Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starvation solutions
This book points the finger in the right direction. There is plenty of food. Farmers have no problem to grow plenty but do have a problem to get a proper price because there is an oversupply.Food has never been cheaper in history than it is nowadays.
Due to oversupply and high outer quality standards, there is a lot of outgrade for second and third class and there is...
Published on 29 Nov 2009 by Ron Woods

versus
4 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why is the kindle edition more expensive than the paperback?
I am a keen reader and willing to pay up for a good book. With the kindle becoming ever more ubiquitous, I fail to understand why the paperback comes in cheaper than the electronic kindle version. Publisher/ Amazon: please work together to resolve this nuisance. This issue is present across a number of books on your kindle store/main book website.

Until the...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by S Klamp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star book - Oh yes!, 14 Dec 2012
By 
A. Parsons (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
Real answers are what this book contains. Everyday I am sickened by the food waste I see all around me and now this book has explained to me the impact that this waste has all over the world.

The information about swill feeding to pigs was an enlightenment to me and another bit of the puzzle to understanding the effects of feeding all this grain to our animals.

Like other reviewers have said, this is essential reading for anyone that eats food (or food products)!

Very highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone who eats, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
Every person who eats in order to live should read this book. The others, can skip it. It is a definite "must read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what possibilities, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
Ttristram Stewart's excellently researched book "Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal" is filled with stories about how blatantly we waste our abundant resources, and on that surface level is fairly horrific. However, between the lines, there is a positive glow of possibility and opportunity oozing out of every page. Just think; how easy it would be to feed everybody who currently needs good food, by rising to the challenge of realising that enough is enough, and more than enough is just plain greed.

Excellent book, I'd recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Informative, 23 Oct 2011
By 
N. Thorne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The research and references in this book make it worth reading alone. The bible of the food waste industry.
We still don't really know what the supermarkets are up to. I hope Tristram continues his lobbying to open this particular kimono.

His observations on the truly collosal effect of the UK foot and mouth outbreak on GHG emissions from meat manufacture are enlightening. If the resulting Animal By-Products order of 2001 is ever repealled then maybe some sense will return to the developed world's animal feed market.

Read it and be informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality shock, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
It's a must reed. What Tristram Stuart reveals about the reality of our way of treating food is shocking and appalling and a real eye opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely book, 8 July 2009
By 
Mr. Corin Stuart "gigantliest" (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
Amazing levels of research. Stuart has really got to the bottom of this important global issue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why is the kindle edition more expensive than the paperback?, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
I am a keen reader and willing to pay up for a good book. With the kindle becoming ever more ubiquitous, I fail to understand why the paperback comes in cheaper than the electronic kindle version. Publisher/ Amazon: please work together to resolve this nuisance. This issue is present across a number of books on your kindle store/main book website.

Until the price at least matches I regrettably wont buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Global Publishing Scandal, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal (Paperback)
Amazon - why is the Kindle edition more expensive than a paperback? Who is ripping off whom? You do not blame the publisher for this - so is it you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal
Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal by Tristram Stuart (Paperback - 2 July 2009)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews