicopters. But of course everyone speaks English...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crawled over the line!, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Robin Goch (Carmarthenshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
Cannot agree more with other views citing the cliched and "gung ho" style of this book. Also concur that it was an opportunity wasted with potential historical plots going down the "Hollywood" path but I just felt cheated and sort of led into reading 75% of the book then knowing that the heroes with token blonde were going to survive hence my title, I forced myself to finish this book. Certainly will not be heading towards any more works by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant +++, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Kindle Edition)
Chris's done it once again...page turner extraordinaire! Loved it and I just couldn't put the book away, even at dinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Great Payne and Jones story, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
The story really gets you thinking, a Great Payne and Jones story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good thriller I have read all of Chris work, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Kindle Edition)
A good thriller I have read all of Chris work. Writes well and keeps you turning the page for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History meets action, 19 Feb 2014
By 
KM Byrne (Huddersfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Kindle Edition)
Move over Indiana Jones. Payne and Jones have stolen your crown.
A rollercoaster ride through ancient history, with a bit of action thrown in. Treasure, monks and Spartans vie for attention as Payne and Jones rescue a damsel in distress and thwart the murderous attempts of the Spartans. Throw in Nick Dial from Interpol and you have a heady mix which keeps you going to the last word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced adventure., 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
A fast paced adventure story. Although the plot was complicated and sometimes implausible, this was an enjoyable read.
Beheaded monks, ancient treasure, Interpol, a damsel in distress, two ex-military friends and a Spartan army all end up together on Mount Athos.
The book is essentially, how they all got there. Suspense is built as Kuzneski darts between the groups, often leaving them hanging off cliff edges.
So yes, a little formulatic and some suspension of belief required, but still a well written fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Throne, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Kindle Edition)
This man's writing just gets better and better. I love Payne and Jones - when is someone going to bring these characters to the big screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His fourth book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Throne (Paperback)
More good stuff from Chris Kuzneski. Great characters, cracking pace and full of lots happening. Looking forward to reading more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Throne
The Lost Throne by Chris Kuzneski (Paperback - 6 Nov 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews