Customer Reviews


304 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, but don't plan your life on it
Outlier is a term used in statistics for a data point that stands out from the rest of the sample and this book is about the outliers of success. Near the beginning of the book the author says "... there is something profoundly wrong with the way we make sense of success." There is always more to success than the magical, in-built brilliance of the successful and that...
Published 21 months ago by Mac McAleer

versus
56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty. But, can it fight?
Perhaps the main problem with the book is its use of the word 'outliers' to refer to exceptional people, individuals who achieve so much more than others. It should instead refer to the exceptional circumstances that allowed them their meteoric rise to success. These factors - such as year and era of birth, family background, race and place of education - contain the...
Published on 7 Jan. 2011 by Allen Baird


‹ Previous | 123 24 2531 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Crawford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
fantastic brilliant amazing superb good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking to get to the next level? Read this book!, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
D. Montez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book, "Outliers: The Story of Success" by Malcolm Gladwell teaches readers the fundamentals of recognizing opportunities and taking advantage of them. The many examples provided in the book offers a blueprint in the shaping of one's own destiny. One of the most important tenets of the book was that autonomy, complexity and a connection between effort and reward is the portal through which people become successful.

You can make hundreds of thousands of dollars a year, but if your work does not make you happy, you do not become fulfilled in life, which is the goal of every person on this planet. Without fulfillment, or the sense that what we do is satisfying and meaningful, we become aimless and unhappy because there is very little that will ultimately make you feel happy or fulfilled in life.

Other lessons of the book extol that success follows a predictable course. It is not those with the most money that succeed. It is not those that are the most famous that are successful. It is not those that are the brightest or the smartest in the world that are offered the most lucrative opportunities. Success, in a nutshell, is determined by those who are offered an opportunity and who have the strength and presence of mind to seize and take advantage of them.

This book has taught me that in order to become successful, you cannot wait for your ship to come in; you must swim out to it! Meet challenges head on, persevere and embrace the opportunities that come your way, regardless if they are big or small, significant or seemingly not worthwhile. Behind every action we take is the potential to make our lives, and the lives of those around us, a much better one. We are all born to be successful in our own way; knowing how to use the opportunities given to us is what will get us there.

Overall, I feel that this book offers a very good primer for people, especially those ready to embark on life's journey right out of high school or college, to immediately make a positive impact in their lives. This is a great book, and while a somewhat quick read, the lessons and stories shared within are invaluable to those looking to make a difference in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
loved it - bought the paperback too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All success is luck apparently....epic fail., 28 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
He explains why every success in the world is just luck and chance.

Bill Gates is Richest man in the world because of the year he was born and because he had access to a special computer.
Not to mention the thousands of other decisions he made along the way. Or the thousands of other people who had exactly the same opportunity but didn't take it.

Some interesting stories but Gladwell really missed the point of what it takes to be sucessful

He even goes down to why some people are only successful because they were poor and a jew.
Then others were only successful because they had rich families.

No matter what someone achieved he finds some random piece of information to show that they were just lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but disappointing, 31 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
This is the third Gladwell book that I have read. I started with "The Tipping Point" which was stimulating and for me quite insightful. I followed that expectantly with "blink" - this never seemed to get anywhere and has left me with little recollection of what it was all about. So I had hopes for better things with "Outliers" - the subject matter sounded interesting "Stories of Success" (whilst choosing to overlook some less than glowing reviews here.

I have had the luxury of some quiet reading time this morning and completed the reading journey. The route was interesting: descriptions of all sorts of individual successes with careful analysis of possible cause and effect. I moved towards the concluding chapter with anticipation of it all coming together - it didn't, instead I got the Gladwell family history and was left stranded wondering what I had learned which I could somehow translate into new insight into the world around me, perhaps some clues as to how to make use of the examples to change my behaviour, help others perhaps even myself.

I've rated the book "OK" because there is interesting historical and cultural insight and analysis, but I'm left hugely disappointed at the absence of meaningful (or perhaps applicable) conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up, 19 July 2009
By 
C. Stoss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
An excellent follow up to his previous 2 books. Would recommend to any one who likes to think about our world in a different from traditional view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
Great book, from a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outliers: The Story of Success (Paperback)
Makes you think outside the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change the way you view success, 5 Jun. 2009
I found this book very insightful. The analysis of the relation to a person's age (leaving this vague because I don't want to give too much away in the review) to their performance in sport for example made so much sense - after he presented his case of course. It's one of those things that's right in front of you but don't notice until someone (Iike Malcolm) points it out.

The common theme throughout the book is basically that success isn't about the individual, it's about their environment, culture and even a good dose of chance.

I'm actually finding this review quite difficult to write. The reason being that reciting the examples given in the book would spoil the experience for the next reader.

All I can say is that it is very well researched. Malcom looked at a lot of data and made observations which weren't immediately obvious. In fact, a lot of this has been invisible to most of the population. He went to great effort interviewing people from various backgrounds and professions to make his point.

I cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2531 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outliers: The Story of Success
Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 24 Jun. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews