Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bootleg Bond
I've only recently read the Ian Fleming novels and was pleased to see this book released - a chance to read another James Bond adventure and see Sebastian Faulks' take on the James Bond legend. The book makes a good first impression with a great title (hopefully a film will use it in future) and cover.

Faulks is credited as 'writing as Ian Fleming' and has done...
Published on 6 April 2009 by DAZ

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The style is there, but there's no substance
"Devil May Care" is a lightweight, enjoyable pot boiler that is highly reminiscent of the Ian Fleming novels and also the Sean Connery 007 movies. I definitely felt that Sebastian Faulks nailed Fleming's writing style. Unfortunately he has been less successful in constructing a compelling plot and characters.

I very much enjoyed the first half the book which...
Published on 8 July 2008 by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bootleg Bond, 6 April 2009
By 
DAZ (Manchester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Devil May Care (Paperback)
I've only recently read the Ian Fleming novels and was pleased to see this book released - a chance to read another James Bond adventure and see Sebastian Faulks' take on the James Bond legend. The book makes a good first impression with a great title (hopefully a film will use it in future) and cover.

Faulks is credited as 'writing as Ian Fleming' and has done a very good job of imitating Fleming's writing style. The book definitely feels like one of the originals in style and follows on from the last Fleming story ('The Man With The Golden Gun'). Unfortunately this is the book's main weakness - it feels too much like a tribute and lacks any originality. In order to achieve such a likeness to the original novels, Faulks has lifted so much from them that it feels like 'Bond by Numbers' - all the usual suspects are here: a train ride, fight on a plane, underwater scene and a mad villain's secret plan to bring down Britain together with the expected girls, alcoholic drinks and foreign locations. The characters, plot and locations all have certain deja-vu feel to them that makes the story feel formulaic. Goldfinger and Moonraker are the books that spring to mind most often when reading this.

There are also far too many nods and references to the previous books - it's almost as if Faulks is trying to prove that he's read them all. It was nice to see Rene Mathis and Felix Leiter appear again, but their presence didn't seem to add much to the plot and I was left feeling that they were just there for the sake of nostalgia.

Having said all that, the story is enjoyable and it is nice to be able to read one more James Bond adventure. It could have been a lot worse, but it felt like an opportunity was lost. It's like going to watch a tribute band such as the Bootleg Beatles - they do a great job of impersonating a band that you can't see any more ... it just doesn't feel quite the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Mr Bond, 29 May 2008
By 
M. W. Withnall (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this at 11 yesterday morning and went to bed at 3 this morning. Forget Raymond Benson and John Gardner, this is vintage James Bond, you can feel Fleming's ghost over your shoulder, it reads like the best of his books with a fast moving plot bags,of gourmet food and drink with a cracking villain. I always liked the early Bond books never liked the films, the Bond in the books was toally different darker and more vulnerable, and if you are expecting the Bond of the movies you will be disappointed. Sebastian Faulks has captured this brilliantly. I hope he writes another, I think Bond does for the fifties and sixties what Sherlock Holmes has done for the Victorian and Edwardian age the early books are becoming classics (my old english teacher will role over in his grave)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The style is there, but there's no substance, 8 July 2008
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"Devil May Care" is a lightweight, enjoyable pot boiler that is highly reminiscent of the Ian Fleming novels and also the Sean Connery 007 movies. I definitely felt that Sebastian Faulks nailed Fleming's writing style. Unfortunately he has been less successful in constructing a compelling plot and characters.

I very much enjoyed the first half the book which vividly recreates the late 60s. Bond's initial confrontation with the villain is over a game of tennis that reads more like a duel and has all the tension of Casino Royale. The love interest, Scarlett, also makes a dramatic entry. However the second half of the book rapidly loses momentum and pace and the overly-complicated plot gets bogged down with lengthy explanations and the introduction of characters (like Felix Leiter) who add little to the story. The villain's motivations are clichés and the book concludes with a final twist that comes as less of a surprise than it seems it was intended to be.

Three stars, because it's still a quick and fun read that captures the essence of Fleming's writing. But it's not what it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racy but ludicrous - just as good as Fleming!, 9 Jun 2008
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Bond has lost his licence to thrill" proclaimed The Scotsman newspaper in a review in the edition the day after this book was published. A play on words dreamt up months if not years ago, I should think, and having now read the book, one week on, written on the basis of a less than complete reading of it.

I read "Devil May Care" while considering the question "if I did not know that was not written by Ian Fleming (say about1967, when it is set), would I have known?". In short, I think not. Faulks captures Flemings' style brilliantly.

Faulks does allow himself a few nods to the Bond films as well as to the earlier books (Flemings' ones only - even Kingsley Amis/Robert Markham's Colonel Sun appears to have been discounted, not to mention the 23 other Bond novels. (Fleming published 12 novels, plus two collections of short stories.)) The villain, one Dr Julius Gorner, has more than a passing resemblance to Drax ("Moonraker") and appears in one scene "in a tropical suit with a carnation" just as I remember Charles Gray playing Blofeld in one of the films. There are some topical references too: opium poppies are coming from Helmand province in Afghanisatan - which just happens to be where British troops are battling the drugs trade and international terrorism today. Bond is equipped with a gadget by "Q Section" (there was never a man called "Q" in the books, just the films); Bond, however, fails to use it or even mention it again.

The plot's formula follows Fleming's established pattern with only the requisite number of variations. Bond is on a sabbatical, because he is losing his touch and has not quite recovered after the snake bite poisoning from Scaramanga's bullet two years before. He is on the wagon on doctor's orders. We know that all is not well when a woman offers herself to him - but he turns her down. There is an early "social" encounter with the villain, after which Bond follows him to his lair, falls into his evil clutches, is set a test to challenge the very best, fails but subsequently escapes, kills the baddie, saves the world. Did I mention that Felix Leiter appears to help out (and boost sales in the US?). As ever Bond has a female accomplice, and here I think Faulks does achieve something new. I was kept guessing throughout the book as to whether she was really what she said she was, and, if she was not, whether that was good or bad. I guessed the wrong way.

Lest you think that I am seeking to belittle the Bond novels, far from it. They are brilliant - entertaining, informative in their way, racy - but the plots were always (if you thought them through) a bit ludicrous. That was the point - and not the point - a willing suspension of disbelief was all that was needed, but was essential. If you want (to pretend you are reading) something more credible try Le Carre or even, god knows, Gerald Seymour or Andy McNab.

If I have any bones to pick, then I point out one "continuity" mistake that made it through (even though Faulks re-read all of the Bond books before writing this one. Bond could not have "found himself at last in Russia" because he had travelled across Russia between the end of You Only Live Twice" and the beginning of "The Man with the Golden Gun". I am inclined to accept that Faulks did this intentionally, however, as Bond had, perhaps, not been entirely in his own mind on that journey - he was being brainwashed by the KGB. Perhaps more irritatingly, some "new" characters were really quite derivative - quite apart from Gorner, Bond's SIS contact in the Middle East is almost identical to Kerim Darko from "From Russia with Love" - it is one thing to tip the wink to the original book, quite another to copy characters!

A well-reconstructed blast from the past, I loved it. Whether I think Faulks or anyone else should write any more Bond novels I don't know - but, on the basis of this work, I'd be prepared to give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Devilled eggs, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Care (James Bond) (Paperback)
Why is it that when writers (Charlie Higson excepted) get commissioned to continue the megabucks 007 franchise they invariably screw it up? Faulks' homage to Ian Fleming is no exception to this rule. In fact it ranks as one of the worst post-Fleming novels. To begin with, it is less respectful of its source material than it is plain derivative. The villain cheats at sport (Goldfinger), there's something wrong with one of his hands (Dr No), he has an emotionless Asian henchman with a penchant for anachronistic headwear (Goldfinger), Bond kills said henchman after a fight in a train compartment (From Russia With Love), Bond dispatches a guard by dropping on him from above his cell door (Goldfinger anyone?) and on it goes.

Arguably, this could be presented as part and parcel of the homage, but coupled with multiple plot absurdities and some astonishing oversights, that idea has no weight. We are told, for example, that Bond's mouth is badly slashed after crashing a jeep, yet in the next chapter he manages to hide broken glass sharp enough to cut a rope under his tongue. When Bond is captured and returned to his cell, his excuse is that he had gone to find Gorner to tell him someone had escaped. There is no reference to the dead guard he must have left in the cell. Then of course there's the description of Chagrin's agony at Bond's hands on the train, when we have been explicitly told earlier that Chagrin was incapable of feeling pain.

But does Faulks come anywhere near to capturing the essence of Bond as a character? Far from it. His tactic seems to be to try and understand the man through what he eats, which is eggs, eggs and more eggs, as well as what he drinks, copious amounts of liquor wherever he can get his (surely?) shaking hands on it. The reappearance of old friends Mathis and Leiter is another tactic, but they end up being largely superfluous to the plot, Mathis more interested in his affair, and Leiter finding it difficult to negotiate the Persian sands with his prosthetic leg.

It is surprising that Faulks claims to have written the book in six weeks. Most writers would have taken half the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Devil May Care, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil May Care (James Bond) (Paperback)
I've been a fan of the old Bond films for years, and am just as enthusiastic about the Daniel Craig `reboot', which thematically is much more in keeping with Fleming's novels. This came out around the same time as `Casino Royale' and I've been waiting to read it ever since.

Despite the tacky cover, everything about this is pure Fleming Bond. It's clear that Faulks has had a lot of fun writing this, and it reads like a love letter to everything that makes the franchise what it is: interesting villains, irresistible girls and plenty of action.

Amazingly Faulks stops all this just short of cheesy or cheap. There are some brilliant scenes that feel right out of the early stories: a gentleman's challenge over a tennis game; a girl who Bond can't trust; a big plot to be uncovered and prevented.

The dialogue is great - M is absolutely spot on and you can hear his voice hammering from the page. Bond himself doesn't seem to say and awful lot though, but the narrative is from his point of view and fills in the gaps. He drinks a lot, is never without a cigarette and eats a lot of scrambled eggs. I got a big chunk of Connery in this Bond, with the best bits of Moore without the smarminess, and a dollop of the Craig realism. You can imagine Faulks' Bond as whichever actor you prefer and I think this would work.

There's plenty of attention to detail, with Fleming could really overdo at times, but the pacing is fine and the action isn't overblown. It feels very down to earth and gritty, rather than the slickness of the Moore films which lost some of that charm.

It's a shame that the ending fizzles out a little, but the only real flaw with this is the complimentary interview with Faulks at the end (I don't think all copies have this). Unfortunately it reveals old Sebastian as a pompous elitist who apparently had his arm twisted into writing this kind of trite and unliterary stuff, and boasts at how busy he is whilst putting down Fleming unashamedly - you would think he would have a little more grace.

I don't let this affect my rating however, and if I did the essay on writing thrillers written by Fleming himself would more than make up for the sour taste left in my mouth - a frank insight into the writer's mind.

Great fun and fine fiction, well worth reading if you're even a casual fan of James Bond.

8.5 / 10

David Brookes
Author of `Half Discovered Wings'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bond may not be back but it's a pretty good repeat, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Care (James Bond) (Paperback)
James Bond is physically and psychologically bruised from his previous adventures. His enforced, booze-free sabbatical in the Caribbean and Italy, however, is brought to a sudden conclusion when Great Britain faces an unexpected threat emanating from the poppy fields of the Middle East. A bored Bond gratefully picks up his Walther, pours a bourbon and heads for Paris.

Despite the very modern concern with the threat of recreational drugs, Devil May Care is a period piece firmly rooted in Bond's 1960s heyday. Behind the veneer of mechanized opium production is a typically cold-war threat, which makes interesting uses the hindsight created by the collapse of the iron curtain by employing real, subsequently declassified technological oddities in the plot.

Sebastian Faulks doesn't try to inject anything particularly new into the formula, rather he carefully apes Flemming's style and approach. Indeed, he is writing `as Ian Flemming'. If anything, the mimicry is too faithful; favourite supporting characters like Felix Lighter pop up with unnecessary frequency and Faulks' characterisation of Bond, written so many years after the original, almost falls into parody as he drinks, seduces and fights his way around the world. Even the prose, sticking so closely to the Flemming model, occasionally swerves into outright pastiche.

It's difficult not to think that Faulks felt he had to send up the casual misogyny and brutality of the original novels but in doing so he also loses some of the immediate vitality of them. Nevertheless, he's too good a writer not to find fun in a character like James Bond. For all of its problems, this is a pretty good spy thriller and it's difficult not to warm to a novel in which the main (very effective) action scene of the first half is a game of tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If I had known..., 5 Jun 2013
By 
Stephen C. Grantham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...how bad this book was, I would never have bought it.

Having read all the 'real' Bond books, most more than once, and even one post-Fleming, Kingsley Amis' "Colonel Sun", I thought I would enjoy another episode in the life of 007. Oh dear, was I in for a disappointment.

It started well enough but from the moment Bond himself appeared, it all went downhill. It seems that the author has sought out every cliche, every trope from all the previous Fleming books and crammed them into one volume. Do we have a megalomaniac with a hatred of Britain (Hugo Drax in Moonraker)? Yes. Do we have a psychotic Far Eastern henchman (Oddjob in Goldfinger) ? Yes. Do we have a villain's lair in some obscure part of the world where all the secret plans are hatched and Bond has to escape from (You Only Live Twice, most of the others)? Yes. Do have a beautiful woman for Bond to rescue (Too many to mention)? Of course we do. Exotic foreign locations, goes without saying. Do the Big Villain and henchman die in imaginative and improbable circumstances? What do you think? It doesn't end there either. All of the usual brand names get a mention too, the cigarettes, the Bentley, the drinks, you name it and they're there somewhere. Although, now I think of it, no mention of Rolex.

When it comes to the story itself, it is Bond-by-numbers. Fights, a bit of underwater action, Bond gets captured and endures maltreatment and taunting by the Big Villain before escaping. Bond, of course saves world. Now I agree, all of this is what one expects from a Bond book but at least it could be written with some originality. This isn't. Even the 'running gag' concerning a new 00 operative is clunky and, completely telegraphed thought the whole book. Why Bond is surprised, given his implied intelligence, is the biggest mystery in the book.

Something else that really irritates, something that Fleming never did, is the constant references to other books. There are mentions of Scaramanga, the loss of Bond's wife, Japan, characters from With Russia With Love, random mentions of SMERSH and many others. It seems that the author is desperate to let the reader know that, he too, has read all the other books and wants to show he's done his research. Why, you may ask, did I even bother to finish it? I just wanted to see just how many 'Bondisms' could be shoehorned into one book.

If you even consider buying this book, save your money. Read one of the real, Ian Fleming, Bond's instead. At least you'l get an original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to Ian Fleming, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Graham Mummery (Sevenoaks, Kent England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is interesting that the literary heirs to Ian Fleming are now choosing writers from all genres to write sequels to his legacy. Of course the first even one, back in the nineteen sixties Colonel Sun: A James Bond Adventure was written by Kinglsey Amis (writing as Robert Markham) who also wrote what is still one of the best ever studies of the Bond novels The James Bond Dossier.

Now we come to this novel, Sebastian Faulks has impeccable literary credentials. He has made an impressive study of Ian Fleming and his literary style. Furthermore, unlike some of the other writers of sequels so far, Amis excepted, he has set his novel in the fifties/sixties when the novels were originally set. All of this is good, the novel certainly has some of the pace and freshness of the originals. And though I've enjoyed some of the updates by John Gardner, Raymond Benson and Jeffrey Deaver, this is certainly the most successful sequel since the Amis/Markham outing.

The characterization of Bond and M also rings true to the Fleming originals. He is slightly less successful with Felix Leiter who makes an appearance, but who doesn't really add to the humour and the plot or even quite the warmth he had in the Fleming books. In fact he is more like the many of the rather insipid versions seen in many of the films. The villain, Dr. Julius Gorner, however is up to standard and he puts Bond through a number of torturous trials and has a memorable real tennis match even if that is reminiscent of Goldfinger (Penguin Modern Classics). The Bond girl/woman is perhaps slightly more modern than the usual women in the Fleming novels, but still convincing. The plot itself is as preposterous as expected, an attempt to discredit Britain. This is carried forward with pace and there are other memorable scenes, though to my my mind the climax and final scenes are a somewhat a let-down.

All in all this an entertaining read even if it is a little formulaic. But then perhaps that is what we wanted- something to remind us of the greatness of the originals. It certainly achieves that, and deserves some credit as an achievement it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bond/Fleming - Faulks hits the target, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Devil May Care (James Bond) (Paperback)
Considering I've just read (and reviewed) Carte Blanche, I thought I'd revisit Devil May Care, just to re-assess my opinion of it in comparison to the latest addition to the Bond legacy by Deaver.

Two very different styles admittedly, but I think Faulk's actually nails the Fleming style and essence of the Bond character. With Fleming's own later books, which seemed to lose their gloss slightly, Devil May Care seems to fit in perfectly as the `next in the series', as if Fleming himself has carried on writing. This is by no means classic Bond, but it's an interesting and entertaining addition to the Bond novels and one I would read again.

The voice of Fleming lives on in Devil May Care, as does Bond as Fleming had known him. I don't think any Bond writer so far had managed to create a memorable villain, which is where Fleming excelled.

I hope Faulk's writes again, in the style of Fleming, and refines and includes his own style to create another Bond story like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil May Care (James Bond)
Devil May Care (James Bond) by Sebastian Faulks (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews