Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Payne & Jones
I love Chris Kuzneski books but if your not a fan of 'edge of your seat' action films then you are not really going to like these books. The Sword of God is the third offering from Chris Kuzneski and it follows the usual format. Most of your favourite characters are back including the indestructible Payne and Jones and the storyline is packed with death and destruction as...
Published on 26 Jan. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and annoying, in equal measure
I'm in complete agreement with J. D. Whittle on this one, although I made it about half way before putting myself out of my misery and giving up. I don't normally write reviews on books I don't finish, as I feel it is unfair on those reading the review and the author. However, I feel so strongly about this book I'll make an exception. The "humour", such as it is, is...
Published on 20 Sept. 2009 by Matthew Turner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Payne & Jones, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (stoke-on-trent, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sword of God (Paperback)
I love Chris Kuzneski books but if your not a fan of 'edge of your seat' action films then you are not really going to like these books. The Sword of God is the third offering from Chris Kuzneski and it follows the usual format. Most of your favourite characters are back including the indestructible Payne and Jones and the storyline is packed with death and destruction as per usual. This book features the usual religious aspect that Kuzneski likes to include and he handles the subject with a fair amount of accuracy as usual.

Worth a read, a good book for the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and annoying, in equal measure, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
Matthew Turner "loyalroyal" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sword of God (Paperback)
I'm in complete agreement with J. D. Whittle on this one, although I made it about half way before putting myself out of my misery and giving up. I don't normally write reviews on books I don't finish, as I feel it is unfair on those reading the review and the author. However, I feel so strongly about this book I'll make an exception. The "humour", such as it is, is terrible, misplaced and childish. The plot, from what I could make of it, was non-existent, derivative and slow - something to do with a sword. In fact I'm so unsure of what the book was about, it was never explained in any detail. By the time I got half way I could fathom no link between Payne and Jones (the main protagonists) investigating a cave full of blood and a missing boy in Korea, and events in Mecca. To be fair, such a link would have been explained in the rest of the book but I had ceased to care.

Payne and Jones have to be two of the most annoying characters in this type of fiction. Unbelievably smart, nothing can beat them, be it terrorists, codes, whatever. They are "too" clever to make them plausible. For a smart man, Jones is equally childish. Like in an earlier book, the author spoon feeds us the story, telling us that something is going to happen, or someone going to die, before it has happened. I want to be surprised, not let into the secret beforehand. Terrible.

Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but then WOW., 23 Feb. 2014
By 
KM Byrne (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Payne and Jones are 'requested' to find a missing comrade from their military days they could never have foreseen the outcome. From an island off the coast of Korea to the holiest of Muslim sites, they use their ingenuity and humour to get the job done.
Chris Kuzneski has once again seamlessly integrated adventure, humour and intrigue to bring out a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced military thriller, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sword of God (Paperback)
Sword of God starts well and continues to build momentum throughout the story. It's written in an open style that makes it easy to read. It's a little predictable and I think the author could have developed the mystery and the back story a bit more. That being said it was an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Team America Saves the Day, 8 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Sword of God (Paperback)
This book started well and the first chapter or so had me captivated. However, it pretty much ended there. I would have liked the story to concentrate around the female archaeologist and the exciting find that I thought could have had endless possible stories attached to it...disappointingly, the story didn't come back to her until almost the end and I still fail to understand the connection between what she found and cave in Korea/terrorist plots in Mecca. Ultimately, this book felt a bit like "Team America" saving the World for terrorists...again. I actually have no problem with storylines like this as long as they are written well but I almost gave up half way through. To me, the story reads like a poorly written film script. It is almost like the author has watched too much 24/Die Hard movies. It is full of clichés and the male bravado between the two main characters, Payne and Jones, just made me cringe. I also didn't really care in the end whether they survived or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read most of Kuzneskis books and i like the Payne and Jones genre and i would highly reccomend them to all.
This one is not the best in the series but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly enjoyable read. Nothing too deep, but a fast-paced action story with a bit of history thrown in and some enjoyable banner between the main characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual high standard. Quite a complicated plot, but it was a great story. He has obviously researched well and done an excellent job in making it authentic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good read, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
H. Seabridge "Star Stitcher" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i enjoyed this whole set. love the relationship between the two main characters. excellent read and recommended for anyone who likes a good action story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I often wonder where they keep all the bodies -- they seem to fall like flies., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another one in the Kuzneski mould-- adventure with a historical edge. I often wonder where they keep all the bodies -- they seem to fall like flies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sword of God
Sword of God by Chris Kuzneski (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews