Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read
I'm a fan of Malcolm Gladwell having read his previous Blink and The Tipping Point. All his books are about interesting topics and are told in a way that keeps the reader engaged. Similarly to the other books the criticism can always be made that he makes about 4-5 valid points and stretches them out to a full book but when the writing is engaging and takes you on a...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by NeilC

versus
49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty. But, can it fight?
Perhaps the main problem with the book is its use of the word 'outliers' to refer to exceptional people, individuals who achieve so much more than others. It should instead refer to the exceptional circumstances that allowed them their meteoric rise to success. These factors - such as year and era of birth, family background, race and place of education - contain the...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Allen Baird


‹ Previous | 122 23 2428 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change the way you view success, 5 Jun 2009
I found this book very insightful. The analysis of the relation to a person's age (leaving this vague because I don't want to give too much away in the review) to their performance in sport for example made so much sense - after he presented his case of course. It's one of those things that's right in front of you but don't notice until someone (Iike Malcolm) points it out.

The common theme throughout the book is basically that success isn't about the individual, it's about their environment, culture and even a good dose of chance.

I'm actually finding this review quite difficult to write. The reason being that reciting the examples given in the book would spoil the experience for the next reader.

All I can say is that it is very well researched. Malcom looked at a lot of data and made observations which weren't immediately obvious. In fact, a lot of this has been invisible to most of the population. He went to great effort interviewing people from various backgrounds and professions to make his point.

I cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Successful peopl are not self made men, 14 Mar 2009
By 
M. Hillmann "miles" (leicester, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following The Tipping Point and Blink - another thought provoking book by Malcolm Gladwell told by human stories - but carefully researched.

Successful people are not self made men. Success is not a random act - it arises out of a predictable and powerful set of circumstances and opportunities.

The sense of possibility so necessary for success comes not just from inside us or our parents. It comes from our time and from the particular opportunities that our own particular place in history presents us with. For a young would be lawyer being born in the early 1930's was a magic time, just as being born in 1955 was for a software programmer (Bill Gates, Steve Jobs , Sergei and Brin (Google)) or being born in 1835 was for an entrepreneur.

The other ingredient he analyses is hard work - the 10,000 hour rule to achieve success. Numerous examples including The Beatles 10,000 hours in Hamburg playing all night before they were ever heard of. Why rice cultivation leads to a culture of hard work and so success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my perception of success!, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Fredrick (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for motivation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting reading:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much for ubermensch..., 7 Feb 2009
A clear, concise and largely coherent analysis of the ancillary congeners to success. As stated in previous reviews, Gladwell makes a case for the idea that success is as much dependent on a serendipitous amalgam of environmental factors - temporal, cultural and even linguistic - as innate ability, effort and persistence. That the difference between achievement and disappointment is as much a function of where you came from and the opportunities available to you as it is your own actions is a sobering one. What's more he makes the case in an entertaining way with frequent recourse to fascinating anecdotes and vignettes of individual histories. I really enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not as good as its' predecessors., 9 Oct 2009
As usual, Malcolm Gladwell has come up with a different spin on topics most of us take for granted, if we think about them at all. This time around he looks at the nature of success, who achieves it and why. Gladwell has a nice easy accessible style of writing and certainly he makes you look at things through different eyes. I felt he was on slightly thinner ground some of his theses here, and some of his arguments provoked a 'so what' shrug rather than any sense of enlightenment. He's always worth reading, but if you're new to Gladwell start with The Tipping Point to get the synapses firing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brilliant, 16 Feb 2009
By 
I have been a fan of Gladwell's since reading 'The Tipping Point' and 'Blink' a year or so ago, and seeing him on TED Talks. I ordered 'Outliers' as soon as I saw it was available, without really knowing much about it beyond the flyleaf description.

I found 'Outliers' to be as compelling, revelatory, brilliantly observed and laterally minded as the previous two - but more personally related, which I enjoyed. I have recommended it to many friends, and even sent out a couple of copies I was so keen to have loved ones read it. It is a profoundly insightful, fascinating and kinetic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2428 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outliers: The Story of Sucess
Outliers: The Story of Sucess by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 24 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £1.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews