Customer Reviews


889 Reviews
5 star:
 (684)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading cos it's brilliant, never mind all the hype!
If you can, skip the introduction to 1984.
Forget the film. Or any other adaptation.
Forget that it *might* be comment on society 50 years ago and that it *might* apply to Soviet / Sino governments which hardly exist any more.
The themes which Orwell tackles are completely relevant today, and his method for exploring them is as fresh now as when I first...
Published on 31 July 2007 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!
I first tried to read this book when I was thirteen. I got to the fourth or fifth chapter and gave up; I just didn't get it. My daughter is now reading the book at school and having the same problem with it, so I decided to give it another go to help her understand the story. I'm glad I did because it is a very interesting book and deals with relevant issues of today;...
Published 15 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 155 56 5789 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book that you can just read time and time again without it getting boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars first george orwell, 24 May 2010
By 
Ms. Jm Monaghan "monners1988" (monners1988) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-four (Paperback)
it was my first book by george and i have ordered animal farm staight away i loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deviates corrected for their own good, 20 April 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In a society that has eliminated many imbalances, surplus goods, and even class struggle, there are bound to be deviates; Winston Smith is one of those. He starts out, due to his inability to doublethink, with thoughtcrime. This is in a society that believes a thought is as real as the deed. Eventually he graduates through a series of misdemeanors to illicit sex and even plans to overthrow the very government that took him in as an orphan.

If he gets caught, he will be sent to the "Ministry of Love" where they have a record of 100% cures for this sort of insanity. They will even forgive his past indiscretions.

Be sure to watch the three different movies made from this book:

1984 (1954) Peter Cushing is Winston Smith

1984 (1956) Edmond O'Brien is Winston Smith

Nineteen Eighty-Four (1984) John Hurt is Winston smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book i have ever read, and probably ever will, 30 Nov. 2009
By 
David Mcmahon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book doesn't exist, and neither do you :)

LOVE AND KISSES

BIG BROTHER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Won't last many reads and spin vending - quality could be better, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very thin spine! Won't last many reads and spin vending - quality could be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Especially in modern times which gives the book a great edge., 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading. Especially in modern times which gives the book a great edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Grayson (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing to add except it's a classic. I love the new cover design; very clever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
I found this book scary and disturbing but it really made me think about a lot of things when i had finished. Big Brother was a truly frightening figure, the fact that he could control your life, your past, he could even take away your very existence. Yet Winston holds on to the fact that they can't get inside his mind, they can't control his beliefs.
This is a brilliant book and i found it a very interesting read with a really strong message at the end.
I passed this book to my dad after i had read it and he loved it too. I'm now looking forward to reading more of Orwell's books.
Zoe, age 14 "2+2= ?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
SM (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing read- George Orwell you may aswell be talking about the 21st century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars rubbish book, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality just dislike the book. Take care of it as it is easily damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 155 56 5789 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nineteen Eighty-four
Nineteen Eighty-four by George Orwell (Paperback - 3 July 2008)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews