Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Fiction...
This book is good in all the ways a good book should be. Many have complained that it is so unbelievable but isn't that what you want from a good fiction novel? Yes half the plot would probably not happen to you in a month of Sundays but it made for exciting reading.

The plot centres on fern. A florist who is stuck in a rut with her boyfriend. With 30...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by Steph

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Throwaway fluff but fun all the same
I'm not a die-hard fan of either chick-lit or Parks but picked this up for some light relief and would say that it half delivers.

The characters are all very predictable: Fern the florist, lazy old boyfriend, gay best friend, new rock star Robbie-Williams-alike new boyfriend etc.

Fern can often be really, really irritating: after moaning on about her...
Published on 19 Mar. 2010 by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Throwaway fluff but fun all the same, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I'm not a die-hard fan of either chick-lit or Parks but picked this up for some light relief and would say that it half delivers.

The characters are all very predictable: Fern the florist, lazy old boyfriend, gay best friend, new rock star Robbie-Williams-alike new boyfriend etc.

Fern can often be really, really irritating: after moaning on about her current boyfriend's inadequacies, she then issues him with an ultimatum - propose or they're over. And, later, almost forces herself into an unwanted marriage since she 'has no other option'. For an educated girl of 30 with a job that's really pathetic...

However, the fun part is when she's whisked off to LA to live a life of wealth and luxury, and Fern's huge enjoyment of the whole thing is completely infectious and fun. The contrived 'chastity pact' , though, seems absurd and neither of the men were at all attractive in my view which rather spoilt the point of the reading experience.

So really no more than brainless fluff, completely throwaway and forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Fiction..., 26 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
This book is good in all the ways a good book should be. Many have complained that it is so unbelievable but isn't that what you want from a good fiction novel? Yes half the plot would probably not happen to you in a month of Sundays but it made for exciting reading.

The plot centres on fern. A florist who is stuck in a rut with her boyfriend. With 30 approaching she gives him an ultimatum - marry me or it's over. On the morning of her 30th Adam does not acknowledge the ultimatum but gives her tickets to the Scottie concert - which he got free. With this still stuck in her mind she embarks or a whirlwind romance with Scottie leaving Adam for dust but she then has to ask herself is the grass greener?

This book is so out there and unbelievable that you get swept into he story from page one. Fern, Scott and Adam are all extremely likeable characters despite their flaws and although it is a fairly out there book you do experience the feeling that the characters feel. It was a joy to read this book and I would recommend it on. Yes it is farfetched - but that is what makes it so fantastic. It is well written and stick to Adele's quirky writing style. I would recommend this and most of her other books to all fans of chick lit novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Jen (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I've read all of Adele Parks' books except the most recent one and this is the one I enjoyed the least by far. Her other books are passable chick-lit novels and some of them are really pretty good. Playing Away, for example, is miles better than this one. Love Lies is just completely unbelievable and cringey in places. As always, I find her dialogue odd and clunky but I can usually overlook this for an entertaining story. This, however, has no depth and none of the characters are very believable or likeable. One of the things I like about other Adele Parks books is that her main characters are almost always deeply flawed and/or do unpleasant things, yet you forgive them in the end when you get to know them better. Fern in this novel, however, is just ridiculously shallow and dim and lacks any redeeming features. If you want a light hearted holiday read, this might hold your attention, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Parks off-form with this contractual obligation, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I've read all Adele Parks' books so I eagerly purchased Love Lies. But I found it very disappointing. Unlike her previous books, where she developed interesting, compelling and not always likeable characters, this was a cookie cutter formulaeic read. It was as if she couldn't wait to hurry over to Los Angeles and write about the popstar's luxurious home, Rodeo Drive and parties, because the earlier part of the book about Fern's break-up with Adam and how she falls in love overnight with the popstar is rushed through and lazily written as if we're just supposed to imagine for ourselves any chemistry or powerful emotions. It doesn't seem credible that one minute she's playing strip poker, like any groupie, with Scottie the popstar and the next minute she's left everything behind to flit off to the US with him.

This book represents a severe departure from form for Parks. It seemed like she wrote it very fast and carelessly. It wasn't at all thought provoking like some of her other books. The ending was all too predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Listless lies, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
In this novel Parks writes about Clapham based florist Fern, who's on the cusp of turning thirty. She lives with her boyfriend, roadie/stage manager Adam and one of her best friends, Jess, in a small flat, but after three years of living together Fern wants more and issues Adam with an ultimatum that he has to propose marriage before she hits the big 3-0. So far, so standard chick lit plot, as she's also in possession of a gay boss/friend and a slightly dysfunctional background. Anyway, all doesn't go to plan and through Adam's job Fern meets Scottie Taylor, a thinly disguised slightly more crazy Robbie Williamsesque pop artiste and the two hit it off, get engaged and move to LA. The majority of the rest of the book, which runs to 500 pages, describes Fern's luxurious life in great detail, although you get the impression that the author's knowledge of LA is derived from TV programmes or other books, but I'd be interested to be proved wrong on this score. Parks' sexy and enticing writing style manages to draw the reader in but there's clearly something missing. There's a plot twist towards the end which is pretty obvious but does make the story slightly more interesting.

In my opinion Adele Parks used to be one of the best chick lit authors in the UK, her ability to bring believable characters to live with lively, witty and observant prose really lifted this now slightly tired out of the ordinary. Unfortunately, her last two books haven't shown the promise of ther earlier novels and it's a shame because the talent is clearly still apparent, but maybe a change of direction is required?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adele Parkes - Love Lies, 31 July 2009
By 
E. Ward "'emmagleb'" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I've read all of Adele Parks books and this is my least favourite. It was entertaining, but was extremely easy to read and didn't hold my interest. The characters were unrealistic, under-developed and stereotyped, which made their parts dull and uninteresting. Characters who could have been more interesting took a backseat while the more important ones weren't utilised fully.

The story centres of Fern, who is so wrapped up in the idea of turning thirty that she irrationally places an ultimatum on her boyfreind of four years. When he doesn't deliver she throws herself into a new relationship with heart-throb-come-stroppy-diva Scottie Taylor (think Robbie Williams only to more excess). From there she is whisked away to LA to start her new life. This screams *rebounding crush* and *PR stunt* but this is something Fern learns very slowly as she's blinded by the novelty. Everyone else (outside the couple) knows but she doesn't.

The moral of the story is that money can't buy you happiness (which is predictable, so I'm really not ruining anything), and this resounds throughout the entire book. However, this theme is obvious from the offset so the book needed something else alongside this to carry it forward properly. By halfway through I was still waiting for something to start and was bored with it. Ms Parks usually gives a far jucier story than this!

As mentioned, the ending is very predictable (I bet even reading this far is enough). There is a subtle twist, which lasts all of three chapters, which rescues the ending from one star to two. The book earns its third star through some good (but not excellent) scene setting and character development at the beginning. These unfortunately are the only descriptions like this we get.

For me, the best book Ms Parks has ever written is 'Tell Me Something', which I enjoyed, and 'Love Lies' pales into insignificance next to it. I'm hoping that this is a blip in the author's bestselling history, and that her next books will be better. Not the best, stick to Marian Keyes' 'This Charming Man' for the time being!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can fame and money always give you what you want? .., 22 Feb. 2010
By 
E. Goodwin "Dappyemma" (Midhurst, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
After reading my first Adele Parks book a long time ago I was drawn to reading this one after reading the back in Tescos, and I'm glad that I did.
Fern, the main character and main narrator, is fast approaching her 30th birthday and panicking about weather her long term boyfriend is ever going to propose to her so she does the unthinkable and issues him with an ultimateum, and after a chance meeting and connection with hot rock star Scotty Taylor her mind is definatly made up that she needs a change in her life and the life of a rock star might just be what she needs.
I liked in this book having the main narration by Fern but occasionally some from Scott as well. It gives us an insite that Fren doesn't know everything like she thinks she does. The general story is good if, like me, you like stories set in the world of the rich and famous. It also makes you think that maybe it is possible for a 'normal' person can be thrust into it.
Generally this book is a moral telling story which is, be careful what you wish for as it might not be all what you thought it could be, but with a lot of fun and drama along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I feel incredibly torn over this book. On the one hand, it was silly, quite badly written (very rushed in places) and annoying. I couldn't believe that Fern couldn't see right through what Scott was doing and the ending was, quite frankly, ridiculous. Although, I usually like having different characters as the narrator(s), this didn't work here.

On the other, it's every girl's dream. It was a light hearted read and I read it fairly quickly. You get swept up into this world, which Parks creates for you.

I settled on three stars because it is no-where near Parks' usual standard, but I quite liked it. It's a fun-loving, easy read and it's worth a look - just don't expect too much x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY ANNOYED, 20 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
I've loved all of Adele Parks books until now. This is weak with characters you cannot like. The fern character literally moans, groans and just gets on our nerves for the first few pages. The story has been told before. I would recommend "Johnny Be Good" by Paige Toon - tells the same story in an interesting and funny way...........come on Adele lets hope the next one will be back on track? I would rather you waited until you had a good story to tell rather then churn out this terrible tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where has Adele Parks Gone?, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Lies (Paperback)
A very fluffy and lightweight, dare I say dull read, and quite unlike Adele Parks earlier work. I didn't like it, barely managed to finish it, and felt a little cheated.

(I'd even go as far as saying 'ghost writer').

If you liked the Adele Parks of old (think: The Other Womans Shoes, Larger than Life), this will dissapoint.

On the plus side, my teenage daughter loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Lies
Love Lies by Adele Parks (Paperback - 30 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews